
Midnight_Angel |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So I've created a dwarf fighter with Two Weapon Fighting and an Urgosh. At level 6 my spreadsheet tells me that the Primary head does +9/+4 whilst the secondary head also does +9/+4.
Does this mean 4 attack rolls?
Woohoo if it does. I only expected one extra attack from the feat.
Unless my rule-fu fails me, you should only have +9 on the second head, without the additional +4. That's what Improved TWF is for.

OberonViking |

Unless my rule-fu fails me, you should only have +9 on the second head, without the additional +4. That's what Improved TWF is for.
May your rule-fu serve you well in all your incantations.
That is what I'd expected. It is also what it spits out on the character sheet. I guess I just got a bit excited.
Dynn The BeastMaster |
Ugrosh is a double weapon and you have a BAB of +6/+1. TWF doesnt specify which end is primary and which is secondary. You should be able to attack at (BAB) +6/+6/+1 regardless which end you use twice. Consult with the GM on whether or not they want you to decide which way you will fight with it or not.

Midnight_Angel |

Ugrosh is a double weapon and you have a BAB of +6/+1. TWF doesnt specify which end is primary and which is secondary. You should be able to attack at (BAB) +6/+6/+1 regardless which end you use twice. Consult with the GM on whether or not they want you to decide which way you will fight with it or not.
Actually, all TWF does is reducing your penalties.
Using only one end of the Urgosh yields a +6/+1 (plus all applicable bonuses) attack pattern.
Using both ends without TWF results in a +2/-3 // -2 pattern (which will be arranged into +2/-2/-3; the -2 being the 'off hand' attack, carrying only half the Str damage bonus etc...)
With TWF, you still have this three-attack-pattern, but at +4/-1 // +4 (re-arranged as +4/+4/-1).
Improved TWF would net a second off-attack, resulting in +4/-1 // +4/-1. (rasulring in +4/+4/-1/-1)

Dynn The BeastMaster |
The Urgrosh is a double weapon. This is what happens when weilding a double weapon:
Double: You can use a double weapon to fight as if fighting with two weapons, but if you do, you incur all the normal attack penalties associated with fighting with two weapons, just as if you were using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. You can choose to wield one end of a double weapon two-handed, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.
The point I was making about TWF OR the description for double weapons not saying which end is your "main hand", is simply for damage purposes. If for whatever reason he wants to add his FULL STRENGTH MODIFIER to the damage on the lower dice damage end he may be able to overcome DR on all 3 hits instead of just the 2 from the higher dice end.
Basically, IF he hits on all 3 attacks he could roll damage as:
1d8+STR/1d8+STR/1d6+1/2STR
1d6+STR/1d6+STR/1d8+1/2STR

Grick |

If for whatever reason he wants to add his FULL STRENGTH MODIFIER to the damage on the lower dice damage end he may be able to overcome DR on all 3 hits instead of just the 2 from the higher dice end.
You have to choose when you use it which end is which. Either axe primary/spear offhand, or the other way. You can't roll all your hits and then decide which end it hit with. (I'm not sure if that's what you're saying)
One round you can axe/axe/spear and another round you can spear/spear/axe. But if one end is enchanted, that only applies to attacks with that end, which can change your attack rolls.