darkness vs. daylight


Rules Questions


Ok, so does daylight dispel darkness?

Let's say a player casts daylight on something in the area, right? Then a creature proceeds to cast darkness on that same thing, does it dispel it or negate it? For instance, if an aasimar with a 1/day casting of daylight casts it on his sword, can an enemy then dispel it with darkness? I ask because, if the enemy creature has unlimited casts of darkness, can he dispel the daylight and then cast a second darkness?

Grand Lodge

Daylight cast directly on the target of darkness dispels the darkness. But I think you were actually asking if darkness dispels daylight - it does not, because darkness is a lower level spell than daylight for any of the listed casters. Deeper darkness would work.


The answer is in the Darkness spell itself.

Quote:
Darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.

Darkness is a 2nd level spell. Daylight is a third level spell. Darkness can not dispel Daylight. For that, you either need Deeper Darkness, or a Darkness spell heightened (with the Heighten Spell metamagic feat or similar ability) to at least 3rd level or higher.


Thanks, I thought daylight was a 2nd level spell. It's actually a bit surprising given that tiefling's darkness ability doesn't match up to an aasimar's daylight.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Just keep in mind to dispel, you have to touch the item that the darkness spell was cast on. Casting daylight on your shield and walking into the darkness only nullifies the overlapping areas and lets in the prevailing light.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / darkness vs. daylight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.