Question about touch spells


Rules Questions


When you use a spell that grants you a free melee touch attack (shocking grasp, cure and inflict spells etc.) and you fail that touch attack, do you "hold" the charge of the spell (can you re-try touching it next turn) or not? and why?
Example:
Mr. Cleric casts inflict light wounds and tries to touch adjacent bad guy but misses. Can he try to touch again at the next turn or does Mr. Cleric has to cast the spell again?


leo1925 wrote:

When you use a spell that grants you a free melee touch attack (shocking grasp, cure and inflict spells etc.) and you fail that touch attack, do you "hold" the charge of the spell (can you re-try touching it next turn) or not? and why?

Example:
Mr. Cleric casts inflict light wounds and tries to touch adjacent bad guy but misses. Can he try to touch again at the next turn or does Mr. Cleric has to cast the spell again?

As I understand it you can try to touch the opponent the next turn but if you touch anything else the spell is discharged.

Also, I don't think you can cast another touch spell without first getting rid of the existing charge.


leo1925 wrote:
Mr. Cleric casts inflict light wounds and tries to touch adjacent bad guy but misses. Can he try to touch again at the next turn or does Mr. Cleric has to cast the spell again?

He doesn't need to cast again and can keep trying touch attacks forever.

Pathfinder Core Rulebook (p. 216)

Quote:
In most cases, if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.


Thank you all.
I re-read the core book also and found the answer.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about touch spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.