Swinging Reposition Question


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay I have a skirmishing character and this issue has come up regarding the rules for the ability Swinging Reposition, which is part of the Pirate archetype in Ultimate Combat. The rule reads as such:

At 2nd level, a pirate incorporates a ship’s masts, rigging, ropes, sails, and other such structures into her combat style. Provided she is wearing light armor, when fighting in an environment where such structures exist, the rogue incorporates them into her Acrobatics checks by grabbing hold of the structure and swinging toward her opponent, making either a charge or a bull rush maneuver. Once she completes her attack or maneuver, she can reposition herself. Immediately after making the charge or bull rush, she can move 5 feet as a free action, even if the charge ends her turn. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

This ability replaces the 2nd-level rogue talent.

The question is does the use of this ability act as a charge, an acrobatics check, or both? Also what is it limited by? The actual situation that came up was my character attempting to use this ability in difficult ground.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Pawns, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm actually kinda curious about this myself. Any insight?


You don't use an acrobatics check. Actually, the wording is incorrect. It should read "Provided she is wearing light armor, when fighting in an environment where such structures exist, the rogue incorporates them into her <combat style> (not acrobatic check). This is not an official errata, but it make sense once you read it this way. Actually, this wording mirrors the first sentence.

The only real differences is that when you are charging with this feat you can reposition at the end and can essentially fly through the air to make a charge attack. There is no acrobatic skill check.

The only real question I have is whether the charge still has to be in a straight line.


One of my players took this because Errol Flynn, right? And now I'm trying to figure out just what he can and can't do with it. For instance - Can he swing from the rigging down to the deck as a charge? And I am requiring an acrobatics or profession Sailor check to use the swinging reposition since he literally swinging from place to place and crossing open air as he goes.

I guess I'm going to allow him to swing down from above and swing across distances. I'll have to figure out just how that's going to work. : |


After reading the description about a billion times over, maybe its intended to work in the following way:

"...Provided she is wearing light armor, when fighting in an environment where such structures exist, the rogue can move towards her opponent using these structures (normally requiring an Acrobatics check). If successful, the rogue can then execute a bull rush or charge maneuver as if she had normally met the movement requirements for such a maneuver. Once she completes her attack..."

Basically, instead of moving in a straight line to do a charge (or bull rush), you're swinging on some rigging to whip up some momentum as you move towards your target. And any version of movement that includes swinging on rigging/masts/etc. will probably require an acrobatics check, hence the reference.

I'm guessing they just forgot to explain that they were assuming this wouldn't be able to happen without an acrobatics check, and that this movement was a substitute for the requirements of making a charge/bull rush maneuver. Those points, and some kind of guidance on range, minimum distance, etc. would have been very helpful.

I think this is how I'm going to play this horribly worded ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swinging Reposition Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions