Prehensile Tail + Handy Haversack


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can a Tieflings with a Prehensile Tail draw an item from a Handy Haversack as a Swift Action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity? Both abilities are specific rules that override the same general rule.


I would think so, but I wonder what the rules lawyers have to say.

Shadow Lodge

As a rule, swift actions don't provoke anyway. Quickened spells never do, for example. I don't see why you couldn't pull things from your Haversack just like you were pulling it from your pocket. In fact, were I houseruling this, I might make it a once-per-round free action.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Sesharan wrote:
As a rule, swift actions don't provoke anyway.

According to what?

I've heard this from many people, but no one's ever been able to cite a source. My best guess is that people read the rule stating "Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity" and fail to differentiate between "casting a spell as a swift action" and "using any swift action at all, ever".


The handy haversack has a specific action requirement to draw items from it. The prehensile tail would not override that specific requirement. What the combination lets you do is draw two items - one as a swift action to draw an item that is not in a handy haversack, one as a move action to draw an item from the handy haversack.

However, in the spirit of fairness, I agree with Sesharan. You can draw 1/round from the handy haversack - either with a hand (move action) or with your prehensile tail (swift action).

As always, think about if you want the bad guys to be able to do the same things that you want to do and if you are willing to accept the implications of doing so.

Sovereign Court

Jiggy wrote:
Sesharan wrote:
As a rule, swift actions don't provoke anyway.

According to what?

I've heard this from many people, but no one's ever been able to cite a source. My best guess is that people read the rule stating "Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity" and fail to differentiate between "casting a spell as a swift action" and "using any swift action at all, ever".

I have a hard time thinking of any swift action ability that provokes. It seems that a design guideline was to make these abilities non-provocative. So "as a rule" means "in general" here. That doesn't exclude the possibility of exceptions, although they're probably quite rare.

Shadow Lodge

Can you give us the wording for the (uncommon) prehensile tail rule?

I know handy haversack is basically "move action to take something out which doesn't provoke", but I'm unfamiliar with prehensile tail.


Avatar-1 wrote:

Can you give us the wording for the (uncommon) prehensile tail rule?

I know handy haversack is basically "move action to take something out which doesn't provoke", but I'm unfamiliar with prehensile tail.

Grasping Tail:

Grasping Tail (Tiefling)
Your tail becomes more useful.

Prerequisites: Tiefling.

Benefit: You can use your tail to grab stowed items. While you cannot wield weapons with your tail, you can use it to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on your person as a swift action.

Special: If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).


Handy Haversack:

Handy Haversack
Aura moderate conjuration; CL 9th
Slot none; Price 2,000 gp; Weight 5 lbs.
Description
A backpack of this sort appears to be well made, well used,
and quite ordinary. It is constructed of finely tanned leather,
and the straps have brass hardware and buckles. It has two
side pouches, each of which appears large enough to hold
about a quart of material. In fact, each is like a bag of holding
and can actually hold material of as much as 2 cubic feet in
volume or 20 pounds in weight. The large central portion
of the pack can contain up to 8 cubic feet or 80 pounds of
material. Even when so filled, the backpack always weighs
only 5 pounds.
While such storage is useful enough, the pack has an even
greater power. When the wearer reaches into it for a specific
item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and
fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains.
Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move
action, but it does not provoke the attacks of opportunity that
retrieving a stored item usually does.
Construction
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, secret chest; Cost 1,000 gp

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prehensile Tail + Handy Haversack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.