Clarifying the 5-Foot Step


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I played my first-ever game of Pathfinder this weekend and the following question came up.

My understanding of the 5-foot step is that you can take one as (essentially) a free action as long as you don't move in any other way in your turn (generally speaking, I couldn't take a regular move and then get an additional 5-foot bump). My GM disagreed, saying that a 5-foot step is a move action, so it can't be taken in any turn that you use a move action for anything (in the case that spurred our argument, using a move action to reload my gun with the Rapid Reload feat). Based on the rulebooks (5-foot step is under "Miscellaneous Actions," not "Move Actions," for instance) I'm pretty sure I'm right-- that I can take a 5-foot step, use a move action to reload, and use a standard to shoot, all in one turn-- but my DM has played 1,000,000 times more Pathfinder than I have and he seemed very certain.

Whose interpretation is correct?

Thanks!

Grand Lodge

5ft steps do not use move actions, unless you are doing so into difficult terrain. If your DM needs proof, point out that you can take a 5ft step between iterative attacks during a full-attack action, which is a full round action.


You are entirely correct.

Your GM is using the 4th Ed. rules, where the five-foot step is replaced by the "shift" action, which does require a move action. He is wrong to try to apply this to Pathfinder.

In Pathfinder, a 5-foot step doesn't cost any of your actions for your turn. It gives you a "free" move along with your other actions in any round where you would otherwise not move from your square.


Move Actions aren't necessarily movement. As long as you have not moved from your square, you can take a 5'. But once you do that, you can't use an action to move (normally).

It's not based off of move actions, it's based off of changing squares.

Liberty's Edge

AvalonXQ wrote:
You are entirely correct.

Almost. A 5-foot step is classified as no action, not a free action. The distinction is rarely important, tho. Otherwise, OP's GM does seem to be pulling in rules from a different game or is suffering some other form of misunderstanding, likely related to the language that you cannot 5-foot step in a turn that you move. The reload is a move action, but is not movement.


Link him to this thread.

Grand Lodge

It is in the core, described as such. Have him read the core, it proves you right.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarifying the 5-Foot Step All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.