Reach Weapon Versus an Adjacent Huge Enemy


Rules Questions

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 8

While I was working on my own little projects, I came upon a curious thought exercise.

If we consider distance in three dimensions, what is stopping a character armed with a reach weapon from attacking an adjacent huge creature by targeting a square two spaces in the air?

It seems to me as if this should logically work, but I might be missing a rule that would not allow this to occur.

Any thoughts?


Tolroy wrote:

While I was working on my own little projects, I came upon a curious thought exercise.

If we consider distance in three dimensions, what is stopping a character armed with a reach weapon from attacking an adjacent huge creature by targeting a square two spaces in the air?

It seems to me as if this should logically work, but I might be missing a rule that would not allow this to occur.

Any thoughts?

Reach Weapons: Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren't adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder's natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack [b]a creature

15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

You can't attack a square with a reach weapon you attack a creature. The creature is adjacent to you even though it also occupies squares that are not adjacent to you.

Nice try though.


BigNorseWolf wrote:


You can't attack a square with a reach weapon you attack a creature. The creature is adjacent to you even though it also occupies squares that are not adjacent to you.

Nice try though.

Actually you can attack a square.. that's what you do when you can't see after all.

Also we have a few sections dealing with creatures that occupy more than one square:

Quote:

Big Creatures and Cover

Any creature with a space larger than 5 feet (1 square) determines cover against melee attacks slightly differently than smaller creatures do. Such a creature can choose any square that it occupies to determine if an opponent has cover against its melee attacks. Similarly, when making a melee attack against such a creature, you can pick any of the squares it occupies to determine if it has cover against you.

If such a creature performed a distracting act, say picking up a weapon in a square that you threatened.. then you could make an AOO against them. Again this supports that you can attack such a creature.

Further when we look at firing into melee:

Quote:
If your target (or the part of your target you're aiming at, if it's a big target) is at least 10 feet away from the nearest friendly character, you can avoid the –4 penalty, even if the creature you're aiming at is engaged in melee with a friendly character.

Again it sure seems like we can aim at squares here.

-James

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Duplicate thread. Go here please..

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach Weapon Versus an Adjacent Huge Enemy All Messageboards
Recent threads in Rules Questions