Attacks of opportunity


Rules Questions


So, I've been looking at how Pathfinder actually states AoO in the book and noticed a few things that seem odd. I'm just wondering if I'm current.

Without Greater Trip, there is no AoO on target with a success.
Standing up, even if done as a full round action, gives a AoO. Moving while prone, even as a "5 ft step" gives an AoO.

Am I reading it right?

Grand Lodge

Mostly, yes. A character can't take a 5' step when prone, but can try to move 5' without provoking AoO by using Acrobatics.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Note that moving 5' while prone also constitutes a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity in both the starting and destination square.


PepticBurrito wrote:
Without Greater Trip, there is no AoO on target with a success.

If you trip someone either untrained, or by using Improved Trip, the target of your trip does not provoke an AoO when he falls prone.

If you trip someone by using Greater Trip, the target does provoke (from everyone who threatens him) before he falls prone (so no -4 AC on the AoO).

PepticBurrito wrote:
Standing up, even if done as a full round action, gives a AoO. Moving while prone, even as a "5 ft step" gives an AoO.

Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity.

You can crawl 5 feet as a move action. Crawling incurs attacks of opportunity from any attackers who threaten you at any point of your crawl. A crawling character is considered prone and must take a move action to stand up, provoking an attack of opportunity.

You can use Acrobatics to move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5.


Grick wrote:


Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity.

But you can not tripped again, because you suffer the effects of the attack before you are actually standing.


Hyla wrote:


But you can not tripped again, because you suffer the effects of the attack before you are actually standing.

That's interesting.

So what you're saying is that the following line of attack doesn't work in PF.

Trip Target, target is prone, target stands up, get attack of opportunity, trip target on AoO, target is prone again.

What's the reasoning for that? A target that does a distracting action elicits an attack of opportunity. Which means standing up elicits one. Attacks of opportunity include combat maneuvers.

Liberty's Edge

PepticBurrito wrote:
Hyla wrote:


But you can not tripped again, because you suffer the effects of the attack before you are actually standing.

That's interesting.

So what you're saying is that the following line of attack doesn't work in PF.

Trip Target, target is prone, target stands up, get attack of opportunity, trip target on AoO, target is prone again.

What's the reasoning for that? A target that does a distracting action elicits an attack of opportunity. Which means standing up elicits one. Attacks of opportunity include combat maneuvers.

The logic is that an AoO takes place prior to the action that triggers it. So, the AoO for standing takes place while the target is still prone. Make the attack. The target then continues his action if able. Stands up. It's well established but often misunderstood.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

PepticBurrito wrote:
Hyla wrote:


But you can not tripped again, because you suffer the effects of the attack before you are actually standing.

That's interesting.

So what you're saying is that the following line of attack doesn't work in PF.

Trip Target, target is prone, target stands up, get attack of opportunity, trip target on AoO, target is prone again.

What's the reasoning for that? A target that does a distracting action elicits an attack of opportunity. Which means standing up elicits one. Attacks of opportunity include combat maneuvers.

As explained in the FAQ, the AoO resolves before the action that triggers it. So they're still prone (from the first trip) when you AoO them.

EDIT: Ninja'd.


Attack of opportunity always occur before the action that triggers them. You can't trip someone standing up, as they are still prone when your AoO hits.

If AoOs occurred after the action that triggers them, then you could trip the target again. However, with movement-triggered AoOs, the target could be out of your range, so the AoO is wasted. Spells couldn't be disrupted, as you attack happens after the spell is already cast.


Grick wrote:

Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity.

You can crawl 5 feet as a move action. Crawling incurs attacks of opportunity from any attackers who threaten you at any point of your crawl. A crawling character is considered prone and must take a move action to stand up, provoking an attack of opportunity.

You can use Acrobatics to move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5.

That's the way I read it.

I'm doing an experiment, I going to be the first in our group to run a pure PF game, in every aspect. What we have been doing in other games is run PF classes in a slowly modified 3.5 ruleset (that get's more PF as we play). It's functioned just fine, strangely enough.

I'm noticing a general trend of 3.5 power gamer habits being dealt with one by one. This particular one is going to really annoy a guy who is planning on going the trip, combat reflex, cleave route. Which, of course doesn't work in PF at all. Cleave is melee only. Trip doesn't elicit AoO without a few feats.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

That player might want to consider investing in both Disarm and Trip.

1. Trip an enemy.
2. Enemy stands, use AoO to disarm.
3. Enemy retrieves weapon, use AoO (via Combat Reflexes) to trip.
4. Enemy's turn is done, and he's prone.
5. Your turn, use your normal attack to smack the guy on the ground.
6. Repeat steps 2-5 until he either dies or tries something else.

Liberty's Edge

Burrito, if I'm understanding you correctly, note that 3.5 AoOs work the same way regarding trip. In 3.5 SRD, standing provokes an AoO, which also takes place while the target is prone and can't be use to trip.


Howie23 wrote:
Burrito, if I'm understanding you correctly, note that 3.5 AoOs work the same way regarding trip. In 3.5 SRD, standing provokes an AoO, which also takes place while the target is prone and can't be use to trip.

I've never played or run a pure 3.5 game, it's always been house ruled. The way we did it was Trip->AoO->Full Round Stand Up Avoids AoO

The more familiar I get with PF, the more I'm realizing it probably doesn't need to be house ruled.


Jiggy wrote:

That player might want to consider investing in both Disarm and Trip.

1. Trip an enemy.
2. Enemy stands, use AoO to disarm.
3. Enemy retrieves weapon, use AoO (via Combat Reflexes) to trip.
4. Enemy's turn is done, and he's prone.
5. Your turn, use your normal attack to smack the guy on the ground.
6. Repeat steps 2-5 until he either dies or tries something else.

He wants to use a reach weapon, which makes disarm a concern. He is going to need to be spoken to concerning what he wants to play, I don't think he realizes the full ramifications of a pure PF game.


PepticBurrito wrote:


This particular one is going to really annoy a guy who is planning on going the trip, combat reflex, cleave route. Which, of course doesn't work in PF at all. Cleave is melee only. Trip doesn't elicit AoO without a few feats.

Trip and AoOs are melee only, also. (Barring weirdness like Snap Shot) Cleave is a standard action, though, which is why it can't be used as an AoO.

PepticBurrito wrote:
He wants to use a reach weapon, which makes disarm a concern.

Reach weapons are melee weapons, not ranged. And nothing stops him from doing Jiggy's trick with a reach weapon. If the player is disarmed of his reach weapon, he can still do the same thing without reach using his gauntlets or armor spikes or whatever backup weapon he's got. (Though, note that the enemy will have to threaten the PC in order to disarm him, which usually means being adjacent if they don't also have reach.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacks of opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions