
Halfling Barbarian |
4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Mounted Skirmisher says you can use a full attack action as long as your mount moves it's speed or less. This leads me to believe that it can be used on a charge simply because:
1: There is nothing stating that it can't be, such as saying it takes a standard action.
2: It specifically states you can use it as long as you move your mounts speed or less which seems to suggest that you simply can't double move to use it because it takes too much time, but you can do it within a short range regardless of whether or not your mount is charging.
Is there any actual clarification on this?

Trikk |
Benefit: If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.
A charge is a full-round action. A full-attack action is a full-round action. If you charge, you cannot do another full-round action. For this feat to work your mount first has to move more than 5 feet (otherwise it isn't even activated).
Normal: If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only take an attack action.
This is the rule it's replacing.

Halfling Barbarian |

That doesn't explain why they specify that it can be used at or under your mount's speed. Also, in reading the charge rules they say a lot about movement. You move, you attack. This feat lets you move, and then full attack (which is a move action + a full round action).
I don't doubt that you're right, but the fact that you can't take the feat until 14th level and the wording in the feat itself seem to me like they wanted it to be used with a charge with some basic restriction.
If it can't be used on a charge it seems horribly underpowered (as the obvious ride by attack tie in that a real skirmisher should use) isn't allowed, and if it can be used on a charge it seems grossly overpowered as I can easily do enough damage to take down anything I can charge in one shot with 1000+ damage a turn.
*Edit: Unless they planned on everyone giving their mounts spring attack.

Halfling Barbarian |

If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you
can only make a single melee attack...stuff...You can
make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is
moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.
This feat doesn't modify ranged attacks at all. Again the only qualifier I'm seeing is that it specifies that you can't move more than the mount's speed. Which is either a badly worded attempt to say you can't use it on a charge, or a pointless restriction on a weak feat.

![]() |
Quote:Benefit: If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.A charge is a full-round action. A full-attack action is a full-round action. If you charge, you cannot do another full-round action. For this feat to work your mount first has to move more than 5 feet (otherwise it isn't even activated).
Quote:Normal: If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only take an attack action.This is the rule it's replacing.
The feat only requires your mount to move its speed or less. It doesn't say you can't make a charge as long as the charge is only the mount's speed or less. The fact is that the feat doesn't even bring up 'actions' that the mount has to take in order to fulfill this requirement. Theoretically, the attack of the mount and the full-round attack of the rider would be happening simultaneously, not one after the other.
Another question I'd like to mention comes up when we look at the rules for a charging mount, as follows:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.
So if a rider has Mounted Skirmisher and his or her mount charges, does the rider get +2 on all the melee attacks made that round or only the first. I'm also curious how the 3rd level Cavalier ability "Cavalier's Charge" would play into this situation (namely, would the cavalier get no ac penalty and +4 to hit when his or her mount charged)

PSY850 |

RaW, I dont htink anything really stops you from charging and just limiting it to less than the base speed however....
RAI, it's somehting to let people who have made the comitment of feats for proper mounted combat to prolly get full attacks each round as long as he's on his mount. Trying to rules lawyer it up to try and get a little +2 or 4 or whatever on all the attacks is a little low. Just enjoy that you can move up to the bad guy in question, and then lay lots of smack down with your full bab goodness while anyone else that moves only gets one swing.
Asta
PSY

Trikk |
The feat only requires your mount to move its speed or less. It doesn't say you can't make a charge as long as the charge is only the mount's speed or less. The fact is that the feat doesn't even bring up 'actions' that the mount has to take in order to fulfill this requirement. Theoretically, the attack of the mount and the full-round attack of the rider would be happening simultaneously, not one after the other.
Another question I'd like to mention comes up when we look at the rules for a charging mount, as follows:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.So if a rider has Mounted Skirmisher and his or her mount charges, does the rider get +2 on all the melee attacks made that round or only the first. I'm also curious how the 3rd level Cavalier ability "Cavalier's Charge" would play into this situation (namely, would the cavalier get no ac penalty and +4 to hit when his or her mount charged)
If you charge with the mount, you've already made your full-round action before you reach your target. You don't charge when you reach your target, you charge when you begin moving as the charge has movement rules in itself. You have no actions left to take.

![]() |

If you charge with the mount, you've already made your full-round action before you reach your target. You don't charge when you reach your target, you charge when you begin moving as the charge has movement rules in itself. You have no actions left to take.
When you are mounted, it is your mount which is using a full-round action to make a charge. The rider merely benefits from the bonus to attack rolls and suffers the penalty to AC.
The way the feat is worded, there is nothing preventing you from using it on a charging mount, as long as your mount does not move more than its speed while charging.
Concerning the bonus to attack, the charging while mounted rules in the CRB state that : "If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." It does not specify that you make a single attack. It only checks if you are making an attack at the end of the charge. Since you are indeed making an attack (and usually several) when taking a full-attack action, you receive the bonus from the charge. Since it is not explicitely restricted to a single attack, the bonus applies to all your attacks at the end of the charge (same as what happens with Pounce)
Also, since you are charging on horseback, you get the aditional damage from the lance on all attacks.

