Pinned opponent and reverse gravity


Rules Questions


Situation was this

Glabrezu was pinned by my cat

Glabrezu casts reverse gravity and makes his save to hold onto something attached to the floor

Would the cat be able to make the save since he is basically latched onto the glabrezu with claws and teeth?

Shadow Lodge

The cat should get a save since it has something to hold onto (assuming the glabrezu can and will support the cat's weight). However, it wouldn't auto-succeed at the save - even if it had the glabrezu pinned the shock of gravity changing might dislodge it (realistically, pinning involves resting your weight on an opponent strategically in addition to actual holding).


Well I get that and I didn't mean auto save but an attempt would have been nice

I don't "argue" with my GM over this kinda stuff but I felt in this situation he should have gotten a save...or the glabrezu should not have gotten one

Anyways thanks...was looking for something rules concrete but the GM has to say what is or isn't able to be grabbed...and we beat the encounter anyways

The Exchange

This is a nice, innovative way to get out of a pin!

Unfortunately, it's restricted to people who have a Stilled Silent reverse gravity spell to spare, or creatures with the reverse gravity SLA - and I don't reckon there are too many of either.


I'm interested to know, did the glabrezu manage to make its concentration check to get that off? A 13th level big cat AC should have a grapple CMB of at least 20, so that's a minimum DC37 concentration check as I figure it. The glabrezu would have to roll 18 or better to make it.

Not impossible, certainly, but I get the impression that it was never actually rolled.


Yes he did make the check but the party was only level 8

Cat had just become large because I have a level of monk

I can't remember the cats cmb such (character sheets not with me) but if I am remembering correctly the check was 30


The greatest part of the battle was when the witch casts phantasmal killer and I just HAD to open my big mouth and say that the glabrezu auto saves because of true seeing

The GM had not known this and then I found out that because of the glabrezu having telepathy he could turn it back on the witch

At this point I started apologizing to the witch because I was pretty sure he was going to die :(

However he used a hero point and made the save

I now keep my rules mind shut off when it's not my turn or the GM running an NPC


Drakkiel wrote:

Yes he did make the check but the party was only level 8

Cat had just become large because I have a level of monk

I can't remember the cats cmb such (character sheets not with me) but if I am remembering correctly the check was 30

Ah, well, not so unreasonable, then.

Shadow Lodge

Good call on not arguing with the GM. I personally would have given the cat a save, but it is a bit of a judgment call and not worth causing table drama.

Glad the witch survived. That's a heck of a mistake to make.


Yea normally my reading of faqs and rules all the time is helpful

Having almost killed a party member I'm starting to rethink reading the forums all the time lol

The Exchange

I'll have to re-word how I describe true seeing: I always assumed that illusions were 100% imperceptible to the character by virtue of the spell, whereas if the character can see a phantasmal killer enough to reverse it, he's obviously perceiving something. I guess I'll switch to "You perceive something which you instantly sense is an illusion" in my fluff description. (This also clears up some odd corner cases, such as pitting true seeing against ventriloquism or ghost sound.)

Of course, as far as I know, the Blind condition doesn't stop phantasmal killer from working either, so maybe the spell isn't principally visual at all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pinned opponent and reverse gravity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.