Flurry of blows+TWF


Rules Questions

51 to 83 of 83 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

gamer-printer wrote:
You can't get the benefit of the additional attack from TWO WEAPON FIGHTING if you don't have the feat.

This part isn't true. Anybody, with or without the feat, can get an extra attack when they fight with two weapons. All the feat does is reduce the penalties for doing it.

Since that is also what Flurry of Blows does, there is no way to stack the penalty reduction.

I see where Floyd is coming from. I could even possibly agree that the rules don't explicitly say that FoB and TWF are mutually exclusive.

But this theory breaks down when we get the monk to 8th level. His FOB now states "At 8th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat)."

Now, the Improved Two-Weapon Fighting feat does, in fact, grant one extra attack. But notice that the wording is the same - both the initial FOB text "as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat" and the 8th level upgrade "as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting" both say "as if using..."

Clearly, since the same wording is used, the authors intend you to apply the same rules.

Your mistake here, Floyd, is thinking that Flurry of Blows gives the monk an extra attack. It doesn't.

The monk Flurry of Blows does NOT give an extra attack. EVERYONE, monk or otherwise, can pick up a second weapon and make two attacks if they want to. It's just that everyone else gets huge penalties for doing it unless they take the Two Weapon Fighting feat, in which case they get small penalties.

At level one, the monk ability is essentially saying "The monk, just like everyone else, can take an extra attack according to the the rules for Two Weapon Fighting in the Combat chapter, but unlike everyone else, the monk is not required to use any weapons, he can use any combination of unarmed strikes or he can select from a limited list of several specific monk weapons. Even more, he can do this with just a single weapon, striking twice with it instead of being required to strike with two separate weapons. When he does any of this, use the rules for Two Weapon Fighting except calculate the monk's penalties for fighting with two weapons as if he had the Two Weapon Fighting feat, and use the monk's level as his BAB."

Is that RAW? Of course not, I just wrote that myself. Is it RAI? Obviously, since the actual explicit RAW wording for the level 1 monk Flurry of Blows feature is identical to the level 8 and level 15 Flurry of Blows upgrades.

At level 8, the monk does NOT an additional attack. Instead, he gets to use a feat that he otherwise doesn't actually have to take or even qualify for. That feat lets him get an extra attack that follows the established rules for Flurry of Blows.


Talonhawke

Cleave is a standard attack not full round, so yes a second attack can be applied.

The description for whirlwind attack specifically removes all other attack by stating you make one melee attack at highest attack bonus. So even if you tried to get a second attack, regardless of it's source, it would be consumes by the wording of the Whirlwind Attack Feat.

As for the Mangus, I haven't investigated that yet: what book and page is the Spell Combat?


Floyd: Cleave is a standard action, so you can't even combine it with iterative attacks from BAB.

The Magus is in the Ultimate Magic book.

The funny thing is that (if I remember it correctly) the Pathfinder designers specifically changed the wording of flurry of blows to use language indicating the TWF-feats, in order to make it clear that FoB and TWF worked the same way and could no longer be combined (which was possible in 3.5).


Floyd you must use a full attack in order to use TWF.
It has been that way since 3.5. The wording has not changed so the rules have not change.

Cleave gives you only one attack if you miss. That is it. Otherwise you get the 2nd attack, but that attack is not TWF.

Floyd there are abilities that allow you to get a second attack with the off-hand weapon if you are not using a full attack. Why would these exist if you can do so anyway?

edit:clarification.


Look at this.

prd wrote:
Doublestrike (Ex): At 9th level, a two-weapon warrior may, as a standard action, make one attack with both his primary and secondary weapons. The penalties for attacking with two weapons apply normally. This ability replaces weapon training 2.

If you can already do TWF with a standard attack, why does this exist?


GM BLAKE

Thank you for looking at it from my point of view. You touched on the original point of my first post. I am looking for an official (Paizo Supported) ruling, so As much as I can see the RAI, I am not sure I can agree with what was intended. I also believe that the FLURRY OF BLOWS does award a new attack. "WHEN doing so he may make one additional attack...(pg 57)", so RAW does give a bonus attack. But I believe FLURRY OF BLOWS gives the extra attack, not IMPROVED TWO WEAPON FIGHTING FEAT. I still hold to my second reason for writing the first post. There are many abilities in this book which act like another, but is not that other thing because of an adjustment. Therefore, FLURRY OF BLOWS is not TWO WEAPON FIGHTING, as you must still take the feat if you want to build off the feat tree. I have not looked at the 8th level Monk yet as the character in question has not gotten their. I was just trying to apply the rules as they now apply. If you look at the 6th level monk, he has three attacks in FLURRY OF BLOWS. Things yet to investigate. I have truly appreciated everyone's point of view, but I need someone from PAIZO to tell me what was Intended at the company itself.

Thank You.


wraithstrike wrote:

Floyd you must use a full attack in order to use TWF.

It has been that way since 3.5. The wording has not changed so the rules have not change.

Cleave gives you one attack if you hit. That is it.

Floyd there are abilities that allow you to get a second attack with the off-hand weapon if you are not using a full attack. Why would these exist if you can do so anyway?

Forgive my impertinence oh powerful and terrible master but I rectified a small error for you. Clearly you are too busy spreading fear to bother with such trivialities.


I am not saying using TWF would not result in a full attack action. I am saying that you can use TWF on another full attack action, as described in the TWF description on page 202. It awards an additional attack to an attack that already has one or more attack in it. Read the description on 202.


you can Cleave, successful or not, and use TWO WEAPON FIGHTING right after.


Wraithstrike Minion #1 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

Floyd you must use a full attack in order to use TWF.

It has been that way since 3.5. The wording has not changed so the rules have not change.

Cleave gives you one attack if you hit. That is it.

Floyd there are abilities that allow you to get a second attack with the off-hand weapon if you are not using a full attack. Why would these exist if you can do so anyway?

Forgive my impertinence oh powerful and terrible master but I rectified a small error for you. Clearly you are too busy spreading fear to bother with such trivialities.

That is why I keep you around. I wish minion #2 was so useful.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Floyd, with all due respect, someone gave you a link where SKR stated that, essentially, if everyone that is responding to you is saying one thing, then you are to trust that statement and, "not insist on an "official answer" from the staff."

In case you missed it or didn't bother reading it: SKR's statment.

Everyone that has responded to you has told you exactly how the rule works. You're not going to get an "official answer" because you've already gotten the answer for almost two whole pages. TWF+FoB does not stack.

There was even a huge argument between the developers and the players BECAUSE the developers stated that FoB was TWF with extra restrictions and required two weapons. This was only later changed to allow one weapon after a lengthy debate, and even then it's still TWF.


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
you can Cleave, successful or not, and use TWO WEAPON FIGHTING right after.

If you can use TWF whenever you want then what is the purpose of doublestrike?


Nice Minion


Umm didn't the pathfinder dev team word of God that FoB does not stack with TWF. In one of the erratas they went so far as to say they are the same thing. They since errata that you can flurry hit with one weapon instead of two.

But if you just think about about it, FoB is a special attack action. TWF is only triggered on a full-attack action which FoB is not. FoB is a special monk only form of attack and synergies with very few non-monk feats and abilities.


Double strike makes it a standard action, where any other gain and use of additional attack results in a full attack action. All I am saying is you can add an additional attack to a full attack action, and it will still be a full attack action, but adding an additional attack, and performing it, to a standard action makes it a full attack action.


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
Nice Minion

I have 1 or 2 more, but they never show up. Hopefully they are bending the universe to my will and recruiting for the Legion of the Many Eyed Shadow.


Marthkus, where can I find a copy of that errata?


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
Double strike makes it a standard action, where any other gain and use of additional attack results in a full attack action. All I am saying is you can add an additional attack to a full attack action, and it will still be a full attack action, but adding an additional attack, and performing it, to a standard action makes it a full attack action.

You can't just add an attack onto a standard action. What you can do is make an attack and then decide to take your iterative attacks or move. It sounds similar to just "Adding an attack", but the wording matters.

Your wording allows someone to make an additional attack at any time and say its a full attack action.

My wording applies to the combat chapter which allows you to make the attack, and then decide whether to give up your remaining attacks and move or continue to attack.

The two are not the same.

My argument is the reason why you can't use manyshot as standard action.


wraithstrike wrote:
Wraithstrike Minion #1 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

Floyd you must use a full attack in order to use TWF.

It has been that way since 3.5. The wording has not changed so the rules have not change.

Cleave gives you one attack if you hit. That is it.

