
Whale_Cancer |

I was wondering when a wizard takes a sub school if he is required to learn one spell every new level from that sub school rather than the general school? Also I wanted to know it this also applies to the extra prepared spell slot?
1. Subschools only affect your arcane school powers. There are no, for instance, admixture school spells.
2. You don't need to pick spells from your school of magic when you gain new spells as a wizard.

prometheus's_curse |

If I am miss-interpreting your response excuse me. Based on your profile I find that likely, lol.
Your "2." confuses me but to be fair so does the text sometimes.
[learning] If you are referring to the new spells from leveling I don't see room for interpretation being the wording uses "must."
[preparation]If your are referring the extra slot I would think it needs to be from the specialty(like Illusion). I say this because if you lack a school or element then you don't get the slot(universalist). I will say the text's wording on this topic is phrased optionally because of the use of the word "can," but I would think that is just saying if you don't want to prepare that spell right away you don't have too.
[learning]
"Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school."
[preparation]
"Each arcane school gives the wizard a number of school powers. In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard's spellbook. A wizard can select a spell modified by a metamagic feat to prepare in his school slot, but it uses up a higher-level spell slot. Wizards with the universalist school do not receive a school slot."

Grick |

If you're asking about Focused Arcane Schools from the APG, they don't have spell types, so there are no spells from those focused schools.
For example, if you take the Controller School, there are no Controller-type spells.
There are, however, Enchantment spells, which is what your Associated School would be.
Everything is exactly as if you just had the Enchantment school, except you replace the enchanting smile and aura of despair powers with the ones listed.

![]() |

Hopea wrote:And as a specialist, one or more of your 2 free spells per wizard level has to be from your specialization school (that is, the "general" school, not the sub one)Can you cite this? I see nothing in "Arcane School" or "Spellbooks"
Because it's not in either of those sections. I don't have my core at work with me, but the on the PFSRD under Spells:
Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.

Whale_Cancer |

Whale_Cancer wrote:Hopea wrote:And as a specialist, one or more of your 2 free spells per wizard level has to be from your specialization school (that is, the "general" school, not the sub one)Can you cite this? I see nothing in "Arcane School" or "Spellbooks"Because it's not in either of those sections. I don't have my core at work with me, but the on the PFSRD under Spells:
Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.
Thanks.
Damn annoying that rules like that are spread out. It's a wizard rule, it should be in the wizard class description.

Whale_Cancer |

Whale_Cancer wrote:Heh, it is under the wizard description, though it's arguably something that could fit a few different places. I definitely understand the confusion.Thanks.
Damn annoying that rules like that are spread out. It's a wizard rule, it should be in the wizard class description.
The wizard class description.
There is no reason that...
Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.
A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).
...doesn't instead say:
Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.
A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).

![]() |

Chele wrote:That rule has been errata'd out as of the sixth printingWhat? Why? Wizards already have super good access to learning new spells, and the flavor of this rule made so much sense. Why did they make it so much easier for them?
Because some schools don't provide enough spells to support that rule, even if the wizard hasn't been going after the school spells actively.
It can be easy, for some of the smaller schools, to wind up without any spells in that school legal to pick up with the two free spells. Since the specialist still only gets an extra spell to memorize of that school, he still is ... interested .... in gaining spells of that school, but that shouldn't penalize someone in a smaller school, or who has picked up all spells from a school of any level he can cast, and the next level beyond....