Acrobatics when surrounded


Rules Questions


If a character is surrounded ... having an adjacent enemy in all 8 squares and wanted to use acrobatics to escape, would that require a separate acrobatics for each enemy or just one versus all?


You can with one check, but the DC would be 5 + opponents CMD + 14. Moving through an opponent's square and +2 for each other opponent.
Good luck!

Liberty's Edge

Actually, that is not correct. If your character is surrounded by 8 enemies, you would have to make 8 checks. See the Core Rulebook FAQ.

The DC for seven of the checks is the enemy's CMD +14. Each failure results in that enemy receiving an AAO.

The DC for moving through the enemy's square is the enemy's CMD + 5 + 14. Failure results in that enemy receiving an AAO, the character's forward movement ends, and the character's move action ends.


RedDogMT wrote:

Actually, that is not correct. If your character is surrounded by 8 enemies, you would have to make 8 checks. See the Core Rulebook FAQ.

The DC for seven of the checks is the enemy's CMD +14. Each failure results in that enemy receiving an AAO.

The DC for moving through the enemy's square is the enemy's CMD + 5 + 14. Failure results in that enemy receiving an AAO, the character's forward movement ends, and the character's move action ends.

That's not quite correct, either. The DC for the first check is one enemy's CMD. The DC for the second is the next enemy's CMD+2. The third, that enemy's +4, etc.

Usual Houserule:
Most DMs hand-wave that you can just make one check at the highest DC, to save time.


That's interesting. I've always made my players roll for every enemy. So has my last GM, and so does my current GM. I've never heard of anybody consolidating the rolls.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You roll vs each individiual enemy (likely with a different set of modifiers vs each who also each may have different CMDs). Otherwise, either everyone gets an AoO or none of them get an AoO.


just to make things more complex, can you use the withdraw action with acrobatics to avoid 3 possible AoOs or does the having to move 1/2 rate (so as not to increase acrobatics check) prevent you from using withdraw?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Withdraw says nothing about any such restriction. One disadvantage of using withdraw is that if you FAIL the acrobatics check to move through an opponent's square, you've wasted the entire withdraw action, whereas if you fail with a move action, you still have the rest of your actions.

So, given a completely surrounded character, there are 8 potential AoOs. If that character declares a withdraw, there will be no AoOs for leaving the starting square. There may still be AoOs for entering the square of the single opponent whos square must be moved through and (if that part is successful) AoOs for leaving that single opponent's square.

1.2.3
4.C.5
6.7.8

This is one of those cases where diagonals are a bit different that non-diagonals. We'll do diagonal first.

Character C will be assumed to have regular 30' movement and unencumbered. He declares withdraw, attempts to acrobatically move through opponent 8's square. Initial square C is not considered threatened due to using withdraw. Make that acrobatics check against #8 (base DC 5 + #8's CMD, plus another 10 if you don't pay double move cost). If you fail, you don't enter the square, you provoke an AoO from #8 and you lose the action. If you succeed, you're in 8's square and must continue moving (assumed to be out and not back where you came from !). This might provoke from 5 and 7. Make 2 checks, one against 5 and one against 7. Wichever one you do first takes a -2 due to the fact that you've already avoided #8. The second one takes a -4 due to the fact that you've already avoided #8 and the first of 5 or 7. Failure here just means they get the AoO you just provoked but does not prevent you from continuing to move.

If you didn't go on a diagonal, but went through #7's square, you have to avoid potential AoOs from 4,5,6 and 8. However, you spent less movement getting clear.

Now that you're clear, you don't need to use acrobatics any more (unless there are more mooks we're not considering) so you can stop paying double costs for each square.

Note: Some GMs don't allow the decision to use acrobatics or not on a square by square basis, they require the ENTIRE (move or full) action to be acrobatic or not.

Liberty's Edge

Oladon wrote:
That's not quite correct, either. The DC for the first check is one enemy's CMD. The DC for the second is the next enemy's CMD+2. The third, that enemy's +4, etc.

Hey Oladon, that isn't correct by the rules.

The Core Rulebook states:
This DC increases by 2 for each additional opponent avoided in 1 round.

The Core FAQ states:
The DC (which is based of the Combat Maneuver Defense of each foe), increases by +2 for each foe after the first in one round.

When you interpret "increases by +2 for each foe after the first in one round", it is incorrect to conclude that the Acrobatics DC for Foe1 is CMD, Foe2 is CMD+2, Foe3 is CMD+4, etc. The passage actually means that you ignore the first foe when calculating the DC for all the enemies.

Sovereign Court

The advantage of choosing which order to roll against is that you get to target creatures CMDs the most advantageous way for you, such as rolling against strong melee types first whose CMD are higher, then weaker spellcasters later as their CMD are probably lower.

--Schoolhouse Vrock


Hi RedDogMT, please see the quoted FAQ here. For your convenience I'll re-quote a small portion of it:

FAQ wrote:
You must make a check the moment you attempt to leave a square threatened by an enemy, but only once per foe. The DC (which is based of the Combat Maneuver Defense of each foe), increases by +2 for each foe after the first in one round. The DC also increases by +5 if you attempt to move through a foe. In the case of moving out of the threatened square of two foes at the same time, the moving character decides which check to make first.

(emphasis mine)

Please note that your claims don't fit with any of the bolded sections.


So to sum up ...

The withdraw action can be used to avoid a few AoO
Separate acrobatics checks are are made for each for in whatever order the PC wants
the DC increases +2 cumulative (except the foe you're moving through who has an additional +5) the first acrobatics check DC=CMD (unless foe moving through who would be DC=CMD+5)

This sums up RAW?


Yep!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Acrobatics when surrounded All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.