Floyd there are abilities that allow you to get a second attack with the off-hand weapon if you are not using a full attack. Why would these exist if you can do so anyway?

Forgive my impertinence oh powerful and terrible master but I rectified a small error for you. Clearly you are too busy spreading fear to bother with such trivialities.
That is why I keep you around. I wish minion #2 was so useful.

Thank you thank you oh He of the Many All-Seeing Red Eyes.

*ducks into a shadowy corner to inform his wife that he should be on time for dinner as he has hopefully avoided death and/or torture today. *


The problem with deciding afterwards is not possible with TWO WEAPON FIGHTING because a penalty much be applied to the first, or primary, hand attack. So a player will have to decide to use TWO WEAPON FIGHTING before rolling for the first attack. And after taking the penalty for the primary attack, the player could not take the next attack, like you say, decide to take your iterative attacks or move. But you have to take that first penalty if you want to invoke TWO WEAPON FIGHTING.


Listen.....all I want to know is where can I get a copy of PAIZO official errata on this subject. Please.


Marthkus wrote:

Umm didn't the pathfinder dev team word of God that FoB does not stack with TWF. In one of the erratas they went so far as to say they are the same thing. They since errata that you can flurry hit with one weapon instead of two.

But if you just think about about it, FoB is a special attack action. TWF is only triggered on a full-attack action which FoB is not. FoB is a special monk only form of attack and synergies with very few non-monk feats and abilities.

There is no errata, but there is clarification.

Jason Bulmahn wrote:


Zark wrote:

So can he go TWF + Imp. TWF and get even more attacks?

No. This particular confusion has been clarified.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

The link


Thank you Wraith strike, Thats all I needed.


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
Thank you Wraith strike, Thats all I needed.

Floyd check my "list" for any future rules questions you have. :)

Go to the mechanics and rules list. I think that is what I call it anyway. :)


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
Marthkus, where can I find a copy of that errata?

I only have the most recent one.

http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5le61?Monkeying-Around


Two weapon fighting does not grant an extra attack, it reduces the static penalties on the attacks to -2/-2. Flurry of blows allows a monk to use class level as BAB AND Reduce the static penalty to -2/-2. You can use them both at the same time all you want. Neither grant extra attacks and both have the same static reduction (ie NOT a bonus, just an adjustment). Waste your feats, have a great time. Tell your friends you use twf and fob together. But it won't change the mechanics of just using fob by itself.


Floyd A Grecko wrote:
you can Cleave, successful or not, and use TWO WEAPON FIGHTING right after.

Just to clarify this one: No, you can't. Cleave is a standard action, which means you can't combine Cleave with any full-attack action (not even with regular iterative attacks).

Sczarni

RAI is off in the corner crying and rocking itself to sleep after this argument.


After this whole argument I can't believe nobody stated the obvious:

Unarmed Strike: At 1st level, a monk gains Improved
Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk’s attacks may be
with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk
may make unarmed strikes with his hands full. There is
no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking
unarmed.


Robert Matthews 166 wrote:

After this whole argument I can't believe nobody stated the obvious:

Unarmed Strike: At 1st level, a monk gains Improved
Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk’s attacks may be
with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk
may make unarmed strikes with his hands full. There is
no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking
unarmed.

That doesn't mean a monk can't make them it means that he always uses his full str bonus on unarmed strikes even if he is TWF and not flurrying.


Talonhawke wrote:
Robert Matthews 166 wrote:

After this whole argument I can't believe nobody stated the obvious:

Unarmed Strike: At 1st level, a monk gains Improved
Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk’s attacks may be
with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk
may make unarmed strikes with his hands full. There is
no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking
unarmed.

That doesn't mean a monk can't make them it means that he always uses his full str bonus on unarmed strikes even if he is TWF and not flurrying.

0_o

How do you figure that?


That argument also would do nothing in the case of monks flurrying with anything other than unarmed strikes.

Sczarni

Quote:
Off-Hand Weapon: When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus. If you have a Strength penalty, the entire penalty applies.
Quote:
There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed. A monk may thus apply his full Strength bonus on damage rolls for all his unarmed strikes.

It's kind of clear what they meant by "no offhand attack"

saying you don't have an offhand attack is not the same as "you don't have a offhand and thus can't twf" you have an offhand, it's just never doing an offhand attack.

51 to 83 of 83 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry of blows+TWF All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.