Sorry to be the bearer if bad news, but sapping is not legal for PFS:
Additional Resources wrote:
all items on pages 24-27 are legal for play except the dazzling radiance and sapping weapon properties.
But for what it's worth, I would agree with Lau on how it would normally work. Only add the additional damage when you you choose to deal nonleathal.
Just made my first character, a barbarian. One thing, I had selected the Primal Hunter archetype at some point, then took it off later. But it still lists Exceptional Pull as one of my bonus feats (even though it gave me back the fast movement). It also is telling me I am proficient with Medium armor, but not light.
Also, is it a known issue that I am able to select human Race Traits with any race (such as Auspicious Tattoo)? Because that is happening for me.
But other than minor issues like that, this seems like a pretty solid character generator. Way better than any browser-based generators I've used.
There are also the Runeward Tattoos from the new Magical Marketplace book. They are 1000 gold a piece, each keyed to a different school. They allow you to detect at will for that school only, gaina +1 on saves for that school, and you automatically sense spells cast of that school within 60 ft. Sure, you take longer to cycle through each school detecting, but the auto sense spells is pretty awesome.
It was my understanding if you played the full module (as a "home" game, like you said you were), then you get four chronicle sheets to put on any characters you wish.
If you only run the PFS content as if they were scenarios(meaning you use PFS legal characters), you only get the three sheets: one for each piece of PFS content you play in. Those must go on the PFS characters that play them.
Here is the link to the prestige awards clarification.
Changes Are A'Coming and Gen Con Volunteers Still Needed! wrote:
Characters will be able to keep faction-specific traits, boons, vanities, and prestige awards received while members of the Lantern Lodge and Shadow Lodge, with one exception. The "no one left behind" prestige award found in the Pathfinder Society Field Guide will no longer be available for play.
Eric Saxon wrote:
Eric, that is not a "boon". As Jiggy pointed out above, calling it a boon is causing confusion, even to John Compton, then one you probably want to be convincing.
A boon is a special bonus on a chronicle sheet, such as
Shadowmask Induction at the top of that same chronicle sheet
You are discussing an item from the scenario that is listed on the chronicle sheet. This is not the same as a boon.
Top of the page:
Additional Resources wrote:
Below is a specific list of Paizo Publishing products and the equipment, traits, deities, spells, feats, and classes contained within that are legal for play in Pathfinder Society Organized Play.
So when an entry just lists things, they are legal. The only exceptions specify in their particular listing, such as "All are legal except X"
tl;dr: Yes it is legal.
With the hammers only group, you only have one disarm weapon, and it requires EWP to use, so I would get it with heirloom weapon trait to not spend a feat.
Heirloom weapon was errata'd to only work on simple/martial weapons, unless it was changed back to the original wording. So EWP is needed for the disarm hammer.
It's not in the PRD, so here it is on d20pfsrd. Or just download the errata.
Since you brought it up, Nefreet, I am curious about the Musket Master. The replacement Deeds they mention, do I *have* to take them or am I allowed to take others? I really want to pick up Deadeye at some point, and Steady Aim, while neat, is not a major concern.
I think you might be misunderstanding the Deeds. You don't have to choose which ones to learn. Once you hit the required level, you can use any of those Deeds. So all Musket Master will cost you is Gunslinger's Dodge. You would get Deadeye, Steady Aim, and Quick Clear at first level.
Gunslingers spend grit points to accomplish deeds. Most deeds grant the gunslinger some momentary bonus or effect, but there are some that provide longer-lasting effects. Some deeds stay in effect as long as the gunslinger has at least 1 grit point. The following is the list of base gunslinger deeds. A gunslinger can only perform deeds of her level or lower. Unless otherwise noted, a deed can be performed multiple successive times, as long as the appropriate amount of grit is spent to perform the deed.
Nowhere does it say they must pick a Deed. They can use any of their level or lower.
Cheapy, why does he have to spend a swift action before using Up Close and Deadly? I don't see that anywhere in the ability description, or in the Deeds description in the Gunslinger.
Unless otherwise noted, a deed can be performed multiple successive times, as long as the appropriate amount of grit is spent to perform the deed.
And to the OP, it is 1 grit per attack. So 2 grit per round to use on each attack.
Dark Immortal wrote:
I believe Snowball is in the new "People of the North" book.
From the PFSRD: "Projectile Weapons: Most projectile weapons require two hands to use (see specific weapon descriptions). A character gets no Strength bonus on damage rolls with a projectile weapon unless it's a specially built composite shortbow or longbow, or a sling. If the character has a penalty for low Strength, apply it to damage rolls when he uses a bow or a sling."
So a negative strength will decrease damage. as Urist said, positive strength only adds with specific weapons.
One way to explain the memory would be an enhanced, unstable version of Hidden Knowledge. The enhancements would be duration and number of memories, but it is unstable so some of their personality leaks out at different times.
Maybe have the tattoo be on their head, under their hair, so they are very unlikely to find it unless you push them in that direction.
The Rime Spell Metamagic Feat does nothing for a Ray of Frost. The thing you want is the Rime-Blooded Sorcerer Bloodline Arcana - then your Ray of Frost potentially slows the target for a round... which, for an unlimited-use cantrip, is outstanding! :)
Awesome! Thanks ProfPotts, that's exactly what I needed to know!
Edit: Next question: Would Ray of Frost work with the Void-Touched arcana power? The power specifically says targets who fail their save, so I would be inclined to say no, but I have seen others on the boards claim it works with Magic Missle, which also has no save. Is there a consensus on this? Because an at will 1 round silence would definitely push Ray of Frost to the top for me.
I'd like to second this question. How does taking the Rime feat benefit Ray of Frost at all?
If there is some rule/clarification I don't know of that allows it to entangle for even 1 round, that would be very worthwhile to me. Ray of Frost + Rime + Magical Lineage, even with SR, sounds very nice.
Wish raises one stat at the cost of lowering another. If you wish to do this - and the monster ALLOWS you to do this as this ability is generally one the wisher uses upon himself (and remember this creature doesn't spend all it's time on the material plane!) - I don't see why you couldn't. Whether or not the eidolon agrees would be a GM matter, and it would be entirely possible the monster would not desire this.
Uh... What? Looking at the Wish spell on PRD, it says nothing about reducing an ability score when you grant an inherent bonus to one. Is this some rule for inherent bonuses that is not listed under the actual spell?
Actually, the BAB is full, not 3/4. But notice their actual HD progression is not 1 to 1 with the summoner. Likewise, the saves follow the same progression of any base class, but it looks weird because their HD does not increase at each level.
So when the summoner is level 1, the pet has 2 HD, which gives it BAB of +2, and the saves of a second level character. And when the summoner is 20th, the pet has 17 HD, so BAB of +17, and the saves of a 17th level class.
Well, he gets two of the limbs (legs) for free from his base form. He only bought one additional limbs (arms) for two points.
The weapon training he got from a feat.
Energy attack affects all natural attacks, so he only needs to buy that one once.
So that brings the correct total to:
Limbs (arms) - 2 points
So actually he only used 7 evolution points. Feel up to getting reach on all those claws?
Since they gave no limit, if you spent every round casting it over and over, you could have 14400 instances of the spell running at a time. Of course after the first 24 hours, each time you cast it again, one of your old ones wear off.
Regardless, it's issues like this that shows me this class needs an errata to really be playable. Sad, because I don't think that will happen.
So basically the rogue selects his moment when Farmer John is particularly intent on his crossbow and darts across the open ground and back into cover.
Sorry, but as I pointed out above, in the example given in the OP, the hedges only provide concealment, not cover. And since it is bright light out, the rules state that using stealth requires Invisibility or Cover, and only those two. So unless you can get the farmer to be distracted the entire time you are near the porch, and anytime you are approaching it, your stealth checks are meaningless. (quotes of the pfsrd are included in my original post)
Ditto for the dog, unless he is actively sat observing the yard (and not playing with a toy, or gnawing on an old bone) the rogue would get a Stealth check.
This also might not be true. As the OP was pointing out, the rules on Stealth vs Scent are not clear. It seems to imply that Scent wins regardless of your stealth roll. This is silly and probably not the intent, but with a lack of official rules, allowing stealth to work with scent is a house rule (unless I am mistaken, and someone can show me where the rules discuss this. I agree with the OP that this doesn't make sense, and should be different).
Brodiggan Gale wrote:
Where does it say that bright light negates concealment and stealth? It mentions in the PRD that certain types of concealment may be ineffective because of abilities like Darkvision and Low-Light vision, but Jack should still have Total Concealment versus the farmer due to the hedgerow, allowing him to use his stealth normally. Assuming Jack takes 10 on his Stealth check, Farmer John's DC to spot him is a 27. With the penalties from distraction (+5 DC) Farmer John cannot detect Jack, even on a natural 20.
According to the PFSRD, bright light makes stealth checks require invisibility or cover, not concealment.
In an area of bright light, all characters can see clearly. Some creatures, such as those with light sensitivity and light blindness, take penalties while in areas of bright light. A creature can't use Stealth in an area of bright light unless it is invisible or has cover. Areas of bright light include outside in direct sunshine and inside the area of a daylight spell.
And in this example, Man In Black specifically says the hedges only provide concealment, not total concealment. Whether you would rule that differently really doesn't refute his argument (not that I am saying either one is correct, just pointing it out).
A Man In Black wrote:
The farmer is puttering around on his porch (which is surrounded by concealing hedges, with a 5' opening in the front).
Magic Armor wrote:
Wild: The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus) while in a wild shape. Armor and shields with this ability usually appear to be covered in leaf patterns. While the wearer is in a wild shape, the armor cannot be seen.
From the wording of the enchantment, I would argue that RAW the penalties do not apply. It specifically says what you get: the armor bonus, and enhancement bonus. To me that implies that you would have normal movement speed.
A Man In Black wrote:
Interesting side note: did anyone notice that a druid in fish form can drown?
Not quite, unless your GM interprets this passage very differently from mine:
SRD, Polymorph Subschool wrote: