One Handed Weapons wielded with Two Hands


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

This should be an easy answer, but had problems finding it in the rules.

Can any One Handed weapon be wielded two-handed to get the extra Str Bonus?

It is only mentioned once where I could find it and that is in Power Attack, but I know some weapons mention they can be wielded either way, so I am unsure if that is only for those Situations.


read the STR modifier to DMG section in the COmbat Chapter.
The only weapon class that matters for the 2Handed bonus is Light Weapons (which can´t benefit from the 2H modifier).

---------------------------------------------------

Strength Bonus: When you hit with a melee or thrown weapon, including a sling, add your Strength modifier to the damage result. A Strength penalty, but not a bonus, applies on damage rolls made with a bow that is not a composite bow.

Off-Hand Weapon: When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus. If you have a Strength penalty, the entire penalty applies.

Wielding a Weapon Two-Handed: When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus (Strength penalties are not multiplied). You don't get this higher Strength bonus, however, when using a light weapon with two hands.


Also look in the equipment section.

PRD wrote:

Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons: This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon's size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.

Light: A light weapon is used in one hand. It is easier to use in one's off hand than a one-handed weapon is, and can be used while grappling (see Combat). Add the wielder's Strength modifier to damage rolls for melee attacks with a light weapon if it's used in the primary hand, or half the wielder's Strength bonus if it's used in the off hand. Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage; the Strength bonus applies as though the weapon were held in the wielder's primary hand only.

An unarmed strike is always considered a light weapon.

One-Handed: A one-handed weapon can be used in either the primary hand or the off hand. Add the wielder's Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with a one-handed weapon if it's used in the primary hand, or 1/2 his Strength bonus if it's used in the off hand. If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls.

Two-Handed: Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively. Apply 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon.

*Relevant text bolded.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
pres man wrote:
stuff

Thanks Pres Man, I was searching for the wrong thing in my text search.


As far as I know, the rapier is the only non-light weapon that cannot be wielded with two hands.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mahorfeus wrote:
As far as I know, the rapier is the only non-light weapon that cannot be wielded with two hands.

Technically, you CAN wield it two-handed, you just don't get the x1.5 strength increase to damage for doing so.


Ravingdork wrote:
Mahorfeus wrote:
As far as I know, the rapier is the only non-light weapon that cannot be wielded with two hands.
Technically, you CAN wield it two-handed, you just don't get the x1.5 strength increase to damage for doing so.

and you look stupid while doing so.


so, i know i am resurrecting an old thrread here, but my current build requires this knowledge, it is decided here, that a light weapon CAN be wielded in 2 hands? Would this include the kinetist blade? I am making a weapon finnese based elemental annihilator and want to know if i can use my blade with two hands or not.


Evilserran wrote:
so, i know i am resurrecting an old thrread here, but my current build requires this knowledge, it is decided here, that a light weapon CAN be wielded in 2 hands? Would this include the kinetist blade? I am making a weapon finnese based elemental annihilator and want to know if i can use my blade with two hands or not.

Light weapons can be wielded in 2 hands, but you get no additional benefit from it. It still deals damage as if only used one handed.

Quote:
Light: A light weapon is used in one hand. It is easier to use in one's off hand than a one-handed weapon is, and can be used while grappling (see Combat). Add the wielder's Strength modifier to damage rolls for melee attacks with a light weapon if it's used in the primary hand, or half the wielder's Strength bonus if it's used in the off hand. Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage; the Strength bonus applies as though the weapon were held in the wielder's primary hand only.

Though the onle reference I can find for kinetic blade specifically says you don't add your strength modifier to the damage, o wielding it one or two handed wouldn't seem to matter.

Quote:

You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a nonreach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter. (If you're a telekineticist, you instead transfer the power of your kinetic blast to any object held in one hand.) The kinetic blade's shape is purely cosmetic and doesn't affect the damage dice, critical threat range, or critical multiplier of the kinetic blade, nor does it grant the kinetic blade any weapon special features. The object held by a telekineticist for this form infusion doesn't prevent her from using gather power.

You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. Since it's part of another action (and isn't an action itself), using this wild talent doesn't provoke any additional attacks of opportunity. The kinetic blade deals your kinetic blast damage on each hit (applying any modifiers to your kinetic blast's damage as normal, but not your Strength modifier). The blade disappears at the end of your turn. The weapon deals the same damage type that your kinetic blast deals, and it interacts with Armor Class and spell resistance as normal for a blast of its type. Even if a telekineticist uses this power on a magic weapon or another unusual object, the attack doesn't use any of the magic weapon's bonuses or effects and simply deals the telekineticist's blast damage. The kinetic blade doesn't add the damage bonus from elemental overflow.

So yes you can wield it 2 handed, but you aren't applying any of your strength modifier in any case. Unless there is a separate ability somewhere that allows it.


ok, so i assume even though the added damage comes from constitution and not strength, same ruling would apply, thanks.


Evilserran wrote:
ok, so i assume even though the added damage comes from constitution and not strength, same ruling would apply, thanks.

Yes, but only because the ability specifically says so.

Quote:
When making a melee attack with devastating infusion, the elemental annihilator doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, and if she uses two hands, the attack's damage is equal to 1d8 + 1-1/2 times her Constitution modifier.

Normally, wielding a weapon in two hands only increases your Strength bonus, not any other ability score bonus that might be added. So an ability would have to specifically state you increase another ability modifier, in this case Constitution, for it to work.


Hey guys! I have a separate question that also deals with wielding one-handed weapons with both hands.

Does wielding a one-handed weapon in both hands satisfy the requirements for two-handed weapon feats? The feats that I'm specifically interested in applying this to are Pushing Assault and Shield of Swings.

I'm trying to figure out the combat style for my Aquaman-skinned ranger; I hadn't planned on using any weapon other than a trident, which is one-handed. The war trident is two-handed, but as far as I know, not PFS legal or even obtainable.

Thanks!

Jim


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Shield of Swings says "When you take a full-attack action while wielding a two-handed weapon, ...". The weapon MUST be a two-handed weapon. Now if it had said "while wielding a weapon in two hands" then you'd be good.

Pushing Assault says "When you hit a creature your size or smaller with a two-handed weapon attack ...". This is less clear. However, since the "fluff" says "A strike made with a two-handed weapon can push a similar sized opponent backward." it's fairly obvious that the intent is that a two-handed weapon is meant.

Scarab Sages

For comparison, power attack explicitly states when wielding a two handed weapon or a one handed weapon wielded in two hands for the bonus damage. If a feat doesn't say one-handed with two hands, then it applies to two handed weapons only.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Remember that you can take an Oversized one-handed weapon, which becomes a two-handed weapon. So for power attack and such, just get a bigger version of that weapon.

Downside is that the oversized weapon could only be used in two hands (and a -2 penalty to attack).

I've had good results with Large Morningstars on medium characters.


Let's re-resurrect this. Does a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands negate effects that require you to use a one-handed weapon?

For instance, swashbucklers regaining panache need a kill with a one-handed piercing weapon. If you wielded a one-handed piercing weapon in two hands, would it no longer qualify for swashbuckler class abilities?


Sounds legit, as long as the ability does not prohibit wielding a weapon in your other hand (precise strike does, I seem to recall that some others do, but not sure right now).


Yeah, many abilities specify having a free hand or not having a weapon in the other hand, so it would depend specifically on how the ability is worded.


As an example, weapon finesse in the core book requires the weapon be
"made for a creature of your size category" so it wouldn't work with an oversized weapon. Making an oversized weapon probably useless for most swashbucklers.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / One Handed Weapons wielded with Two Hands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions