
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I personally am very curious about the Carnival Rogue. Will it be allowed? And is the sneak attack that the archetype gives in addition to the sneak attack the rogue normally gets?
The ability does not say it replaces anything, and it happens at different levels from traditional rogue sneak attack. But at the same time I do not want to talk down the path of the mysterious stranger.
Edit:
I am contemplating a Kitsune Rogue with a Rabbit familiar named Lunch.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Well that is why I asked. I'm really hoping for Mike's thoughts on it. Despite my habit of finding corner cases and odd holes in the rules I do try to build characters that follow the preferences of the mighty Mike Brock.
The absence of the "this replaces sneak attack" means it could very easily be that he also gains sneak attack at level 2. Other classes which also get sneak attack at other levels also call it sneak attack.
I also know that usually an ability does not replace an ability that would normally be gained at a different level, and honestly it would kind of suck if the Carnival Rogue halved the sneak attack progression.

![]() |

Yes, the archetypes will be legal but the Huntmaster will have very limiting restrictions on his pack due to the same problems Master Summoner had of flooding the battle field.
The additional resources will not be updated until next Wed. and nothing from Animal Archive is legal until then.
Considering the best part of that archetype for pfs is not having a horse I'm ok with that.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Michael Brock wrote:Considering the best part of that archetype for pfs is not having a horse I'm ok with that.Yes, the archetypes will be legal but the Huntmaster will have very limiting restrictions on his pack due to the same problems Master Summoner had of flooding the battle field.
The additional resources will not be updated until next Wed. and nothing from Animal Archive is legal until then.
That is why I didnt want to cut it completely. People have been requesting a cavalier archetype without a horse and this is that chance.

eakratz |
Yes, the archetypes will be legal but the Huntmaster will have very limiting restrictions on his pack due to the same problems Master Summoner had of flooding the battle field.
The additional resources will not be updated until next Wed. and nothing from Animal Archive is legal until then.
Thanks for the response. I really wasn't expecting anything that fast I was just hoping. I can always roll nor up for the next time. :)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Yes, the archetypes will be legal but the Huntmaster will have very limiting restrictions on his pack due to the same problems Master Summoner had of flooding the battle field.
The additional resources will not be updated until next Wed. and nothing from Animal Archive is legal until then.
I had hope to play a Master Summoner in PFS. Alas when I finally started PFS, that archetype got taken off the approved list.
Really hope that it will return in a "with restrictions" version some time in the future.
That said, the Huntmaster looks kinda interesting... hummm... may have to get the Animal Archive in the future.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Hi
The fist page is [b[extremely[/b] useful - it lists which type of animals have which magic item slots. Most of it is common sense, but will stop the endless debates!
Personally, I'm looking for alternate Mounts for a Nature Oracle.
Thanks all
Paul H
It can be helpful, but you should really read the new FAQ on slots on animals.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Matthew Pittard wrote:Sadly though it dosnt mention what slots my Earth Elemental Familiar gets.... :)Please tell me his name isn't Rocky.
I named some my Master Summoner (non-pfs) elemental summons... Lets see if I can remember some of them...
Earth
Rocky, Pebbles, Shale, Spike, Flint, Cliff
Fire
Blaze, Sparky, Flick, Cole
Water
Splish, Splash, Slick, Crash

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Dylos wrote:That is why I didnt want to cut it completely. People have been requesting a cavalier archetype without a horse and this is that chance.Michael Brock wrote:Considering the best part of that archetype for pfs is not having a horse I'm ok with that.Yes, the archetypes will be legal but the Huntmaster will have very limiting restrictions on his pack due to the same problems Master Summoner had of flooding the battle field.
The additional resources will not be updated until next Wed. and nothing from Animal Archive is legal until then.
Well when you do tweak it for PFS play if you could do something about the bonus feat slots giving you the step up chain it would be appreciated. Really kind of leaves the ones who take the Bird animal companions instead with a bunch of wasted feats.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

His name is Aroden. And yes he is named after the dead god, as was my previous Familiar. Rahtotep the Wizard with the elemental is from Rahadoum. He was brought up in that godless society, and looks on divine types with a bit of pity.
He calls his Familiar Aroden as his way of showing the fallacy of revering a creature/higher power simply because it has 'powers' and is magical

![]() ![]() ![]() |

It's unclear from the entry in Additional Resources whether familiar and animal companion archetypes are sanctioned, or whether feats can be swapped. Also, to what degree are archetypes and feats usable with Improved Familiar options?
the additional resources states "all archetypes on pages 6–7 and 20–21 are legal"
the only archetypes on page 20-21 are the animal companion and familiar archetypes.

![]() |

Carnivalist, Huntmaster, and Mad Dog are archetypes and found on pages 6-7.
Bodyguard, Charger, Infiltrator, Pilferer, Racer, Totem Guide, and Valet are found on pages 20-21. Animal companions and familiars may take those.
All 10 of those are legal. I'm not sure what your question is.
Then a Diabolist's Imp cannot take the companion archetypes? He uses the animal companion table, but isn't an animal, so I am curious.

![]() ![]() |

Mr. Brock did anyone playtest the Huntmaster in society before it was nerfed by only allowing one companuon? The whole point of the huntmaster was to give a dismounted cavalier a pack of hunting companions instead of a mount. I was going to make a hafling cavalier Huntmaster to replace my retiring Magus but now I am not going to do it.
If you are going to only allow the Cavalier Huntmaster only one companion you should look at the master sumoner he can have an eilodon and summoned creatures at the same tme.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Mr. Brock did anyone playtest the Huntmaster in society before it was nerfed by only allowing one companuon? The whole point of the huntmaster was to give a dismounted cavalier a pack of hunting companions instead of a mount. I was going to make a hafling cavalier Huntmaster to replace my retiring Magus but now I am not going to do it.
If you are going to only allow the Cavalier Huntmaster only one companion you should look at the master sumoner he can have an eilodon and summoned creatures at the same tme.
Master Summoner has been banned for some time now I believe.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Lou, I think part of the reason for the single packmate is the PFS rule of only one combat animal. What would be the point of spreading out your levels in a half-a-dozen companions when you can only bring one along with you anyway? As dragonkitten mentioned, the master summoner has been banned a long time ago, along with the broodmaster and beast master, and every other archetype that allows multiple companions. I'd see it as a blessing that the Huntmaster was included instead of just being banned like all the other multiple companion archetypes.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

If a character with an Animal Companion replaces it (for whatever reason), does the new companion have to use the same chosen feats and archetypes as the one replaced, or can you reselect them?
I hadn't thought of this until reading Animal Archive, but I think the question is relevant even just to the CRB feats an AC can have. If I change critters, it would make sense to be able to pick new feats appropriate to the new animal; likewise, it would make sense to be able to choose an archetype for the new companion, even if the original did not have one (or had a different one). I can see a case for not allowing it, using the reasoning that the character can't change archetypes late in its career, so why can an AC, but then if this is actually a new creature, it is reasonable that it has different abilities.
This seems like something that needs an official ruling to be added to FAQ.

Marthian |

If a character with an Animal Companion replaces it (for whatever reason), does the new companion have to use the same chosen feats and archetypes as the one replaced, or can you reselect them?
I hadn't thought of this until reading Animal Archive, but I think the question is relevant even just to the CRB feats an AC can have. If I change critters, it would make sense to be able to pick new feats appropriate to the new animal; likewise, it would make sense to be able to choose an archetype for the new companion, even if the original did not have one (or had a different one). I can see a case for not allowing it, using the reasoning that the character can't change archetypes late in its career, so why can an AC, but then if this is actually a new creature, it is reasonable that it has different abilities.
This seems like something that needs an official ruling to be added to FAQ.
As far as I know, no. You can give your new animal companion different feats and archetypes. It's a whole new animal. I could be wrong, but that's what I've known it for... But try and not get rid of an animal companion just for that reason :(

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Thanks for the fast response, Mike. A followup, as I just realized something:
In the listing for the Mount class feature for a cavalier, it states that a cavalier's mount does not get the "share spells" ability. Two of the archetypes in AA have features that replace share spells but are excellent choices for cavaliers: Racer and Charger. (In fact Charger has a feature that is only usable by cavaliers.) Can we assume that the usual rule that a character cannot take an archetype that replaces a class feature it lacks does not apply to companions, so that a cavalier can make use of these archetypes on his mount?

