yuishichan's page

10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Okay, so I know that all of the Pathfinder APs are designed for a party of 4 people, using the core rulebook, and using the 15 point buy for stats. Does anyone know if this also applies to the stand alone Modules for Pathfinder?

Nullpunkt wrote:

I doubt you will find an explicit answer to that question in the rules somewhere so it comes down to personal opinions and interpretations. Mine is that you take all the effects of haste and blessing of fervor combined and only apply the highest modifiers.

So if you chose the bonus on attack, AC and Ref saves you would only apply the +2 from blessing of fervor and not the +1 from haste, but still get an extra attack from haste when making a full attack.

If you chose an extra attack from blessing of fervor you'd get the +1 to attack from haste but not another additional attack.

I know. If I recall correctly there aren't many spells that go out of the way to mention that they don't stack with other spells. The way that we have interpreted the rule is exactly the same way that you just describe.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have some questions about these two spells interacting with each other. Blessing of Fervor specifically states:

"These effects are not cumulative with similar effects, such as those provided by haste or a speed weapon, nor do they actually grant an extra action, so you can't use it to cast a second spell or otherwise take an extra action in the round. Blessing of fervor does not stack with haste."

Does this simply apply to the effect of receiving an extra attack as part of a full attack action? Or does this apply to the bonus to attack and, damage and reflex saves? If you use Blessing of Fervor for attack, damage, and reflex saves, do you still receive the benefit of the extra attack from haste? Does this phrase also mean that if you are under the effects of both spells, do you have to choose which one you are benefiting from each round?

Sorry about that and thanks for the replies.

In the second book there are a decent amount of experience rewards available to the party through non-combat situations. Am I supposed to reward the full amount of experience or do I split the total between the members of the party?

Thanks for the answers! Sadly he ditched the idea before I ran my game again. I opted to not change anything and pay particular attention in regards to whether or not plants would be available.

Alright, I have a wood specialized wizard playing in my game. Currently, I am running Carrion Crown and the party is underground in a basement. He has access to spells that need plants to function such as Entangle. If I play things by the book, he should scrap his character sheet and try again, which I don't want. However, I also cannot allow myself to just give access to plants in every room. I would appreciate some advice in regards to how often I should make such a resource available in these kinds of circumstances.

Thanks. That's exactly what I was looking for.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you opt to tumble over someone, or tumble at full speed, and fail, what happens? do you still make it over the enemy, and move at full speed, and they just get an attack of opportunity? or do you fall short, fall down, etc?

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay I have a skirmishing character and this issue has come up regarding the rules for the ability Swinging Reposition, which is part of the Pirate archetype in Ultimate Combat. The rule reads as such:

At 2nd level, a pirate incorporates a ship’s masts, rigging, ropes, sails, and other such structures into her combat style. Provided she is wearing light armor, when fighting in an environment where such structures exist, the rogue incorporates them into her Acrobatics checks by grabbing hold of the structure and swinging toward her opponent, making either a charge or a bull rush maneuver. Once she completes her attack or maneuver, she can reposition herself. Immediately after making the charge or bull rush, she can move 5 feet as a free action, even if the charge ends her turn. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

This ability replaces the 2nd-level rogue talent.

The question is does the use of this ability act as a charge, an acrobatics check, or both? Also what is it limited by? The actual situation that came up was my character attempting to use this ability in difficult ground.