Belier's Bite Feat Question


Advice


Belier's Bite (Combat)
Your unarmed strikes cause your opponent to bleed.

Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike.

Benefit: When you damage an opponent with an unarmed strike, you deal an extra 1d4 bleed damage.

Special: This ability does not stack with other special abilities, attacks, or items that allow you to deal bleed damage

If you have this and use flurry of blows on the same enemy, does it stack? Example, Level 11 Monk gets 5 attacks with Flurry. If you hit on all 5 attacks, do you roll a 5d4 for bleed damage? Thanks!


Nope, only 1d4, unfortunately.

SRD Link to Bleed
"Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage."


Bleed damage in general do not stack unless noted otherwise (Bleeding Critical feat for example).

EDIT: Bleedy ninjas! :P


I'm not convinced in how Bleed works yet. Granted it does not stack when the round begins, but how about when you are inflicting it?

Belier's bite says it deals +1d4 damage with each unnarmed strike, so, if I have 3 of those, do I deal the +1D4 each time I hit?


I do undestand that bleeding EFFECT will only be 1d4. But am I correct on the other assumption?


Bleed damage does not stack, but we play that you take the highest roll in successive bleed damage. After enough hits, you're probably doing 4 bleed damage each round.


I understand that it does not stack, but then we come back to some weird stuff. Like the Boar Shred Style feat. It states that at the beggining of each round the guy u hit takes 1d6 damage. But the fist feat of the tree deals 2d6... weird, right?

So, what I think is, feats and abilities that deal bleed damage with each hit, would deal said damage with each hit, but when it comes to the bleeding effect, it would not stack... am I crazy here?


Ah, I see what you're getting at. Unfortunately, bleed damage doesn't happen both when it's inflicted and at the beginning of each turn. It only happens at the beginning of each turn.


Blueluck wrote:
Ah, I see what you're getting at. Unfortunately, bleed damage doesn't happen both when it's inflicted and at the beginning of each turn. It only happens at the beginning of each turn.

AAaaaahhh... you are sure about that!? So, the Boar Shred is nigh useless? Do we have some reference to this please!?

Thanks mate!


It's not useless, the bleed just happens on their turn each round. It's an ongoing effect.


How long does the bleed last? Forever---->until the get a heal?

Also, if you attack with it and get a 1d4, can you roll the number of hits you get and take the highest number? so if you get 3 hits with flurry and you roll a 1,2,4 for your bleeds-then you get the 4 damage per round, but not all combined??? Is that how I'm understanding it?


Yes.


Trueshots wrote:

How long does the bleed last? Forever---->until the get a heal?

Also, if you attack with it and get a 1d4, can you roll the number of hits you get and take the highest number? so if you get 3 hits with flurry and you roll a 1,2,4 for your bleeds-then you get the 4 damage per round, but not all combined??? Is that how I'm understanding it?

Yep, I agree with eakratz, that's how it works. There are a lot of ways to get a small amount of bleed damage, which is generally too little and too slow to win you a fight.

The only bleed effect I'm a fan of is Bleeding Critical. It deals 2d6 and stacks.


Been in a couple of PFS scenarios where that lil bleed damage was the only way to get past the DR reliably. So... it's kinda useful sometimes.


As far as I know you just roll 1d4 each round. Not roll per hit and take the highest. But there have been a lot of threads on the topic and no definite answer.


eakratz wrote:
It's not useless, the bleed just happens on their turn each round. It's an ongoing effect.

I say it's useless cause you get 1d6 with the last feat of the tree, and 2d6 with the first.

But hey, I can live with that. I'm just confused about the wording on most of the bleeding rules, feats, abilities and such.


@Xum: Wow I didn't notice that. You are correct, sir. It does appear useless. I was generalizing the bleed rules.


Umbranus wrote:
As far as I know you just roll 1d4 each round. Not roll per hit and take the highest. But there have been a lot of threads on the topic and no definite answer.

Yes, you roll each round. There's an FAQ in the Bleed rules that says so.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Belier's Bite Feat Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.