Carpet / Broom of flying in combat


Rules Questions


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I didn't find any rules regarding it and lots of different opinions/ways to handle it, so I just ask here for "official ruling":

How does a character on a 5*5 carpet of flying act in combat? Like riding a mount? Like steering a vehicle? Free additional movement? Acrobatics checks to keep standing? Full Attack possible for ranged? Full Attack possible for melee? Hand/s needed to stay/steer?

Same questions for broom of flying.

And the attack/acrobatics questions for a bigger carpet commanded by another person.


Nothing?

Shadow Lodge

I've got similar questions here.

Do you still get the +4 bonus if you're trying to shoot a crossbow or firearm while prone on a carpet of flying?

If it's a mount, this applies:

CRB, Combat while mounted wrote:

Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action. When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so

you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your
mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.

Shadow Lodge

Just found this, which helps, but isn't definitive. It has more FAQ checks than this, though.


No formal rules answer, but in my game we treat it as a mount.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Carpet / Broom of flying in combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions