klatuu |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
The wording of the spell reads a suit of armor or shield to get the bonus. So the spell only effects one of the two items correct.
But lets say this. If a cleric were to pray for two magical vestments a day. Could he then cast the spell on both? Or would casting the spell on his shield negate the magical vestment cast on his armor?
As dm for my group im leaning to the you only get one magical vestment effect period. No matter how many you have in your head that day. Its just that OR in the spell description. Maybe its just I had a bad day and I have my evil dm hat on lol.
Thanks for replies.
Gauss |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Nothing in the spell restricts you to 1 magic vestment at a time. For an example of such wording see the spell 'light'. A cleric casting Magic Vestment on his/her armor and then casting Magic Vestment on his/her Shield is a totally legit use of the spell.
I love the fact that a Cleric can use (2 castings of) Magic Vestment on both armor and shield and then use Greater Magic Weapon on the weapon. Add in a bead of karma and you get a bonus +1 on all 3.
- Gauss
John Gone 9001 |
Two enhancement bonuses, as Magical Vestment contributes, do not stack. Wont matter how many times it is cast, how creatively it is applied, from what source it comes. You can cast the spell as often as you want, the bonuses are only for the first or highest enhancement bonus.
Just to be particular, the wording does say armor OR a shield. Not both.
ryric RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The enhancement bonus on an armor or shield doesn't add directly to the bearer's AC - it adds to the armor or shield bonus of the armor.
So a chain shirt with a +3 enhancement bonus has a +7 armor bonus to AC
A heavy shield with a +3 enhancement bonus has a +5 shield bonus to AC
Armor and shield bonuses stack so you're golden.