Spellslinger - Arcane Gun


Rules Questions


Just have some questions about how the spells work when used by Arcane Gun:

1) Does the Spellslinger actually fire a bullet and make a ranged attack with the gun when using this ability? It seems like the only use of this feature is to grant the enhancement bonus of the gun to the attack roll of the spell. If they aren't firing the gun, does that mean you don't need ammunition to fire the spells through the gun?

2) When it says you can cast "ranged touch attacks", does that include things that CAN be ranged touch attacks? Like how Fireball isn't a ranged touch attack, unless you're trying to throw it through a window? I originally became interested in this class, because I wanted my bullets to be able to make explosions where they hit, so being restricted to all the linear effects (rays, lines, cones) isn't as appealing.

3) Is the character still the point of origin for the rays/lines/cones? Or is the target the point of origin? I.E.: Is the spell going off normally, or going off when/where the bullet strikes the target (assuming the gun is still firing)?


RaizielDragon wrote:
1) Does the Spellslinger actually fire a bullet and make a ranged attack with the gun when using this ability?

I don't think so. Just whatever the spell would be, with a (potential) bonus/drawback.

RaizielDragon wrote:
2) When it says you can cast "ranged touch attacks", does that include things that CAN be ranged touch attacks? Like how Fireball isn't a ranged touch attack, unless you're trying to throw it through a window?

I don't think Fireball will work. It's still an "Area 20-ft.-radius spread" spell, you just make the ranged touch attack to target it.

RaizielDragon wrote:
3) Is the character still the point of origin for the rays/lines/cones?

I think so.

Basically, I read Arcane Gun as exactly the same as casting a spell normally, with the only changes being the guns enhancement bonus to attack/DC, and the chance of overload.

Grand Lodge

Grick wrote:


Basically, I read Arcane Gun as exactly the same as casting a spell normally, with the only changes being the guns enhancement bonus to attack/DC, and the chance of overload.

And enhanced critical (3x damage) if you choose to bond to only one gun. Certain effects from Mage Bullets can also add to your effectiveness.


I asked this question on another thread, but no one has answered:

Can you take one level of Wizard (Spellslinger), to get the Spellslinger abilities, then take the rest in Sorcerer, and use Sorcerer spells to power the Spellslinger abilities?

They reference sacrificing a prepared spell, but I didn't know if a Sorcerer can sacrifice a spell slot to get the same effect.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

yes, RAW you can use any spell you can cast through your gun. Sor, cleric, or my fave magus. a spellslinger 1/magus x is a strong build

Grand Lodge

No... you can only use your class spells through the gun.


What about with the Mage Bullets ability?


A spellslinger can cast any ranged touch attack, cone, line, or ray spells through his arcane gun.

Any means any spell nowhere does it say you can only use your spellslinger spells

Silver Crusade

LazarX wrote:
No... you can only use your class spells through the gun.

Could you quote the relevant part ?

Grand Lodge

Maxximilius wrote:
LazarX wrote:
No... you can only use your class spells through the gun.
Could you quote the relevant part ?

It's a Wizard archetype...the archetype only modifies your Wizard class spellcasting. The burden of proof is on you to show how it opens up for any other class.


It says it in the power description that its any spell(not any wizard spell). There's no burden of proof. You happen to be wrong RAW. Whether or not that's the intent is another argument.

Or to put it bluntly you honestly think that there's no synergy because its a wizard archetype. By that same logic I suppose you think that the one level dip into sor to make blasting easier with the sor + to damage doesn't work because its a sor ability.

Silver Crusade

LazarX wrote:
Maxximilius wrote:
LazarX wrote:
No... you can only use your class spells through the gun.
Could you quote the relevant part ?
It's a Wizard archetype...the archetype only modifies your Wizard class spellcasting. The burden of proof is on you to show how it opens up for any other class.

No, no it isn't. Quote the part proving your affirmation.

By following the exact same logic, a crossblooded sorcerer's arcanas only improve his sorcerer spells.
Also, keep the core bard's armors proficiency's description handy for the inevitable comparison, it will spare us time on why you are wrong and how things would be if you were right.


LazarX wrote:
Maxximilius wrote:
LazarX wrote:
No... you can only use your class spells through the gun.
Could you quote the relevant part ?
It's a Wizard archetype...the archetype only modifies your Wizard class spellcasting. The burden of proof is on you to show how it opens up for any other class.

Not the case, if a class ability modifies your spellcasting is applies to your spells from all classes

from FAQ:

Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list? (page 72 of the Core Rulebook)
The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.

General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)

—Jason Bulmahn, 10/21/10


Does this mean that a Wizard/Spellslingers "opposition schools" affect a Sorcerers spells? As in if a Spellslinger 1/Sorcerer 10 with evocation as an opposition school, casts Fireball, it would cost a level 4 spell slot, instead of level 3?


RaizielDragon wrote:
Does this mean that a Wizard/Spellslingers "opposition schools" affect a Sorcerers spells? As in if a Spellslinger 1/Sorcerer 10 with evocation as an opposition school, casts Fireball, it would cost a level 4 spell slot, instead of level 3?

Nope.

Arcane School: "A wizard who prepares spells from his opposition schools must use two spell slots of that level to prepare the spell."

While one could argue that it could apply to another prepared spellcasting class, like a cleric, one could also argue that when the class ability says "A wizard" it is specifically saying it only applies to spells from that class.


Hm. Feels kind of weird that the opposition schools wouldn't impose their penalty on my Sorcerer spells, but that I can use my Sorcerer spells to power my Wizard/Spellslinger abilities.

But hey, I'm not gonna complain.

Thanks everybody.

Scarab Sages

I keep thread pirating with this question, but I'd love to hear an answer from someone like Grick whose opinion and reasoning I generally find to be spot on:
Doesn't the same logic and ruling that applies to Arcane Gun allow a multi-classed cleric to burn wizard spells to fuel spontaneous casting?

Spontaneous Casting:
Spontaneous Casting: A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).

An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) can't convert prepared spells to cure spells but can convert them to inflict spells (an inflict spell is one with “inflict” in its name).

A cleric who is neither good nor evil and whose deity is neither good nor evil can convert spells to either cure spells or inflict spells (player's choice). Once the player makes this choice, it cannot be reversed. This choice also determines whether the cleric channels positive or negative energy (see Channel Energy).


Ssalarn wrote:
Doesn't the same logic and ruling that applies to Arcane Gun allow a multi-classed cleric to burn wizard spells to fuel spontaneous casting?

I can't really come up with a reason it wouldn't.

I think the General rule in that FAQ might have been worded a bit openly, but at the same time, multiclassing is generally not so good, so if they get an unintended but fairly minor benefit, then good for them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spellslinger - Arcane Gun All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions