Am i affected by my own illusions?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I need someone of an almost rules lawyer level to answer this question please and thank you. I have an illusionist if he casts an illusion spell does he have to roll to disbelieve his own figments? or does he automatically disbelieve?

Shadow Lodge

I'm asking specifically in relation to Haunting Mists and its wisdom damage.


Magic, Illusions, Saving throws to disbelieve wrote:
A character faced with proof that an illusion isn't real needs no saving throw.

Knowing you cast your own illusion is pretty solid proof.

Shadow Lodge

Buri wrote:
Magic, Illusions, Saving throws to disbelieve wrote:
A character faced with proof that an illusion isn't real needs no saving throw.
Knowing you cast your own illusion is pretty solid proof.

My GM is slightly stubborn and as such does not agree with that. He say's that it is not valid for this spell.


Is it of the illusion school? Then it applies as that applies to all illusions. That's about all you're going to get though. Other than that you have to interact with it to figure out it's fake. If you throw something through it that's also pretty good proof. Failing all that, don't use illusions with that GM. :)

Shadow Lodge

I personally enjoy illusion spells, but if the GM is going to rule otherwise, you may pick a different game to use them. I've got a GM who's convinced that there's no way an illusion is 'real enough' to fool a person, despite whether or not the person fails a save. Buri's right, you shouldn't have to save against it. But GM can rule otherwise, sadly.

Silver Crusade

Sorry Buri, this spell is of the shadow subschool. Damage dealt by shadow spells is real damage, not illusory. I'm afraid that the GM is correct.

Edit: actually, rereading it, I am not sure now. It is a figment, and figments are not real. This spell is poorly written. Shadows are partially real and figments are not real.

However, I can see the GM's point, because the Will save listed in the spell is not to disbelieve.


Well if the GM wants to rule that your own illusion can harm you, how about trying this: Create an illusion that would have beneficial affects for you, like Heroes Feast, or Form of the Dragon. Tell him you believe your own illusion, and accept all the bonuses from the spell. If it works one way, it should work the other.

EDIT: I should have researched the Haunting Mists spell first, as The Fox did. It does seem your GM is right in that instance. But if he does rule that way on pure illusions, then try my solution.

Shadow Lodge

I agree that the damage is dealt one of my my questions is am i also affected by the concealment...sorry i am arguing with the GM while posting this.


Also the spell says "Will partial" not "Will disbelief".

It doesn't need to be disbelieved. It's an actual effect that's taking place in the world, using illusory elements.

Your GM is right in this case.


Ah, yes. I actually read the spell. It doesn't have the Will negates (disbelieve) type of save. What I posted applies only to illusions that get that kind of save.

However, if it did, then what I said would be true shadow or not.


No, your character can't see through the mists. It's a figment. That means it's a real visible thing in the world, not just in people's heads. He knows it's an illusion.

In the sense of "my bloody illusion is blocking my line of sight".


As an aside, it is possible (through a set of very specific circumstances) to kill YOURSELF with phantasmal killer so it's not entirely outside the rules and boundaries of the Illusion School and it's sub-schools to be hurt by your own illusions.

Shadow Lodge

so even knowing that the mist is fake i still see it.

Silver Crusade

This applies to every figment. If you know it is not real, you would still see it (as an outline). That is true for phantasms as well.


Yes, because it doesn't have the will disbelief kind of save. If it did then you would still see an outline of it but it would for all intents and purposes translucent.

Silver Crusade

Also, don't complain too much about this aspect of shadow schools now. You will love them by the time you are able to cast shadow conjuration and shadow evocation.

Shadow Lodge

Thank you everyone for the help.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Now that we have that taken care of, here is some food for thought:

Can you use shadow conjuration to summon a flying illusory creature to catch you when you fall?

Why or why not?

;D

The Exchange

Ravingdork wrote:

Now that we have that taken care of, here is some food for thought:

Can you use shadow conjuration to summon a flying illusory creature to catch you when you fall?

Why or why not?

;D

Shadow conjuration lists them as being quasi-real and any creature interacting with them gets a will save to see their true nature.

They are only 20% real and 80% illusion, so I think you could use the Shadow conjuration to summon a Roc that acts more like a fluffy semi-real cloud that slows your fall enough to only rupture organs and maybe not end in an immediate death*.

*Assuming we are falling from a lethal fall distance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Am i affected by my own illusions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions