Disjunction on an item hit with Disjunction


Rules Questions


Alright, from the d20pfsrd:

Quote:
All magical effects and magic items within the radius of the spell, except for those that you carry or touch, are disjoined. That is, spells and spell-like effects are unraveled and destroyed completely (ending the effect as a dispel magic spell does), and each permanent magic item must make a successful Will save or be turned into a normal item for the duration of this spell. An item in a creature's possession uses its own Will save bonus or its possessor's Will save bonus, whichever is higher. If an item's saving throw results in a natural 1 on the die, the item is destroyed instead of being suppressed.

So, if I use Disjunction on a person who has gear that is already under the effects of Disjunction...what happens to that gear?

Its treated as normal item for the duration, which hints that Disjunction is a debuff. Would it be safe to say that the Disjunction unravels the previous Disjunction, and the person gets to make a new Will Save for that item? Does the item return to normal? Does the universe implode from Disjuncting a Disjunction?

That last one might have been me being a little silly.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder PF Special Edition, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It means you hit the items with another disjoin effect which overlaps with what's already there.


Personally I'd rule that items already demagiced by the first spell are not affected by the second, including in duration. But I'm sure others would disagree.

Sovereign Court

The first Mage's Disjunction would be dispelled by the second, if that's what was being asked. Then everything would have to make saves again against suppression. More chances to roll 1's on saves, not good.


I think what the OP is saying is that Disjunction itself is a magical effect on permanent magic items. Which means, since a new Disjunction unravels all magical effects, it would unravel the previous Disjunction effect, restoring the magic item to normal.


AvalonXQ wrote:
I think what the OP is saying is that Disjunction itself is a magical effect on permanent magic items. Which means, since a new Disjunction unravels all magical effects, it would unravel the previous Disjunction effect, restoring the magic item to normal.

Indeed! Now...here is the question: Would the magic item make a new save against the new Disjunction effect, or would it just be returned to normal?


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So weird... I never thought of the after effects of a Disjunction as a magical effect. I always thought of it as an *absence* of magical effect, and it simply took the items a while to recover from the shock of the anti-magic.

Though, considering what the word 'disjunction' means, I guess it would make sense that there is simply a magical force separating the magic from the items, and that this force can be dispelled.


Well, in 3.5 (and earlier) disjunction wasn't a magical effect in that sense -- it was instantaneous, and permanently nullified magical items.

PF made it significantly less of a nuclear option, but it does introduce this amusing quirk. :)

I'd probably house rule that a disjunction effect is not ended by another disjunction. But RAW it probably would be.


Oh! So you're asking if you can intentionally use a disjunction to COUNTER a disjunction.

... !

Hmm. I think I would allow that, if (and only if) that was the caster's intent, because it's neat.


How I would run this:

Disjunction would end the previous disjunction. All magical items within the area must make saving throws or be are affected. Don't roll a 1 :D

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disjunction on an item hit with Disjunction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.