Horse's attacks?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

A Horse is listed as having the following attack Melee 2 hooves –2 (1d4+1), this would indicate that it is a secondary attack. But the rules state “If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on attack rolls.” So this means the Horse has a primary attack not listed probable bite or the listing is a error.

Scarab Sages

Normally, you'd be correct, except the horse has the following special "ability":

prd wrote:
Docile (Ex) Unless specifically trained for combat (see the Handle Animal skill, a horse's hooves are treated as secondary attacks.

Also, don't forget the -1 to attacks for being Large.


Yar.

Horses have a special clause that overrides the normal rules for singular attacks. (however, note that horses make 2 attacks with their hooves, not 1).

Horse wrote:
Docile (Ex) Unless specifically trained for combat (see the Handle Animal skill, a horse's hooves are treated as secondary attacks.

Also, Horses are Large creatures, and as such suffer an addition -1 penalty to all attack rolls.

~P

EDIT: ARGH! I've been ninja'ed by less than 1 second! *shakes fist*


It doesn't have only 1 attack; it has 2 (2 hooves).

For the second question: A horse is Large, which means it takes a -1 penalty on attacks.


A horse also has the SQ: Docile.

PRD on Horses wrote:
Docile (Ex): Unless specifically trained for combat (see the Handle Animal skill, a horse's hooves are treated as secondary attacks.

The hooves are indeed secondary attacks, unless the horse is combat trained.

EDIT: Wow, seriously ninja'd =p

The Exchange

Yeah I rembered large after I posted but eveyone posted while I was editing.

Scarab Sages

[Darth Vader Voice]Now I am the ninja![/Darth Vader Voice] 8^)


All of the above :

- it has TWO attacks not one

- It has the Docile quality

The Exchange

The reason I was asking is because one of the encounters in "We be Goblins" is a Horse, maybe there should be a exception if used as a monster?


Yar.

I will say though, a combat trained heavy horse is one deadly beast! They gain a bite attack, their hoof damage die goes up, their bite and both hooves become primary attacks, AND it gains the advanced simple template.

Well worth the 300 gp to buy one at low levels (imo).

~P


Yar!

Bret Koontz wrote:

The reason I was asking is because one of the encounters in "We be Goblins" is a Horse, maybe there should be a exception if used as a monster?

Well, goblins are supposed to be deathly afraid of horses. Also, not all encounters need to be challenging. It's nice to have some easier ones from time to time... but I assume that it is meant to play up on goblin inherent fear instead of pure combat.

^_^

~P

Contributor

2 people marked this as a favorite.

FYI it's really there to mean one TYPE of natural attack, not simply ONE natural attack. Two hooves is still one type of attack, and therefore it would convert to primary... if it weren't for the docile ability.


Bret Koontz wrote:

The reason I was asking is because one of the encounters in "We be Goblins" is a Horse, maybe there should be a exception if used as a monster?

Why? If the module wanted the horse to be wartrained (which removes the Docile trait), it would have specified a wartrained horse.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
FYI it's really there to mean one TYPE of natural attack, not simply ONE natural attack. Two hooves is still one type of attack, and therefore it would convert to primary... if it weren't for the docile ability.

Sean, I'm pretty sure there are lots of monsters with only one type of attack that don't add 1.5 x STR modifier to all of those attacks.

Aboleth, for instance. Its tentacles are primary, yes, but they don't add 1.5 x STR modifier, which is part of the same sentence.


Yar!

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
FYI it's really there to mean one TYPE of natural attack, not simply ONE natural attack. Two hooves is still one type of attack, and therefore it would convert to primary... if it weren't for the docile ability.

The More You Know!

~P


Are wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
FYI it's really there to mean one TYPE of natural attack, not simply ONE natural attack. Two hooves is still one type of attack, and therefore it would convert to primary... if it weren't for the docile ability.

Sean, I'm pretty sure there are lots of monsters with only one type of attack that don't add 1.5 x STR modifier to all of those attacks.

Aboleth, for instance. Its tentacles are primary, yes, but they don't add 1.5 x STR modifier, which is part of the same sentence.

There's 2 parts to that tidbit in the Natural Attacks description though. One, if there's only 1 natural attack, then you use the full BAB for it's attack and it gains 1.5xSTR on damage. Two, if there's only one TYPE of natural attack, then that attack is considered a primary attack, regardless of what the attack type would normally be (i.e. tentacle is normally a secondary attack).


Good catch. I forgot the other sentence which specifically talks about one type of attack as opposed to one attack. I'll post the PRD section here for reference:

PRD, Natural Attacks wrote:

Natural Attacks Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature's full base attack bonus and add the creature's full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature's base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature's full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type. Table: Natural Attacks by Size lists some of the most common types of natural attacks and their classifications.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
FYI it's really there to mean one TYPE of natural attack, not simply ONE natural attack. Two hooves is still one type of attack, and therefore it would convert to primary... if it weren't for the docile ability.

Good to see you back on the board Sean, I missed the devs input on here.

That said, the point was that two attacks would not get the 1.5 str mod, which is independent of them being primary attacks or not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Horse's attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.