AoO Question.


Rules Questions


Basically what I want to know is if a creature tries to drink a potion in a threatened square can a player or NPC then use his granted AoO for a Disarm Combat Maneuver to snatch the potion out of the player or NPCs hands?


Yes


Yes.

Edit: *sigh* Capt'n Ninja...

Okay, long version:
Drinking a potion does provoke, so if you threaten (IUS or weapon), you get to make an AoO.
You can make a disarm in place of a melee attack, thus also as an AoO, which makes the target drop one item of your choice. (Note that disarm also provokes if you don't have the improved disarm feat.)
If you make that disarm unarmed, you can grab the dropped item.

Fyi, you could also sunder the potion. :)


Since you can replace a melee attack with a disarm, yes.

The Exchange

you cannot snatch with disarm but you could make them drop any item they are carrying and you get to pick.

The Exchange

off the srd under disarm
if your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands).


Also note that you need improved unarmed strike to threaten with your fist which is needed to take an AoO with you hand.


This is pretty much what I figured, just thought it'd be smart to get a confirmation and the PC in question is a Monk so the unarmed strike is taken care of.


Also thank you all for the timely responses!


Nephril seems right.
something that was changed from 3.5 i cant find where the text in the prd.


d20pfsrd.com disarm description wrote:
 If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.


So with what Cyberwolf posted there it would seem that as long as you are using no weapon you would infact automatically "pick up" the item dropped i.e. "snatch it from thier hands?


Ah.
Shame on me for not reading the very last sentance.
I mean really who hid it there? >.>


So basically if a person without improved disarm who is using improved unarmed strike can attempt to disarm a bloke's potion with an AoO and if he/she succeeds [in response] the person who was initially disarmed could choose to take an AoO to either sunder, or also disarm said potion from the original disarmer.. that would be hilarious.


Vazok Goregrin wrote:
So basically if a person without improved disarm who is using improved unarmed strike can attempt to disarm a bloke's potion with an AoO and if he/she succeeds [in response] the person who was initially disarmed could choose to take an AoO to either sunder, or also disarm said potion from the original disarmer.. that would be hilarious.

No.

They would get their AOO first.. so they could knock the guy out and then finish their drink in peace.

-James


Not quite Vazok.

Potion Drinker takes action to drink a potion, provoking an AoO
Monk guy takes a disarm action for his AoO, but he doesn't have Imp Disarm, this provokes from Potion Drinker (assuming he is wielding a weapon and threatens).
Potion Drinker gets to make an AoO, he still is holding the potion at this time, so he can't disarm the Monk guy (since unarmed strikes are not able to be disarmed). He can hit for damage, or trip, or whatever else. After this is resolved, we go backwards.
Monk guy makes his disarm check, stealing the potion.
Potion drinker now having no potion to drink, cries because the mean monk stole his potion.

The next round, this could repeat, with monk guy as the potion drinker, and the potion guy disarming (assuming he had IUS).


Ok wait... So wouldn't this all technically be happening at the same time? I mean the monk is provoking the AoO by disarming the Potion how does the potion drinker react first to something that hasn't happened yet?

Also can you take an AoO with an offhand weapon since potion drinker has a potion in his main hand?


You resolve AoOs in reverse order.


Ok, now that I think about it, that sounds correct. Way to kill all the fun guys GOSH!


Vazok Goregrin wrote:
Ok, now that I think about it, that sounds correct. Way to kill all the fun guys GOSH!

You should read the potions section in the magic items chapter. There's a part in it where it says that you can use your AoO to attack the potion, even if you do not have the Improved Sunder feat. That is just neat!

Potions
''An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil[...] The vial has AC 13, 1 hit point, hardness 1, and a break DC of 12.''


Correct. AoOS go off right before the action that triggered them.

(Ever played a Magic the Gathering duel with two counterspell decks? Hilarious.)

Maerimydra wrote:
Vazok Goregrin wrote:
Ok, now that I think about it, that sounds correct. Way to kill all the fun guys GOSH!

You should read the potions section in the magic items chapter. There's a part in it where it says that you can use your AoO to attack the potion, even if you do not have the Improved Sunder feat. That is just neat!

Potions

''An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil[...] The vial has AC 13, 1 hit point, hardness 1, and a break DC of 12.''

*laugh*

And there we are, debating combat maneuvers... Awesome.

So okay, forget what I said about sunder, replace it by "destroy it as per the section Maerimydra quoted".
Do that if you want to get rid of the potion, disarm if you want it for yourself - but do something in your own turn that stops the opponent from trying to get it back.


Cyberwolf2xs wrote:
*laugh*

Yeah I found it funny too. For some obscure reason, a combat maneuver doesn't seem to be required for this. This is a strange corner case in the rules that doesn't sit well with me. I would at least add the drinker's Dex modifiers to the AC of the potion, or just say that you need to make a sunder maneuver, that would make more sense for me.


True.

You can destroy a tiny little potion your enemy is moving around with his hand and without any problem (ac 13, c'mon) and without provoking, but when you want to, say, sunder the huge piece of steel the enemy is probably holding right in your direction, to shield his body, you provoke and have to overcome his much higher cmd?
Totally makes sense. :D


Cyberwolf2xs wrote:

True.

You can destroy a tiny little potion your enemy is moving around with his hand and without any problem (ac 13, c'mon) and without provoking, but when you want to, say, sunder the huge piece of steel the enemy is probably holding right in your direction, to shield his body, you provoke and have to overcome his much higher cmd?
Totally makes sense. :D

The moral of the story? Don't drink a potion in melee! :P


Yeah. Don't drink and fight.

;)

Or at least take a 5ft step first.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO Question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.