Sorcerers with spell books


Rules Questions


if you multiclass sorceror with wizard can you cast spells in your spellbook spontaniously as a sorceror? You know the spell and it is on the sorcerors spell list so why not?

I am pretty positive I just can't find a rule but I'll ask anyway.


No doesn´t work that way. The classes are still separate.


Banpai is correct. You must still track the spells separately. Other classes the share spells also don't get any special benefit.

PS:There was a 3.5 prestige class that allowed you to advance in both class, but still not share spells. I think it was in the Complete Mage.


I completely believe both of you and am quite sure something forbids this I am just not sure what that something is.


Shadow_of_death wrote:
I completely believe both of you and am quite sure something forbids this I am just not sure what that something is.

Your sorcerer actually has his spell list in his head. He more or less commands the magic. The wizard's spells are in the book. He has to study the incantation every morning, and then the magic leaves him. There is no crossover. The rules also don't allow it.

From a fluff/flavor point of view spontaneous casters have an innate knowledge of certain spells that allow them to cast without having to study or pray.


wraithstrike wrote:
Shadow_of_death wrote:
I completely believe both of you and am quite sure something forbids this I am just not sure what that something is.

Your sorcerer actually has his spell list in his head. He more or less commands the magic. The wizard's spells are in the book. He has to study the incantation every morning, and then the magic leaves him. There is no crossover. The rules also don't allow it.

From a fluff/flavor point of view spontaneous casters have an innate knowledge of certain spells that allow them to cast without having to study or pray.

The way I thought about it when I played a sorcerer/wizard, was that the sorcerer spells were the ones that she knew so well, she could cast them at any time, as long as she had the "manna" available for them. The wizard spells were spells that she didn't know so well, and had to refer to the spell book to cast them.

Note: 3rd Edition fluff says that prepared spells are actually cast when the wizard prepares them, but that the final words and gestures are withheld until she is ready for the spell to actually take effect.

Shadow Lodge

Utgardloki wrote:
Note: 3rd Edition fluff says that prepared spells are actually cast when the wizard prepares them, but that the final words and gestures are withheld until she is ready for the spell to actually take effect.

In which case, they have to be cast out of the book because the writing itself holds the power. The Wizard is merely a channel for it to manifest.


Utgardloki wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Shadow_of_death wrote:
I completely believe both of you and am quite sure something forbids this I am just not sure what that something is.

Your sorcerer actually has his spell list in his head. He more or less commands the magic. The wizard's spells are in the book. He has to study the incantation every morning, and then the magic leaves him. There is no crossover. The rules also don't allow it.

From a fluff/flavor point of view spontaneous casters have an innate knowledge of certain spells that allow them to cast without having to study or pray.

The way I thought about it when I played a sorcerer/wizard, was that the sorcerer spells were the ones that she knew so well, she could cast them at any time, as long as she had the "manna" available for them. The wizard spells were spells that she didn't know so well, and had to refer to the spell book to cast them.

Note: 3rd Edition fluff says that prepared spells are actually cast when the wizard prepares them, but that the final words and gestures are withheld until she is ready for the spell to actually take effect.

My flavor-->For a wizard I always looked as it has he partially cast the spells when he studies them that morning. When he is ready to unleash the spell he cast the rest of it. By casting the spell that morning he imbues himself with a certain amount of power. Once he cast the spell that power goes away. That is why he he can cast spell A 3 times as an example, since he only prepped for that spell 3 times.

Sorcerers don't have to prep. They have the power to cast _____ many spells, but they must know the spell completely, none of this memorizing stuff, and since knowing the spell and studying the spell are not empowering you in the same way there is no cross over.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sorcerers with spell books All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions