
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Alright. Second thread about my Eidolon. Say I take the grab evolution for claws.
"An eidolon becomes adept at grappling foes, gaining the grab ability. Pick bite, claw, pincers, slam, tail slap, or tentacle attacks. Whenever the eidolon makes a successful attack of the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver check. If successful, the eidolon grapples the target. This ability only works on creatures of a size one category smaller than the eidolon or smaller. Eidolons with this evolution receive a +4 bonus on CMB checks made to grapple."
Let's say my large eidolon is adjacent to 5 medium creatures. I make a full attack action. Sword/Sword/Sword/Bite/Claw/Claw/Claw/Claw at 9th level. I drop the first guy with my sword and bite attacks. Can I then make a claw attack against guy two, initiate my free grapple check, gaining the grappled condition, and applying it to him. I then am free to use my 3 remaining claws on that guy or any creature within reach as far as I can tell. Can I then use 1 claw per adjacent guy making free grapple checks on all of them. Effectively grappling up to a maximum of four creatures? I know I couldn't maintain all the grapples on my next turn, but it seems a good way to just shut down a bunch of guys for a round while they try to break out.

![]() |

My understanding is that you make all of your attacks that are not iterative.
You can make a Single grapple check which must be associated with a natural weapon attack. (I have Grab on my Bite for instance)
If you are using a manufactured weapon in place of the natural weapon associated with Grab then you cannot make the grapple check.
Presuming you have attack spread: Sword/Sword/Sword/Bite/Claw/Claw/Claw/Claw
(To get that I guess your eidolon has 3 sets of Limbs(Arms) and is dual-wielding swords?)
You would roll
Sword/Sword/Bite/Claw*2/Claw*2 - Add in Grab on whichever attack you bought it for. Once you have resolved the grapple attempt your are now engaged in a Grapple and must resolve it by those rules.
Bottom Line?
You cannot grapple & get your full attack spread unless it all happens at one time. I do not know for certain if you must lose the other attacks if you fail your Grab, but I think not.

![]() |

Where in the rules does it state I can't make natural attacks while grappling? As far as I can tell, I can continue my attack action as normal after I am engaged in a grapple if I have the grab ability.
The spread is sword/sword/sword (Normal/Iterative/Haste), Bite, Claw (leg), claw (leg), Claw (arm), claw (arm). Since I have Grab( claw) and nothing is preventing me from making a full attack I should be able to attack whomever and make more free grapple checks.
I guess my question boils down to 1) Where in the rules does it say I can't finish my full attack with natural weapons while grappling and 2) While finishing this full attack does it say anywhere I can't attack a target I am not grappling and 3) Does it explicitly forbid grappling with more than 1 target.

Eridan |

..up to a maximum of four creatures?
.. and then your eidolons flys around grappling four foes?
Grapple by RAW is written very bad. The eidolon caused a lot of questions in the past too. Due to this facts i dont think that you get a RAW answer for your cheesy questions. Discuess this with your GM because he has the last word.

Avianfoo |

Course the eidolon can grapple multiple creatures. However there are penalties.(Aside: Also remember that the appendage holding the sword cannot attack with a natural weapon as well, course this goes away if the configuration is 2 arms (pairs) evolutions, one pair with claws and the other without. The ones without hold the sword)
Firstly those claw attacks will take a -5 penalty for being secondary weapons (any natural attack used with weapon attacks become secondary attacks). Then once a claw hits, the eidolon can make a free grapple attempt (remember the -5 still applies to this grapple check.) If the grapple succeeds both the eidolon and its target gains the grappled condition:
Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.
What does this mean? More penalties to subsequent claw attacks (-7 now). The eidolon can hit and grapple more creatures within reach. However in the following round, the eidolon can only maintain a single grapple, usually the best move is to release all grapples. Beware the grappler that reverses the grapple, then the eidolon cannot release the grapple as a free action.
But what is particularly nice about the grab ability (besides the grapple as a free action)?
Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability. If the creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature's Special Attacks line. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature's descriptive text).
Maintaining automatically deals the claw damage again. Which is a nice thing to remember when grappling a mage... just hold on till it dies.

![]() |

I do in fact have two pairs of arms in order for my build to work. I am aware that the natural attacks take a minus 5 due to the fact I am using a weapon, and the subsequent claw attacks would take an additional minus 2 due to the grappled condition and as I stated I am aware that I wouldn't be able to maintain. Thanks for the input, that is how I was interpreting things just wanted to make sure I had it down.