| Monkplayer |
Um, I'm a new GM and want to make sure I got this right...
The Chimera gets 5 attacks per round? The 2 claws means two attacks? AND a breath weapon?
Do you also roll the breath weapon randomly each round?
Chimera CR 7
XP 3,200
CE Large magical beast
Init +5; Senses darkvision 60 ft., low-light vision, scent; Perception +10
DEFENSE
AC 19, touch 10, flat-footed 18 (+1 Dex, +9 natural, –1 size)
hp 85 (9d10+36)
Fort +9, Ref +7, Will +6
OFFENSE
Speed 30 ft., fly 50 ft. (poor)
Melee bite +12 (2d6+4), bite +12 (1d8+4), gore +12 (1d8+4), 2 claws +12 (1d6+4)
Space 10 ft.; Reach 5 ft.
Special Attacks breath weapon (usable every 1d4 rounds)
STATISTICS
Str 19, Dex 12, Con 17, Int 4, Wis 13, Cha 10
Base Atk +9; CMB +14; CMD 25 (29 vs. trip)
Feats Hover, Improved Initiative, Iron Will, Skill Focus (Perception), Toughness
Skills Fly +2, Perception +10, Stealth +4 (+8 in scrubland or brush); Racial Modifiers +2 Perception, +4 Stealth in scrubland or brush
Languages Draconic
SPECIAL ABILITIESBreath Weapon (Su)
A chimera's breath weapon depends on the color of its dragon head, as summarized on the table below. Regardless of its type, a chimera's breath weapon is usable once every 1d4 rounds, deals 6d8 points of damage, and allows a DC 17 Reflex save for half damage. The save DC is Constitution-based.
To determine a chimera's head color and breath weapon randomly, roll 1d10 and consult the table below:
d10Head ColorBreath Weapon1–2 Black 40-foot line of acid 3–4 Blue 40-foot line of lightning 5–6 Green 20-foot cone of acid 7–8 Red 20-foot cone of fire 9–10 White 20-foot cone of cold
| chaoseffect |
Yes in a full round attack it gets all 5 natural attacks. The breath weapon is a standard action usable once ever 1d4 rounds so the monster could choose to do its attacks or breath weapon if its up, but not both in one turn.
I'd assume you would roll once (or just pick whichever dragon type would be appropriate as the DM) to determine breath weapon type as the creature description mentions that it can have a dragon head of any evil dragon type. Once it's decided I don't see why it would change unless you're going to say it spontaneously changes its red dragon head to that of a black, etc.
Lincoln Hills
|
You have the option of saying that the chimera, due to its multi-headed nature, can make 2 claw attacks, plus the goat and lion bits, and have the dragon head either bite or breathe, but I believe chaoseffect is correct in stating that in the Rules As Written it must choose between the breath weapon or the five attacks - in which case it will probably only breathe while doing a fly-by or in response to missile attacks. One that only gives up a single bite attack to use its breath weapon is more dangerous, but probably not to the extent of going up in CR.
And no, don't change the energy type. It should stay the same for any one chimera - but with multiple chimerae you should roll for each.
| Swashbucklersdc |
The chimera can full attack with 2 bites, 2 claws and a gore if it only 5 foot steps in a round. If it moves either before or after its attack, it only gets one attack (which would normally be its main bite for 2d6+4, but does not have to be).
The breath weapon is a standard action, not part of its attack sequence. It falls under use of a Supernatural natural ability, which is a standard action on the combat action table.
You only roll once for what type of dragon head the chimera has; you should describe that to the players (this winged monster has the body of a lion, though two more heads flank its central feline one—a dragon one, blue in color, and a horned goat one). After that, you can use the attack type listed under its color. Once used, you roll a d4 to determine in how many rounds the breath weapon is usable again (keep that result secret, the players shouldn't know that next round it can breathe again).