Bleeding Touch


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Ok, so I've got Bleeding Touch as a Priest of Pharasma. It gives 1d6 bleed damage + 1 round per 2 levels.

My question is, do I get 1 round + 1 round of bleed at lvl. 1? Or do I only get the extra round at lvl. 2? How does the rounding on this spell work? Is a lvl. 5 Bleeding touch 1 + 5/2(2.5) = 1 + 2 or = 1 + 3?


Eric Saxon wrote:
do I get 1 round + 1 round of bleed at lvl. 1?

Bleeding Touch (Sp): "As a melee touch attack, you can cause a living creature to take 1d6 points of damage per round. This effect persists for a number of rounds equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum 1) or until stopped with a DC 15 Heal check or any spell or effect that heals damage. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

Playing the Game: "Unless otherwise noted, whenever you are must round a number, always round down."

So it lasts for a number of rounds equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum 1) and you round down.

At level 1, that would be 0.5, rounded down to 0, so you hit the minimum 1.

At level 3, that would be 1.5, rounded down to 1, so you have 1 round.

At level 4, 2 rounds.

At level 6, 3 rounds.

Grand Lodge

The thing is, the first touch is an immediate effect and it PERSISTS for a minimum of 1 rounds. So, as I read it, it should always be at least a 2 round effect. At least the way I understand the 'persists' part of the spell like power.


Eric Saxon wrote:
The thing is, the first touch is an immediate effect and it PERSISTS for a minimum of 1 rounds. So, as I read it, it should always be at least a 2 round effect. At least the way I understand the 'persists' part of the spell like power.

It's generally considered a Bleed effect. You touch something, then at the start of it's next turn, it takes the damage.

If something happens every round, for zero rounds, that means it never happens.

Bleeding Touch is from the core rulebook, and back then the details of bleed were not really fleshed out. It was a new concept for PFRPG.


I'm with Grick on this.

The initial touch causes no (dice) damage. The effect is 1d6 per round for 1/2 your cleric level rounds.

Should they find a way to stop the bleeding as an immediate action they could potentially take no damage from the ability.

Grand Lodge

DeltaOneG - So, in reverse the ability to stabilize, which for a priest of Pharasma is part of the Life domain, doesn't take effect immediately? It takes 1 round for it to be activated?

See, either every effect of this sort is immediate or every effect like this is delayed. Can't have a bleeding touch take time while a stabilizing effect be immediate. At least if we are going to imply that these are Divine powers. After all, a CureLW and a CauseLW are both immediate. The same would go for a Healing Wave vs. a Damage Wave.

I'm just trying to get a sense of the difference between negative energy effects vs. positive energy effects.


Eric Saxon wrote:
Can't have a bleeding touch take time while a stabilizing effect be immediate.

Sure you can. One is bleed, which happens at the start of the bleeding creatures turn. The other isn't bleed, and has nothing to do with bleed.

Stabilize doesn't cure bleeding, it just stops the dying condition. (Unless the target is still taking damage in which case it doesn't help at all)

Neither bleeding touch nor stabilize have anything to do with positive or negative energy.

-edit- Where are you finding a Life domain?

Grand Lodge

Healing domain is what I meant.

Besides, the bleeding begins immediately as I understood it. You wouldn't know to heal it or stop it as a Priest, unless your guy is having an anurism and blood is pouring out of him.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bleeding Touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.