![]() ![]() ![]() |

Thanks for the fast response, Mike. A followup, as I just realized something:
In the listing for the Mount class feature for a cavalier, it states that a cavalier's mount does not get the "share spells" ability. Two of the archetypes in AA have features that replace share spells but are excellent choices for cavaliers: Racer and Charger. (In fact Charger has a feature that is only usable by cavaliers.) Can we assume that the usual rule that a character cannot take an archetype that replaces a class feature it lacks does not apply to companions, so that a cavalier can make use of these archetypes on his mount?
I would LOVE an official answer to this one. Please, Mike? Pretty please? :-D

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I can't answer for Mike, but I can tell you what Paizo has said about it.
But the are working on an errata in the next few weeks
Just so people are aware, I am still in the process of evaluating the Charger/cavalier discrepancy (as well as other potential errata posters have pointed out), and am formulating an official response. Since we've got a lot of projects going on right now, I haven't been able to devote as much time to these issues as I'd like, but rest assured they are being considered and should be addressed within the next few weeks.
Until then, Jason's excellent suggestions should more than suffice for players and GMs running home games. :]

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

The Great Rinaldo! wrote:I would LOVE an official answer to this one. Please, Mike? Pretty please? :-DThanks for the fast response, Mike. A followup, as I just realized something:
In the listing for the Mount class feature for a cavalier, it states that a cavalier's mount does not get the "share spells" ability. Two of the archetypes in AA have features that replace share spells but are excellent choices for cavaliers: Racer and Charger. (In fact Charger has a feature that is only usable by cavaliers.) Can we assume that the usual rule that a character cannot take an archetype that replaces a class feature it lacks does not apply to companions, so that a cavalier can make use of these archetypes on his mount?
Let's please give Patrick some time before I chime in.

![]() |
The easiest way to do it would be to just give the cavalier share spells, in case they had levels in a spellcasting class anyway...
Ummm...
Share Spells (Ex): The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.
Emphasis mine. Seeing as cavalier doesn't grant spellcasting itself, Share Spells wouldn't even WORK for them...

![]() ![]() ![]() |

The Golux wrote:The easiest way to do it would be to just give the cavalier share spells, in case they had levels in a spellcasting class anyway...Ummm...
PRD wrote:Share Spells (Ex): The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.Emphasis mine. Seeing as cavalier doesn't grant spellcasting itself, Share Spells wouldn't even WORK for them...
Actually, I've been running into this issue myself. I'm building a Nature Oracle (who gets a bonded mount), and dipping into 1 level of Cavalier. I think that if I take a level of Oracle first, I'll already have Share Spells, and won't lose it when I take a level of Cavalier. But I'm not sure. Keeping Share Spells for a Cavalier would fix that, but they already get Light Armor Proficiency for their mount to compensate for it.

![]() |
Actually, I've been running into this issue myself. I'm building a Nature Oracle (who gets a bonded mount), and dipping into 1 level of Cavalier. I think that if I take a level of Oracle first, I'll already have Share Spells, and won't lose it when I take a level of Cavalier. But I'm not sure. Keeping Share Spells for a Cavalier would fix that, but they already get Light Armor Proficiency for their mount to compensate for it.
I don't have a link handy, but I know I've seen an official clarification that animal companion features don't stack; ie, a level 1 Nature Oracle/level 1 Cavalier would have two mounts, one with 6 Int and Share Spells, one with Armor Proficiency (Light) and WITHOUT Share Spells...
Time to go searchin' for the post in question...