
Marius Castille |

Aura of Heroism (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of heroism for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Using this ability is a swift action. Allies in the area are treated as if they were under the effects of heroism.
Is this 30-foot aura measured as a radius or a diameter?

Ravingdork |

Quote:Aura of Heroism (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of heroism for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Using this ability is a swift action. Allies in the area are treated as if they were under the effects of heroism.Is this 30-foot aura measured as a radius or a diameter?
Areas in Pathfinder are almost always defined as radii, not diameters.
It's not an absolute rule, but it's the side I'd err on.

Marius Castille |

Marius Castille wrote:Quote:Aura of Heroism (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of heroism for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Using this ability is a swift action. Allies in the area are treated as if they were under the effects of heroism.Is this 30-foot aura measured as a radius or a diameter?Areas in Pathfinder are almost always defined as radii, not diameters.
It's not an absolute rule, but it's the side I'd err on.
So would I, but the DM and the cleric's player somehow settled on diameter, and I couldn't cite a rule to refute them. Seems a waste of a good ability.

![]() |

Insofar as I am aware, every ongoing effect in the game which is centered on a creature is a radius burst emanation.
E.g.,...
HOLY AURA
School abjuration [good]; Level cleric 8
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (a tiny reliquary worth 500 gp)
Range 20 ft.
Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you
Duration 1 round/level (D)

Marius Castille |

I don't understand how they could settle on that. The aura is 30'. That means it affects anything within 30' of you.
Yes, that means it makes a radius, but it shouldn't even be a question of radius vs. diameter. It should be a question of: "why does my 30' aura not affect things that are 30' away?"
Because areas are listed as bursts, emanations, spreads, cones, cylinders, lines, or spheres. Aura isn't on the list. While an aura is certainly an emanation, it isn't immediately apparent how it's area is defined.
Insofar as I am aware, every ongoing effect in the game which is centered on a creature is a radius burst emanation.
E.g.,...
HOLY AURA
School abjuration [good]; Level cleric 8
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (a tiny reliquary worth 500 gp)
Range 20 ft.
Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you
Duration 1 round/level (D)
This is helpful. I also found this one:
Arcane Beacon (Su): As a standard action you can become a beacon of arcane energy until the end of your next turn. The aura emanates 15 feet from you.
Hopefully, I can sway their assessments. Thanks guys.

mplindustries |

Because areas are listed as bursts, emanations, spreads, cones, cylinders, lines, or spheres. Aura isn't on the list. While an aura is certainly an emanation, it isn't immediately apparent how it's area is defined.
My point is that an emanation that is measured with a diameter is nonsensical. An emanation means it emanates from you. If the emanation is 30', it emanates 30 from you. That means it affects whatever is within 30'.
Again, I know that makes it a radius if you're measuring it on a map, but I just don't think you gain anything by thinking of it in that way. I think the best method is to see it as "anything within 30' feet of me is affected."

Ravingdork |

As per the monster introduction section, auras are always defined as a radius. Show that to your GM.
Aura: If the creature has a particular magical or exceptional aura, it is listed here along with its radius from the creature and, as applicable, a save DC to resist the aura's effects.

Marius Castille |

Marius Castille wrote:Because areas are listed as bursts, emanations, spreads, cones, cylinders, lines, or spheres. Aura isn't on the list. While an aura is certainly an emanation, it isn't immediately apparent how it's area is defined.My point is that an emanation that is measured with a diameter is nonsensical. An emanation means it emanates from you. If the emanation is 30', it emanates 30 from you. That means it affects whatever is within 30'.
Again, I know that makes it a radius if you're measuring it on a map, but I just don't think you gain anything by thinking of it in that way. I think the best method is to see it as "anything within 30' feet of me is affected."
The precedent comes from earlier editions. I remember how in 2E minor globe of invulnerability listed its area as a 5' radius and antimagic shell (printed on the same page) listed 1 ft/level diameter. I imagine this is where the disconnect originates.
As per the monster introduction section, auras are always defined as a radius. Show that to your GM.
Aura Rules wrote:Aura: If the creature has a particular magical or exceptional aura, it is listed here along with its radius from the creature and, as applicable, a save DC to resist the aura's effects.
Nice! Thanks!