Double Weapon Loophole


Rules Questions


This can't be right, but I'm putting it out there.

If you can switch grips on a weapon as a free action, is it possible to use a two-handed grip on one end of a double weapon for 1-1/2 Str and PA, switch to a double-weapon grip as a free action, make an attack with the other end as an off-hand attack, switch back to 2-handing for your iterative as a free action, etc. for your full attack routine?

Silver Crusade

Double Weapons wrote:

A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it.

So you must choose to either use a full attack to attack with it using the TWF rules, and fighting as if armed with a one-handed weapon and a light weapon, OR use it normally (double weapons are two-handed weapons). You can't use it as a two-handed weapon and as two weapons during the same full attack.


You can, however, switch to a TWF grip, make your full attack, switch to a THF grip, and get two handed strength and power attack on your attacks of opportunity. This and the ability to two hand it for charges and standard action attacks bring TWF up to near parity with THF after investing five feats if the THF build used for comparison was also investing in high dexterity.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

+1 what Atarlost said.

Silver Crusade

Atarlost wrote:
You can, however, switch to a TWF grip, make your full attack, switch to a THF grip, and get two handed strength and power attack on your attacks of opportunity. This and the ability to two hand it for charges and standard action attacks bring TWF up to near parity with THF after investing five feats if the THF build used for comparison was also investing in high dexterity.

You can do all these things with a double weapon.

One technicality, you don't need to 'change grip' or anything like that. It is a two-handed weapon, and it must be used it two hands (meaning both hands must be on it while making an attack with it). The special ability of double weapons does not require any change of grip, and you still need to hold it two hands to make any attack with it, but it allows you to make a full attack with it as if you were armed with a one-handed weapon in one hand and a light weapon in your 'off' hand. Once that full attack has been resolved, the weapon is still being held by both hands, and if you have occasion to attack with it the attack is resolved like the two-handed weapon that it is; no grip-shifting required.

I'm not suggesting that Atarlost thinks it works differently, just clarifying a technicality. : )

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double Weapon Loophole All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.