Halfling Barbarian |

Trikk wrote:If you charge with the mount, you've already made your full-round action before you reach your target. You don't charge when you reach your target, you charge when you begin moving as the charge has movement rules in itself. You have no actions left to take.When you are mounted, it is your mount which is using a full-round action to make a charge. The rider merely benefits from the bonus to attack rolls and suffers the penalty to AC.
The way the feat is worded, there is nothing preventing you from using it on a charging mount, as long as your mount does not move more than its speed while charging.
Concerning the bonus to attack, the charging while mounted rules in the CRB state that : "If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." It does not specify that you make a single attack. It only checks if you are making an attack at the end of the charge. Since you are indeed making an attack (and usually several) when taking a full-attack action, you receive the bonus from the charge. Since it is not explicitely restricted to a single attack, the bonus applies to all your attacks at the end of the charge (same as what happens with Pounce)
Also, since you are charging on horseback, you get the aditional damage from the lance on all attacks.
Yeah, this is the way I read it. So there's definitely no errata on this? Because even though it's a late level feat it seems horribly, horribly broken.

Trikk |
When you are mounted, it is your mount which is using a full-round action to make a charge. The rider merely benefits from the bonus to attack rolls and suffers the penalty to AC.
The way the feat is worded, there is nothing preventing you from using it on a charging mount, as long as your mount does not move more than its speed while charging.
Concerning the bonus to attack, the charging while mounted rules in the CRB state that : "If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." It does not specify that you make a single attack. It only checks if you are making an attack at the end of the charge. Since you are indeed making an attack (and usually several) when taking a full-attack action, you receive the bonus from the charge. Since it is not explicitely restricted to a single attack, the bonus applies to all your attacks at the end of the charge (same as what happens with Pounce)
Also, since you are charging on horseback, you get the aditional damage from the lance on all attacks.
That's great news. It means that you can Cleave when your mount charges, drop your lance and draw your sword in a single turn.

![]() |
Trikk wrote:If you charge with the mount, you've already made your full-round action before you reach your target. You don't charge when you reach your target, you charge when you begin moving as the charge has movement rules in itself. You have no actions left to take.When you are mounted, it is your mount which is using a full-round action to make a charge. The rider merely benefits from the bonus to attack rolls and suffers the penalty to AC.
The way the feat is worded, there is nothing preventing you from using it on a charging mount, as long as your mount does not move more than its speed while charging.
Concerning the bonus to attack, the charging while mounted rules in the CRB state that : "If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." It does not specify that you make a single attack. It only checks if you are making an attack at the end of the charge. Since you are indeed making an attack (and usually several) when taking a full-attack action, you receive the bonus from the charge. Since it is not explicitely restricted to a single attack, the bonus applies to all your attacks at the end of the charge (same as what happens with Pounce)
Also, since you are charging on horseback, you get the aditional damage from the lance on all attacks.
I do not think that making a full-attack with a lance while from the back of a charging mount will grant the bonus to damage. There is a distinction drawn in the rules. For Example:
"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge." Is making the assumption that the rider is not using the charge action but the mount is. However what comes after:
"When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)." directly states that you have to be charging from horseback meaning the rider (and his or her mount) has to be using the charge action. Mounted skirmisher would not work with the bonus damage when charging with a lance because there is a distinction made in the rules between when a mount is charging and when a rider+mount are charging.

StreamOfTheSky |

You can full attack charge with it. It only requires that your mount moves no more than its base speed (you can charge up to double base speed). It never says moves its speed or less as a move action, it never specifies what action need be used on the movement at all. RAW is undeniable.
RAI...it's a 14th level feat, though several can get it earlier. Barb can pounce at 10 (and RAI was just confirmed that yes, they meant for you to be able to ragelancepounce). Beastmorph Alchemist can pounce at 10. Synthesist Summoner or a regular summoner's Eidolon can pounce at level ONE!!!! Druids can pounce soon after they get wild shape (level 6, iirc).
Mounted Skirmisher letting you pounce IS NOT BROKEN. At least in light of all the other things that let you pounce. The recent clarification on barbarian shows us that the developers clearly don't think pouncing with weapons, mounted or otherwise, is a problem at these kinds of levels. If your problem is with the lance or Spirited Charge, then please, for the love of the gods, TAKE UP YOUR ISSUE WITH THOSE THINGS DIRECTLY. Stop trying to screw melee out of nice things. Please.