Paladin Smite Evil Question


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

The rules for Paladin Smite Evil against Undead, Evil Outsiders, etc., says:

"the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses."

I've always heard it referred to that it is always double damage, even after the first hit. Clarification is needed.

Thanks,
Tom


I'm guessing most people glossed the line or are thinking of the play test paladin - the (extra) bonus damage from smite against evil outsiders etc is only on the first successful attack. On each attack after the first (successful attack) the paladin still gets the normal benefits of smite (cha to hit and AC, level to damage).

Silver Crusade

Smite Evil:

PRD wrote:
Smite Evil (Su): Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses.

The text seems perfectly clear to me. The double damage is only on the first successful attack against an evil outsider, an evil dragon, or an undead target.

What needs clarification here?

Silver Crusade

Well, don't be a jerk about it, but most guide writers mention, as Kudaku said, the play-test paladin version. I was asking as this seems to be a common misconception on both the internet and local gaming events.

Tom

Sczarni

I am confused as to what is confusing. What do you think it means?


It wasn't just the playtest version. The original text from the 1st printing of the CRB also gave double damage for all attacks against the applicable creature types.

I don't remember for which particular printing the errata was issued [goes to check..]; the errata for the 3rd and later printings don't mention this change, while the errata for the 1st and 2nd printing do, indicating that the 3rd printing was the first one that included the "only on the first successful attack" line.

Silver Crusade

Well, I don't print out pages and pages of errata every other Tuesday. Thus, I still use the original printing and was confused where the OP was getting the "only on the first successful attack" line.

I would guess that most people do the same. Use what their books actually say as opposed to constantly printing and reprinting errata sheets.

This can, however, get annoying when you have people with copies of the Core Rule Book from different printings and are referencing rules that are written differently. Happens occasionally with my sons as their books are more recent printings than mine.

Silver Crusade

tcharleschapman wrote:

Well, don't be a jerk about it, but most guide writers mention, as Kudaku said, the play-test paladin version. I was asking as this seems to be a common misconception on both the internet and local gaming events.

Tom

I apologize. Not my intention, but I can see how my brusque post could come off as rude.

I was a little surprised that you've been encountering this confusion. I've never encountered it myself.

Dark Archive

tcharleschapman wrote:

Well, don't be a jerk about it, but most guide writers mention, as Kudaku said, the play-test paladin version. I was asking as this seems to be a common misconception on both the internet and local gaming events.

Tom

He wasn't being a jerk, he was answering your question.


I realize it can be hurt to read intent behind posts since you have no intonation, body language etc to go on - but as near as I can tell Joe's post was perfectly polite. Calling him a jerk for asking you to specify your question, on the other hand...

Silver Crusade

Thanks, guys. But I think Tom's right that my post could look a little rude—especially if he was looking at the first one I threw up. I edited it quickly, but the first one was ... less than graceful. :-/


I had the 2nd printing for a while and recently updated to the sixth printing. They added the first attack part - in bold below:

CRB 6th printing wrote:
If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses.


Does the evil outsiders bit only apply to outsiders with the evil subtype (as is implied), or do any outsiders of evil alignment count? I ask b/c I'm running a pally in my friend's WotR campaign and don't know if the damage should be applied to certain enemies in the AP.


I believe it would have to have evil in parentheses:

Bestiary wrote:

Lemure CR 1

XP 400
LE Medium outsider (devil, evil, extraplanar, lawful)
Init +0; Senses darkvision 60 ft., see in darkness;
Perception +0
...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paladin Smite Evil Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions