
OmNefarious |
In my group's most recent game we almost suffered a TPK, my character was one that died, and I am now building a new character. Im making a Paladin who uses a Bastard Sword and has a Ring of Force Shield. I have recently gotten into a "discussion" with one of the other players about said ring and how I am ignoring rules for flavor.
I had asked the GM online if I could use the Bastard Sword two handed and still apply the benefits of the ring, he said yes. Now the player is saying how I shouldnt be able to do that and that the ring will be pretty much moot in battle. I had assumed since the text said it was weightless and encumbrance free I wouldnt be applying any sort of penalty.
How would this work?

![]() |

Well, here is the text from the item:
An iron band, this simple ring generates a shield-sized (and shield-shaped) wall of force that stays with the ring and can be wielded by the wearer as if it were a heavy shield (+2 AC). This special creation has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance since it is weightless and encumbrance-free. It can be activated and deactivated at will as a free action.
By my understanding, you have to wield the force shield just like you would a normal heavy shield. So, while you could use a bastard sword two handed while the shield is active, you will not get any bonus from the force shield while you do.

Paraxis |

It is a free action to activate the ring so at start of your turn you put shield down, change grip to two handed, swing weapon, end of turn put shield up.
This way when it is not your turn you can make AoO's with bastard sword one handed and get the AC bonus. You don't get AC on your turn against AoO's made against you.
But yeah there are better rings later.

FarmerBob |

It is a free action to activate the ring so at start of your turn you put shield down, change grip to two handed, swing weapon, end of turn put shield up.
This way when it is not your turn you can make AoO's with bastard sword one handed and get the AC bonus. You don't get AC on your turn against AoO's made against you.
+1. Knew if I waited another minute or two to post, I'd avoid getting ninja'ed!

OmNefarious |
It is a free action to activate the ring so at start of your turn you put shield down, change grip to two handed, swing weapon, end of turn put shield up.
This way when it is not your turn you can make AoO's with bastard sword one handed and get the AC bonus. You don't get AC on your turn against AoO's made against you.
But yeah there are better rings later.
Wow...somehow I completely forgot about it taking only a free action to raise or lower it.
I picked the force shield ring mainly because I just like the idea of it. I know for the price I paid for it I could have gotten a better physical shield, but I just like its flavor (mmmm, force energy).

Ambrus |

Keep in mind that it's a free action to turn the shield on *or* off. Since most characters only get a single free action each turn, that means that it's tricky to deactivate the shield, act and then reactivate the shield each turn. Usually, doing so will require you to use your move for the purpose; limiting you to a standard action and possibly a five foot step.

Brambleman |

Its one swift action, and unlimited free actions until your dm drops rock on your character.
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of
time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions
while taking another action normally. However, there are
reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as
decided by the GM.
Swift Action: A swift action consumes a very small
amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of
effort and energy than a free action. You can perform only
a single swift action per turn.

Eric Jarman |

Is it clearly stated that changing weapon grip from one- to two-handed (and vice versa) is a free action?
Dropping a weapon is a free action, regardless of how it is weilded. Thus, a reasonable extension is that a 'partial drop' (ie removing one hand from it) is by extension also a free action.
That just leaves the question on switching from one-handed to two-handed.
Drawing a weapon is a move action, so it could be argued (from the game rules perspective, not necessarily reality) that you are 'drawing a grip' with your off hand, potentially making that a move action.

FarmerBob |

That just leaves the question on switching from one-handed to two-handed.
Drawing a weapon is a move action, so it could be argued (from the game rules perspective, not necessarily reality) that you are 'drawing a grip' with your off hand, potentially making that a move action.
Well, this is what James Jacobs thinks about that from here
if you're wielding a 2H weapon, you can let go of the weapon with one of your hands (free action). You're now only carrying the 2H weapon, not wielding it, but your free hand is now free to attack or help cast spells or whatever. And at the end of your turn if your free hand remains free you'd be able to return it to grip your 2H weapon so you can still threaten foes and take attacks of opportunity if you want.