Assume Control vs Eidolon?


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Alright, I just got my Inner Sea Primer, and in it there is the 'Infernal Binder' (a wizard archetype). The infernal binder has an ability called 'Assume Control' which lets him take over a summoned creature from its caster by simply making a caster level check. The original summoner can then make caster checks back as a standard action to regain control.

Can this ability be used on an Eidolon? I'm asking because I'm playing a campaign with a summoner in Cheliax and I don't think things are going to be pretty if every wizard in we run into has this ability XD


I would rule that the same thing that keeps the Eidolon from benefiting from Improved Summoning would also prevent this spell from working. That is to say- they aren't actually a summon. They are a special creature who is there to assist you who doesn't adhere to any of the usual "summon" creature rules.

a Summoned creature is one using the Summon monster spell. (so if the summoner used the summon SLA, that would be susceptible to that ability).

Just my .02.

note. improved summoning?.. my brain isn't working.. whatever that stat booster feat for summons is.. hmm.

-S

Silver Crusade

Matrixryu wrote:

Alright, I just got my Inner Sea Primer, and in it there is the 'Infernal Binder' (a wizard archetype). The infernal binder has an ability called 'Assume Control' which lets him take over a summoned creature from its caster by simply making a caster level check. The original summoner can then make caster checks back as a standard action to regain control.

Can this ability be used on an Eidolon? I'm asking because I'm playing a campaign with a summoner in Cheliax and I don't think things are going to be pretty if every wizard in we run into has this ability XD

Personally, I'd say the tight link between Summoners and their Eidolons trumps the spell. Otherwise their primary class feature becomes painfully and potentiall catastrophically vulnerable to that wizard type.

Normal summons, yeah, but Eidolons, what with being born from the Summoner's will(or however the individual player wishes to fluff it), should be in a different class.

Silver Crusade

Selgard wrote:

I would rule that the same thing that keeps the Eidolon from benefiting from Improved Summoning would also prevent this spell from working. That is to say- they aren't actually a summon. They are a special creature who is there to assist you who doesn't adhere to any of the usual "summon" creature rules.

a Summoned creature is one using the Summon monster spell. (so if the summoner used the summon SLA, that would be susceptible to that ability).

Just my .02.

note. improved summoning?.. my brain isn't working.. whatever that stat booster feat for summons is.. hmm.

-S

Dude I just sat next to a summoner player that summoned all day hard and fast and I'm even more blurry over what does exactly what for that class. ;D

(saved our hides though!)

Scarab Sages

Selgard wrote:

note. improved summoning?.. my brain isn't working.. whatever that stat booster feat for summons is.. hmm.

-S

Augment Summoning?

And I agree.
The Eidolon is not a valid target for this ability, for the same reasons they can't be Augmented via the above feat, and aren't repulsed by Protection from [Alignment] spells.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

If the Eidolon was there due to the class feature... I'd probably have to side with the majority, and say it is off limits.

If however the Summoner has brought it in via the 2nd level Summon Eidolon spell, that might well be a different matter.


Oni_NZ wrote:

If the Eidolon was there due to the class feature... I'd probably have to side with the majority, and say it is off limits.

If however the Summoner has brought it in via the 2nd level Summon Eidolon spell, that might well be a different matter.

+1


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Oni_NZ wrote:

If the Eidolon was there due to the class feature... I'd probably have to side with the majority, and say it is off limits.

If however the Summoner has brought it in via the 2nd level Summon Eidolon spell, that might well be a different matter.

Honestly, I'm not sure if Assume Control should even work if the Eidolon was summoned by Summon Eidolon since several abilities such as Life Link are still active. What happens to Life Link if someone 'Assumes Control' of the Eidolon? Does the Summoner and Eidolon still share health even though someone else took over their link?

Heck, you can apply this to every summoner ability... Shield Ally, Life Bond, Maker's Call. What happens if you use Merge Forms while someone has assumed control of your Eidolon? Though, now that I think about it, you have to wonder if some of these abilities still work if the eidolon simply has Dominate Monster cast on it. XD


I can't imagine how high I would make a DC for someone to figure out that someone's eidolon was spell summoned instead of "normally summoned". Its just not something you can look at them and see- unless you were to actually witness him summoning it. "hmm 6 seconds instead of 10 minutes.. -steals it-"

-S

Liberty's Edge

Selgard wrote:

I can't imagine how high I would make a DC for someone to figure out that someone's eidolon was spell summoned instead of "normally summoned". Its just not something you can look at them and see- unless you were to actually witness him summoning it. "hmm 6 seconds instead of 10 minutes.. -steals it-"

-S

Get off me lucky monkey!

Bite him!
No! Not lick him!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Assume Control vs Eidolon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.