Critcal Confirmation Roll - 20 an auto confirm?


Rules Questions


If you roll a Crit and then roll a 20 on your confirmation roll do you automatically confirm the crit?

Situation: Target AC = 24; Attacker's Bonus to hit = +2
Attacker roll's a 20
then rolls a 20 again, but 20 + 2 < Defender's AC of 24

Does the Attacker Crit in this situation?


harmor wrote:

If you roll a Crit and then roll a 20 on your confirmation roll do you automatically confirm the crit?

Situation: Target AC = 24; Attacker's Bonus to hit = +2
Attacker roll's a 20
then rolls a 20 again, but 20 + 2 < Defender's AC of 24

Does the Attacker Crit in this situation?

To confirm the critical, you must roll sufficient on an attack check to successfully attack the target again. Since a 20 is always a success on an attack, the 20 on the confirmation is also always a success on a critical confirmation.


Yes

A natural 20 on an attack roll is always a hit.

A critical confirmation attempt is an attack roll.


I would say yes as a natural 20 is always a hit.

EDIT: Ninja'd


So in this situation the only way for the Attacker with a +2 to hit someone with an AC of 24 is to roll two natural 20s.

Ok.


harmor wrote:

So in this situation the only way for the Attacker with a +2 to hit someone with an AC of 24 is to roll two natural 20s.

Ok.

Not quite he hits the guy with one twenty but can only crit him with two twenties.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

No. He could attack from higher ground (+1 bonus), he could flank the target with another character (+2 bonus), he could . . . I think you see where I am going. Remember you are not competing with your party, you are working together as a team. Use that teamwork.

Master Arminas

Liberty's Edge

harmor wrote:

So in this situation the only way for the Attacker with a +2 to hit someone with an AC of 24 is to roll two natural 20s.

Ok.

All he has to do is roll a single natural 20 to hit.

He would have to roll 20/20 to critical.

EDIT: Ninja'd

Shadow Lodge

In TPK Games' Grave Undertakings: The Tomb of Caragthax we offered up one of our favorite house rules that dealt with just that.

If you like, you can allow natural twenties to automatically crit, with no confirmation rolls. I have always felt that a natural twenty had that sort of jump up and down at the game table sort of feel to it, and confirming crits on a natural twenty was a real bummer sometimes.

However, it does skew the balance, which is where our second house rule comes into effect. If you roll a natural one, you provoke an attack of opportunity from all threatening creatures.

I've played with both for years, and they add a lot of excitement to the game. Some people might argue that it adds complexity and time, but I put fun above all. Enjoy!


I do believe Double 20s is an auto-crit...
atleast thats how our table treats it...

But then again- we have the rule that- if you roll two 20s (one to hit, one to confirm the crit) You go ahead and roll a third time- if its ANOTHER 20- you auto-kill whoever your attacking... along with several hours of being accused to having a rigged die :P


Thomas Writeworth wrote:

I do believe Double 20s is an auto-crit...

atleast thats how our table treats it...

But then again- we have the rule that- if you roll two 20s (one to hit, one to confirm the crit) You go ahead and roll a third time- if its ANOTHER 20- you auto-kill whoever your attacking... along with several hours of being accused to having a rigged die :P

That's funny...I have had that same rule for years. It has only happened once, and luckily it wasn't against the "boss".

Liberty's Edge

Thomas Writeworth wrote:
we have the rule that- if you roll two 20s (one to hit, one to confirm the crit) You go ahead and roll a third time- if its ANOTHER 20- you auto-kill whoever your attacking... along with several hours of being accused to having a rigged die :P

I really enjoy this rule. It's happened two times in my gaming, both in 3.5, neither were during a boss fight but significantly reduced the DC of the combat.


JDnD wrote:
Thomas Writeworth wrote:
we have the rule that- if you roll two 20s (one to hit, one to confirm the crit) You go ahead and roll a third time- if its ANOTHER 20- you auto-kill whoever your attacking... along with several hours of being accused to having a rigged die :P
I really enjoy this rule. It's happened two times in my gaming, both in 3.5, neither were during a boss fight but significantly reduced the DC of the combat.

I would hate it, because if the monsters benefited from it as well, then PCs could be insta-gibbed in a way that there's nothing you can do to protect yourself - not high AC, not high saves, not high hit points. And if the monsters don't benefit from it, then you have to figure out what happens to mind-controlled PCs - can they triple-20 their allies?

Given most monsters are going to die in a few rounds anyway, the chance of accidentally gibbing a PC is much higher than that of gibbing a monster that matters. And if you gib a one-hit mook, you just feel cheated.


I seem to recall in 3.5, that the confirmation roll had to "hit" in order to register as a crit. However, since I've been playing PF for a few weeks now, I'm learning that not everything is the same.

Looking at the RAW, it appears that a confirmation 20 would be an auto-crit, due to wording.

Quote:

PF Core Rulebook, pg. 184: Critical Hits: When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a “threat,” meaning the hit might be a critical hit (or “crit”). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make an attempt to “confirm” the critical hit—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the confirmation roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit, it doesn’t need to come up 20 again.) If the confirmation roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.

I was going to argue that the second roll is a "confirmation" roll, and not an "attack" roll, but the rules say it's an attack roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Critcal Confirmation Roll - 20 an auto confirm? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions