| Trish Megistos |
Probably a confusing title, so let's get straight to the example.
So we have an alchemist 2, wizard 3. He got magical knack and has scribe scroll as any wizard as well as brew potion as any alchemist would have. Along his adventure, he picked up a scroll of haste and managed to copy it into his spellbook.
So he got a CL of 5, spellslots up to second level and knows a third level spell, namely haste.
As I read you need to know a spell, not able to cast it.
Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item’s creator
Is he able to create haste scrolls and potions? Minimum caster level 5, known spell, haste.
| The Mad Comrade |
You do have to be able to cast each prerequisite spell 1/day as part of crafting a magic item, not just know it. Otherwise that falls under missing prerequisite, adding +5 to the DC.
A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite.
Edit: Now that I look at da rulz, I do believe you to be correct. Defies common sense IMO, but there you have it.
| Jeraa |
You can not bypass the spell requirement of scrolls, potions, or wands. You must be able to cast it.
Crafting and Bypassing Requirements: What crafting requirements can you bypass by adding +5 to the DC of your Spellcraft check?
As presented on page 549 of the Core Rulebook, there are no limitations other than (1) you have to have the item creation feat, and (2) you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites. So racial requirements, specific spell requirements, math requirements (such as "caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus"), and so on, are all subject to the +5 DC rule.
Magical Knack boosts your caster level. However, spell slots are based on class level, not caster level. You do not have a 3rd level spell slot, so can not castehaste. AS such, you can not create a potion, scroll, or wand of haste.
The creator must have prepared the spell to be placed in the potion (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material component or focus the spell requires.
Material components are consumed when he begins working, but a focus is not. (A focus used in brewing a potion can be reused.) The act of brewing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.) Brewing a potion requires 1 day.
Prepared casters must actually prepare the spell. Knowing it is not enough for them.
| Jeraa |
Now, you can totally create a wondrous item that casts haste (provided you had the feat). You can skip spell requirements for those kinds of items. Just not for spell-trigger and spell-completion items (wands, scrolls, staffs) or potions.
You can, however, craft a potion or scroll by meeting the spell requirements with scrolls or wands crafted by someone else (as you can't craft those yet yourself).