
![]() |
4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

![]() |

FAQ QUESTION:
When you channel energy into your weapon using Channel Smite to activate the grayflame magical weapon property, does the grayflame property REPLACE the normal Channel Smite damage, or is it in addition to it?
Neither, or both, depending on your perspective.
As a swift action you can 1) turn on your grayflame weapon, or 2) Channel Smite. If you do 'em in that order, you get both benefits on the smite attack.

![]() |

Jason Nelson wrote:FAQ QUESTION:
When you channel energy into your weapon using Channel Smite to activate the grayflame magical weapon property, does the grayflame property REPLACE the normal Channel Smite damage, or is it in addition to it?
Neither, or both, depending on your perspective.
As a swift action you can 1) turn on your grayflame weapon, or 2) Channel Smite. If you do 'em in that order, you get both benefits on the smite attack.
You only get 1 swift action per round, so if they're both swift actions you can't do both.
Also, even if you can do both in one round as part of the SAME swift action, does it count as 1 use of channel energy or 2 (paying separately for "turn on GF" and "channel smite")?

![]() |

Allow me to rephrase.
In any given round you can spend a swift action to either 1) activate your grayflame weapn or 2) use your Channel Smite feat.
If you first activate your grayflame weapon, then on the following round perform a Channel Smite, you gain the benefits of both.
(I'm not certain, but I'm reasonably sure, you could do both in the same round if you use a move action instead of a swift action to Channel Smite, but I wasn't insinuating both happen in the same round and I certainly didn't mean to indicate they were part of the same swift action.)
Edit: What Sean said.

![]() |

I know 4th Ed allows "trading down" your actions for other actions "standard > move > minor" but I don't believe that is true for Pathfinder.
I think if it's a swift action then you have to use a swift action to initiate it; I don't think you can use a move for it instead.
But yeah, once the grayflame is going, you can go nuts doing channel smite til you run out.

![]() |

... but I don't believe that is true for Pathfinder.
I'm not advocating one direction or another, but since you can always use a move action as a standard action, it stands to reason the same is true of swift actions into move actions. The rules certainly don't address this issue, so to each his own.

Carpy DM |

Jason Nelson wrote:... but I don't believe that is true for Pathfinder.I'm not advocating one direction or another, but since you can always use a move action as a standard action, it stands to reason the same is true of swift actions into move actions. The rules certainly don't address this issue, so to each his own.
They really do address the issue, man. The rules specifically allow you to replace a standard action with a second move action in a round; no such replacement is mentioned for swift actions, so you can't do it. It's a perfectly fine houserule, but it is not RAW by any stretch.

![]() |

Jason Nelson wrote:... but I don't believe that is true for Pathfinder.I'm not advocating one direction or another, but since you can always use a move action as a standard action, it stands to reason the same is true of swift actions into move actions. The rules certainly don't address this issue, so to each his own.
I think they're pretty clear.
You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take.