Eidolon Question.


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I had Improved Natural Armor on my 2nd Level Eidolon. I am using Hero Lab. It says that I can't have that until level 5. I read an FAQ that contridicts that but thats ok. Now that I have reached level 3 I have decided to drop it. I would like to add Reach (bite) and Reach (claws). Is this ok? Second if I do this can they attack the adjacent space and the 10' foot space or only the 10' foot square?

Sczarni

Shouldn't be a problem as long as you have the evolution points. Creatures that attack with Natural Weapons can threaten adjacent squares. Only reach weapons have the restriction of not attacking adjacent squares. (Unless otherwise noted in the description of the ability)

BTW here is a cool page of templates

Liberty's Edge

Thanks for the answers and the templates. They should help because I have taken Enlarge Person as a spell for my summoner to cast on the Eidolon on occasion.


Here's the evolution text from the PRD:

Quote:
Improved Natural Armor (Ex): An eidolon's hide grows thick fur, rigid scales, or bony plates, giving it a +2 bonus to its natural armor. This evolution can be taken once for every five levels the summoner possesses.

So, it's correct, actually. You get it once at 5th, then at 10th, 15th and 20th.


You forgot to add the errata, Buri. An eidolon can take Improved Natural Armor at first level.

pfsrd wrote:

Improved Natural Armor (Ex)

An eidolon’s hide grows thick fur, rigid scales, or bony plates, giving it a +2 bonus to its natural armor. This evolution can be taken once for every five levels the summoner possesses. Source: Advanced Player's Guide

Errata/FAQ

What's the minimum level for a summoner to take the improved natural armor evolution for an eidolon?

The description of the evolution says, "This evolution can be taken once for every five levels the summoner possesses." Unfortunately, that text is unclear. A summoner can select this evolution once for levels 1—4, again for levels 5–9, a third time at levels 10–14, a fourth time at levels 15–19, and a fifth time at level 20. This wording will be clarified in the next update document and print run for the APG.

Liberty's Edge

Hero lab for some reason is ignoring the FAQ It's ok I have a shield wand and I have Mage armor. So I can spare it for now.


Ahh. Thanks for pointing that out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolon Question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions