Shadow Evocation and Spell Focus: Illusion


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Simply put: would the DC of the reflex save allowed by a Fireball emulated via Shadow Evocation benefit from Spell Focus: Illusion or not? The wording of the spell is a bit wonky to me.

As I've been getting different answers from different people on different forums, I would be really grateful for an answer by the men in charge, so to speak, to put the matter to rest. :)


While the wording only says "set according to the level" I would say that the spell remains an illusion spell, and so you'd still benefit from any bonuses to your illusion school effects.


Like I said, I've asked around already and I've received many convincing arguments that go both ways. The crux is really whether the text of Shadow Evocation sets the DC to that of a regular, say, fireball, and trumps the normal application of SF:Illusion and the like ("an affected creature is also allowed any save (or spell resistance) that the spell being simulated allows, but the save DC is set according to shadow evocation's level" - seems to me a fireball allows a reflex save that wouldn't factor in SF:Illusion; on the other hand, the spell being cast is still an illusion, right?). I have a few people saying yes and a lot saying no, but this isn't a vote. That's not to say I don't value your help, DreamAtelier, but I could quote any number of people who vehemently argued to the contrary (and any number of people who agree with you as well), and neither argument managed to convince me fully.

That's why I'm hoping for some kind of official, yes or no clarification. If there were a dedicated rules helpdesk I'd ask there but I didn't find one, and I understand Paizo's customer service contacts are there to handle sales issues rather than content support. And though they provide email addresses of the designers, I don't want to be that obnoxious guy who spams them for his own (relatively unimportant, in the grand scheme of things) litte rules question. Still, I would really appreciate it if someone from Paizo would be so kind as to clarify this one for me.

By the way, it's a bit larger that just Shadow Evocation. You have the same language in Shadow Conjuration and the Greater versions, obviously, but also Wish and Miracle; and for people playing Shadowcraft Mages, the answer to my question could change everything.

I can make a DM call, I can make a houserule; but I want to be sure I understand the actual rules before I do any of that. For this, I think my best bet at this point is an official clarification. :)


Yeah, I don`t know what your chances for `official` response is...

But I would say: Shadow Evocation is itself Illusion, right?
The only thing the targets are being affected by is Illusion magic, and no other school, right?
So why wouldn`t the Illusion-based DC apply? Unless a spell is EXTREMELY, UTTERLY specific that some general spell-casting mechanic doesn`t apply, I would not remove something like the School-dependent DC bonus. The spell wording never says the Save is based on the `emulated` school, so again, if something isn`t changed: you default to the standard rule. The exact quote is:
the save DC is set according to shadow evocation's level (5th) rather than the spell's normal level.
...and I would say it`s pretty clear that the ONLY thing discussed there is the spell level component of the DC, i.e. instead of the emulated spell`s actual level. The other spell isn`t actually happening, and it`s School is never evoked (just it`s EFFECT), it`s just that Shadow Evocation gives you 2 saves: 1 Will to dis-believe, and 1 to reduce `the normal effect of the spell`, both Saves are from an Illusion school spell. It doesn`t even further discuss the `emulated spell`s` Saving Throw in other detail, so I don`t see any reason to pull in qualities of a `school`. Your paraphrasing `sets the DC to that of a regular fireball` is NOT accurate per the rules: it never states the DC is what that spell would NORMALLY be if you cast it, it ONLY is talking about using the spell level. The type of Save (Reflex, Fort, Will if that exists for a damaging Evocation) is presumably part and parcel of the effect of the spell, but nothing in the RAW would make me say `I shouldn`t apply Spell Focus: Illusion, but should apply Spell Focus: Evocation if I have it`.


I hate to bring out this debate here too... It got a bit heated elsewhere. :/

"Regardless of the result of the save to disbelieve, an affected creature is also allowed any save (or spell resistance) that the spell being simulated allows"

What save does a fireball allow? Reflex, DC 10+int+level(3)+whatever other bonuses that clearly don't normally include SF:Illusion. The subsequent text specifies that for the level, you'll be using 5 instead of 3. Okay, so 10+int+5+other stuff that still doesn't include SF:Illusion.

Save DCs can't be dissociated from the save type. It's not like a DM ever says "Roll me a reflex save" "What DC?" "Eh, who cares, whatever." You roll a save against a DC, or you don't roll a save at all. So when a spell tells me I'd get the same save that I would for the spell I'm simulating, I really see no reason that wouldn't includes the DC.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Short answer Yes.

Long answer: No matter what spell you are emulating with Shadow Evocation, ultimately it is a spell with the Illusion [Shadow] Descriptor. Spell Focus Illusion definitely increases the spell's Save DC. No matter what save the emulated spell calls for. All a "Spell Focus" feat needs to know is the school of the spell written in the school line.


First of all, of course they can be disassociated.
I found your example wierd in that most players never know the DCs of Saves they must make.

But it any case, (repeating myself now) the spell DOESN`T tell you to use the same save as the spell it`s simulating... That`s your own invention.
It only replicates the effect and allows any Save the spell allows.
Saving Throws themselves don`t have Magic Schools, SPELLS do. The simulated spell is not actually invoked here.
If somebody has immunity to Illusion, it applies to the whole of Shadow Evocation. If they have immunity to Evocation, it doesn`t apply at all because no Evocation is involved.
The Saving Throw allowed by the simulated Evocation spell would be a `standard` save specifying Reflex/Fort/Will, and fitting into the normal rules, it`s DC is based on Spell Level and Caster Stat. There DO exist Feats and Class Abilities modifying this, BUT ONLY WHEN ACTUALLY CASTING THE SPELL... That isn`t happening in this case, as only the EFFECT with accompanying Saving Throw is being invoked... Just like if you had a damage bonus to Evocation spells you cast, which also wouldn`t apply to Shadow Evocation since the Evocation spell isn`t actually being cast. Even if an environmental effect would modify Evocation spells, there is no real Evocation going on, and Shadow Evocation only replecates the stated effect and associated Save, it doesn`t `adapt` the Save to how it would be modified IF it were actually cast in current conditions.

Since this 2nd Save IS part of the Shadow Evocation spell, and the whole spell is Illusion:Shadow, the 2nd Save would also be affected by any applicable bonuses to Illusion:Shadow spell casting. If there was any part of the spell that was not Illusion:Shadow, the spell would need to explicitly point that out... And I`m pretty sure Paizo has explicitly ruled out doing split-school spells. Besides, given it has 2 saves, it`s beneficial for most characters to use one school focus... The only people not would be munchkins playing min-maxed Evokers who pick this spell up so they don`t actually have to learn all the Evocation spells, and can instead be an uber-pseudo-spontaneous Evoker without spells known worries. Yuck.


Welcome dont take this the wrong way did you fail a save vs this spell and only missed by like 1 or 2 and then found out it had SF Illusion?


No. I have a player who runs a Shadowcraft Mage and I'd really like to know whether he gets that +6 DC or not. I can, and will, make a DM call about this as soon as I know how it's supposed to work by RAW in the first place.

If the spell is an Illusion spell, if the DC is the regular DC you'd expect from Shadow Evocation, then why in blazes does the text go on to specify that you use Shadown Evocation's level rather than the base spell's? Why just the level? Why specifically single out the level and leave out the rest? At best it's terrible editing, at worst it's a gray area that needs to be clarified. Hence my asking for someone from Paizo to give me a hand here. :)


What that means is that your fireball is treated as if its a 5th level spell not a 3rd level.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
welcome wrote:

No. I have a player who runs a Shadowcraft Mage and I'd really like to know whether he gets that +6 DC or not. I can, and will, make a DM call about this as soon as I know how it's supposed to work by RAW in the first place.

If the spell is an Illusion spell, if the DC is the regular DC you'd expect from Shadow Evocation, then why in blazes does the text go on to specify that you use Shadown Evocation's level rather than the base spell's? Why just the level? Why specifically single out the level and leave out the rest? At best it's terrible editing, at worst it's a gray area that needs to be clarified. Hence my asking for someone from Paizo to give me a hand here. :)

They call it out to make it clear that if you are emulating a Fireball (3rd level), you calculate the Save DC of the Reflex Save using the Shadow Evocation (4th level).

I'm not really seeing what the confusion is.

If a 9th level Illusionist with 19 Int with "Spell Focus: Illusion" casts Fireball then the Reflex DC is 17. If the same spell-caster in his next turn casts "Shadow Evocation" emulating a Fireball then the Reflex Save is 20 (10 + 5 for Shadow Evocation's Level + 1 for Spell Focus: Illusion). The Creature also gets to make a Will Save at DC 20 if successful the damage is reduced to 20%.

It really can't get clearer than that. No matter what spell you are emulating it uses Shadow Evocation's Level, and because the spell is an Illusion spell any feat you have that modifies Illusion spells can be applied to all saves related to Shadow Evocation.


I thought about this for a bit and determined that Spell Focus (illusion) would need to apply.

From a pure logical viewpoint, if you were to cast a shadow evocation (fireball) at an enemy, would your Spell focus (evocation) apply? Certainly not, as you have not cast an evocation spell. Therefore, spell focus (illusion) must apply.


The only thing about saves emulated from the original spell is that the save is happening in the first place.
So a Shadow Evocation Fireball gets it's reflex save to avoid 50% damage.

But then it says it uses the Shadow Evocation level instead of the fireballs. Why is that, think about it? Because it's not a real fireball. It's an illusion of a fireball. The level of SE is used because it's not an actual fireball, so all things that apply to Illusion spells apply as well.

So if you have someone specialising in shadow or illusion magic, yeah that's a pretty neat spell for them. On the other hand they are pretty specialised AND that spell gets 2 saves or more (one to disbelieve, which pretty much ruins it and the normal ones for the emulated spell).

I mean most people in this thread have said that, and yet still you don't want it. Than disallow it in your game, you're the DM, but be prepared for a pissed player, because you just took away his classfeatures.


Allia Thren wrote:
But then it says it uses the Shadow Evocation level instead of the fireballs. Why is that, think about it? Because it's not a real fireball. It's an illusion of a fireball. The level of SE is used because it's not an actual fireball, so all things that apply to Illusion spells apply as well.

That's kind of my entire point. I would have been fine if they said "Use Shadow Evocation's DC for the secondary save as well." I would have been fine if they said nothing at all, in fact. But they specifically instruct to use Shadow Evocation's level. Just the level, nothing else. Seriously, doesn't that give pause to anyone else? I want to know if it's just a convoluted way of stating something that could have been said better and with less words, or if it is actually supposed to mean something.

Once again, I appreciate the effort but clearly I'm having trouble conveying the exact part that makes my brain hurt and this isn't getting us anywhere. Perhaps I'm properly stupid, for which I profusely apologize, but since apparently nothing I read will convince me, I'm just hoping that one of the people from Paizo will have the kindness to pop in here and use their almighty finger to type the two or three letters of 'yes' or 'no', and put my (slightly obsessive, apparently) mind to rest.


your just over thinking it bro trust us we all can't be wrong can we?


welcome wrote:


That's kind of my entire point. I would have been fine if they said "Use Shadow Evocation's DC for the secondary save as well."

I would have been fine if they said nothing at all, in fact. But they specifically instruct to use Shadow Evocation's level. Just the level, nothing else. Seriously, doesn't that give pause to anyone else?

The rules state that if you take Spell Focus, you get +1 to the DC of saving throws for spells cast from the school selected.

Here's the rule of thumb: The rules do not need to tell you that something isn't an exception to an existing rule, they need to tell you if it is.

The spell does not require a statement that it is not an exception to the existing rules for Spell Focus. Doing so is redundant.

However, if the spell was an exception to the rule (spell focus (illusion) did not add to the DC to the second save despite the spell being an illusion spell), then that would need to be stated specifically.

No need for pause.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shadow Evocation and Spell Focus: Illusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions