Share Spells and Reach Spell


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Just want a rules clarification before I take the feat and have it come up in-game. I have a Sorcerer with the Sylvan Wildblooded Archetype of the Fey Bloodline, which means I have an animal companion with the Share Spells ability That lets me cast spells with a target of Personal on my companion as touch spells. Can I then use Reach Spell to further modify those spells and cast them at range?


Hi CigarPete!

No, share spells just lets you casts spells that you can normally ONLY cast on yourself (aka Shield) on your familiar.

Note that this makes for some pretty epic things for your familiar to do, like Burning Gaze, Elemental Touch, etc.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Nani Pratt wrote:

Hi CigarPete!

No, share spells just lets you casts spells that you can normally ONLY cast on yourself (aka Shield) on your familiar.

Note that this makes for some pretty epic things for your familiar to do, like Burning Gaze, Elemental Touch, etc.

Thanks for that. It does indeed make for some awesome things for the familiar/animal companion. I enjoy my wolf laying down the hurt while mirror imaged.


To clarify, the reason Reach spell doesn't work here is that it specifically affects spells with a range of "touch" (raising them to "close"), while the spells affected by Share Spells are those with range "personal" or "you" (depending on the source). Share spells doesn't change the range descriptor of the spell, it just allows you to cast on your companion "as a spell of range touch".

As Nani says, it does make for some epic possibilities. My 15yo daughter is fond of "Laser Bear" (large bear AC with Burning Gaze, with a crazed gnome druid riding it).

Grand Lodge

I bit of a Necro post, but this just got linked to me so I thought I'd read it. After reading it there is a bit of a problem with that logic.

"As a spell of range touch" does in fact change the range descriptor.

It is changing the range to Touch for purposes of casting on an AC instead of a range of "Personal."

I am willing to accept the ruling of it not working in PFS if that is the final decision.

For me, it has no bearing on the way I've been playing with my ACs as I've only ever used the Reach Metamagic rod for Shield Companion which starts out with a short range. The only character I have where it might come up is my Halfling Sorcerer but he will usually be on his AC anyway so he doesn't need it to go beyond touch.

Grand Lodge

Thing is.. spells like oh.. Shield, Monstrous Physique and even Form of Dragon don't have a touch..they have 'Personal' IE.. you (and your familiar) only.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Drake Brimstone wrote:

I bit of a Necro post, but this just got linked to me so I thought I'd read it. After reading it there is a bit of a problem with that logic.

"As a spell of range touch" does in fact change the range descriptor.

It is changing the range to Touch for purposes of casting on an AC instead of a range of "Personal."

I am willing to accept the ruling of it not working in PFS if that is the final decision.

For me, it has no bearing on the way I've been playing with my ACs as I've only ever used the Reach Metamagic rod for Shield Companion which starts out with a short range. The only character I have where it might come up is my Halfling Sorcerer but he will usually be on his AC anyway so he doesn't need it to go beyond touch.

Remember, though, the spell is a spell with range personal or you, not range touch, it just allows you to apply the spell to your AC as though it was you when you are within reach of your AC.

It is an attempt to describe an effect within game without adding a whole new concept for a very limited set of spells.

If they had done it as a whole new concept, instead of using existing spell concepts, it would read something like this:

"You can cast a personal/you spell on your animal companion as long as it is within your reach. Note that this does not make the spell range touch, it only allows you to transfer the effect of a personal spell to your AC when you cast it if the AC is within touch of you. This does not allow you to later thransfer said spell effects to the AC from yourself, even if there is duration left for the cast you had placed upon yourself."

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber

Reach Spell does indeed work with Share Spells, because of the "as a touch range spell" line. Share Spells converts your Personal range spell into a touch range spell that only works on your Animal Companion. It does not say "as long as it is within reach" like the wording on "deliver touch spells." It actually does say this:

Quote:
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a touch range spell) instead of on herself.

Since it's now a touch spell, anything that affects a touch spell affects this spell too.

Here's another way to think about it:

The initial spell has a target of "you." This is modified by the bolded section below:

Quote:
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a touch range spell) instead of on herself.

-

The initial spell has a range of "personal." This is modified by the bolded section below:

Quote:
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a touch range spell) instead of on herself.


Any more thoughts on that? I'd be really glad to hear some more input here as its about to come up in my game!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think Reach Spell would allow you to target your familiar at ranges greater than touch, but only your Familiar (or Animal Companion). The moment you aimed at something else you'd lose the special touch range effect of Share Spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Share Spells and Reach Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.