
FarmerBob |

i just want an example of how this would work.
Pretty straightforward. Say you have a 9th level wizard with the empower spell metamagic feat. Fireball is a 3rd level spell. To memorize an empowered fireball, it occupies a 5th level slot instead. It is still considered a 3rd level spell though, so the DC is still (DC 13 + Int modifier). When you roll damage, you add another 50% to the total. In this case, an empowered fireball does 9d6 x 1.5 hp of fire damage.

Lord_Foul |

Lord_Foul wrote:i just want an example of how this would work.Pretty straightforward. Say you have a 9th level wizard with the empower spell metamagic feat. Fireball is a 3rd level spell. To memorize an empowered fireball, it occupies a 5th level slot instead. It is still considered a 3rd level spell though, so the DC is still (DC 13 + Int modifier). When you roll damage, you add another 50% to the total. In this case, an empowered fireball does 9d6 x 1.5 hp of fire damage.
to be clear you add 50% to the result of the 9d6 roll

concerro |

i have seen and used it in my own games that it is adding 50% more damage dice. so if doing 10d6 normaly and empowered spell would be doing 15d5. and that those dice cant be maximised from maximise spell.
When you use maximize and empower together you roll 10d6 and multiply the result x 1.5, then you roll 10d6 again and divide by 2.
If you were just stating a houserule then never mind my post.
![]() |

pavaan wrote:i have seen and used it in my own games that it is adding 50% more damage dice. so if doing 10d6 normaly and empowered spell would be doing 15d5. and that those dice cant be maximised from maximise spell.When you use maximize and empower together you roll 10d6 and multiply the result x 1.5, then you roll 10d6 again and divide by 2.
If you were just stating a houserule then never mind my post.
I don't think that this part is correct. I think you get MAX + 1/2 * roll when you use both. So a 10d6 fireball would do 60 + 10d6 / 2.

FarmerBob |

i have seen and used it in my own games that it is adding 50% more damage dice. so if doing 10d6 normaly and empowered spell would be doing 15d6. and that those dice cant be maximised from maximise spell.
That's no problem when the number of dice is even, but you'll short change the caster when it is odd. My preference is to always multiply the results, just to save time in counting things up.
Re: Empowered and Maximized
I had been playing that you just multiply the maximized result by 1.5 (eg, Maximized Empowered Fireball always does 90 points of damage), but that's clearly wrong.
An empowered, maximized spell gains the separate benefits of each feat: the maximum result plus half the normally rolled result.

concerro |

concerro wrote:I don't think that this part is correct. I think you get MAX + 1/2 * roll when you use both. So a 10d6 fireball would do 60 + 10d6 / 2.pavaan wrote:i have seen and used it in my own games that it is adding 50% more damage dice. so if doing 10d6 normaly and empowered spell would be doing 15d5. and that those dice cant be maximised from maximise spell.When you use maximize and empower together you roll 10d6 and multiply the result x 1.5, then you roll 10d6 again and divide by 2.
If you were just stating a houserule then never mind my post.
Sorry about that. What I was thinking and what I wanted to say come out entirely different.

stringburka |

to be clear you add 50% to the result of the 9d6 roll
The trick is to know where (if anywhere) on a spell it applies.
For example, on summons, the general consensus is that it only increases the number of summoned creatures (if you lower the level of summons); not hit points or damage of those creatures. So by spending a 4th level spell slot, you could cast a Summon Monster II to summon 1d3 x 1.5 monsters from the Summon Monsters I list. Grrrrreat -.-

Vasantasena |

I have a dumb question.
I was trying to empower a fireball (Im currently a level 9 Magus) and my DM told me I would only do 10d6 of damage because you can only do 10d6 of damage but as I'm reading its not the way it works can you guys clarify this for me please?
Option 1) roll 9d6 x 1.5
Or Option 2) Roll 9d6 + 4d6
Thanks!

Are |

I have a dumb question.
I was trying to empower a fireball (Im currently a level 9 Magus) and my DM told me I would only do 10d6 of damage because you can only do 10d6 of damage but as I'm reading its not the way it works can you guys clarify this for me please?
Option 1) roll 9d6 x 1.5
Or Option 2) Roll 9d6 + 4d6
Option 1 is correct. The "Empower Spell" feat adds 50% to the result of the fireball spell's damage roll.

wraithstrike |

And in my games you cannot empower a maximized fireball. Because there are no variables. You don't roll anything. You deal flat damage. Just like you can't empower harm for instance.
Why are you restricting a suboptimal choice? When you combine maximize and empower you get the 100% from maximize then roll 10d6 and take half. That is definitely not worth 5 slots for an average of about 80 point of damage before saves and and resistance comes into play.
PRD:An empowered, maximized spell gains the separate benefits of each feat: the maximum result plus half the normally rolled result.
PS:Many people are under the impress that the 60 gets multiplied by 1.5. It is a commonly misinterpreted rule. I was just making sure you were aware of it.