Can your shield be your holy symbol?


Rules Questions


I mean, why not? There's certainly no shortage of fantasy artwork with shield stylized into various symbols. Heck, even just painting it on like those English guys with the cross (History check = Nat 1).

It doesn't seem like it'd be too much of a stretch to get a masterwork shield stylized as a holy symbol then get it coscecrated.

Having the Cleric better able to manage weapons/spell components is just icing on the cake.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:

I mean, why not? There's certainly no shortage of fantasy artwork with shield stylized into various symbols. Heck, even just painting it on like those English guys with the cross (History check = Nat 1).

It doesn't seem like it'd be too much of a stretch to get a masterwork shield stylized as a holy symbol then get it coscecrated.

Having the Cleric better able to manage weapons/spell components is just icing on the cake.

I'd tack on the cost of a regular holy symbol as an extra cost for the shield and probably only allow it for martial-oriented deities (more peaceful ones would not be amused), but I'd approve it under those circumstances.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

If you can find a copy of Dungeonscape, there are rules in the book for consecrated weapons and armor that act as divine foci for spells. I think it was around 50-150gp for the process to be applied, but I don't have my copy on me.

As an aside, I've seen some players try to get away with tattoos and brands depicting their holy symbols. Some GMs allow it, others don't. If I ever did, the symbol would definitely have to be on a highly visible place on the body.


I'm nearly positive that there was an article in Dragon that covered this very topic. I've never been able to come up with the issue number. I'd love it if someone here could remember.

Anyway on topic, I think this is great flavor. I have a cleric in my current campaign that's using an engraved holy relic (weapon) as her holy symbol.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber

I would definitely say yes. A shield or sword can be sundered or disarmed just like a holy symbol, so it should be just fine.

I would add the holy symbol cost to the item's cost.


For an extra 100gp, you can get your shield Sanctified and do just this, in addition to another trick.

Sanctified Shielda and Consecrated Weapons are in the Adventurer's Armory.


Or just take the Birthmark trait from the APG. It also nets you a bonus against charm and compulsion effects.

Grand Lodge

TwoWolves wrote:


For an extra 100gp, you can get your shield Sanctified and do just this, in addition to another trick.

Sanctified Shielda and Consecrated Weapons are in the Adventurer's Armory.

These would make COOL items for low magic games... given that these are made to be holy relics (assuming these are made by the church) adding in Masterwork + Sanctified to the price can make a 500gp+ weapon, which is pretty nifty.

Shadow Lodge

This really needs to be in the core book, it comes up so often.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can your shield be your holy symbol? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.