Clarification of casting times.


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I feel dumb. Just need some quick clarification of casting in combat.

All spells are not full round actions, but still count as a full round action?

Does that mean I can't move, cast, and the have the effect go off at the end of the round? I thought a spell only was open to attack when you start casting it.

Before I get into a rule fight with players, just want to clarify the timing rules in the combat section of the main.

Shadow Lodge

Most spells have a casting time of "1 standard action", there are others (which I'll cover in a second), but the vast majority are "1 standard action". This means that the caster may expend their standard action to cast a spell just as a fighter may expend his standard action to swing his sword. In both cases, since players get one standard, and one move action each round, the player could move up to their base speed either before or after the spell is cast.

Now, a spontaneous caster applying a metamagic ability to a spell changes the casting time to a "full round action". In these cases, the player could not move any more than 5 feet (because a five-foot step is always permitted) before or after casting the spell. Their spell will go off at the very end of their action.

The next most common type of spell are those that read "1 round". This kind of spell goes off at the beginning of the player's next action. As such, they cannot move during their round (with the exception of the 5-foot step which is always allowed).

There are others, but those are the big ones.

Does that help?


There are several types of spells casting times. In every case you may need to cast defensively if you are threatened or risk getting hit with an AoO. Below are some specifics.

Swift Action - Once per round limit and can be done in a method of a free action. Damage as part of a ready attack action or Attack of Opportunity can force a concentration check.

Immediate Action - like a swift action but can be cast in response to something. (Aka Feather Fall). Damage as part of a ready attack action or Attack of Opportunity can force a concentration check.

Standard Action - most spells fall into this group. You can take a move action before or after casting the spell.

Full Round Action - You may take a 5' step before or after casting. Damage as part of a ready attack action or Attack of Opportunity can force a concentration check. Spell goes off on your turn before anyone else can go with the exception of a RA or AoO.

One Round Casting (or longer) - This spell has you casting for the full duration and will not go off until the casting time is over. If it is a one round spell then it goes of at the start of your next turn. Any damage between now and next turn can cause a concentration check.

Hope this helps.


Fixing a minor mistake:

MisterSlanky wrote:
Now, a sorcerer applying a metamagic ability to a spell changes the casting time to a "full round action". In these cases, the player could not move any more than 5 feet (because a five-foot step is always permitted) before or after casting the spell. Their spell will go off at the very end of their action.

Technically, that applies to any spontaneous caster (like sorcerers and bards). Not familiar enough with APG to know if it applies to any of those classes or not.

The rest was great info.

Shadow Lodge

DM_Blake wrote:

Fixing a minor mistake:

MisterSlanky wrote:
Now, a sorcerer applying a metamagic ability to a spell changes the casting time to a "full round action". In these cases, the player could not move any more than 5 feet (because a five-foot step is always permitted) before or after casting the spell. Their spell will go off at the very end of their action.
The rest was great info.

How about "we're both right" and I change it to "spontaneous caster" like I meant to?

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So the only window for someone to disrupt a spell (Force a Concentration check) is at the begining of casting via AoO, or if the spell is 1 round/full round action and getting to them before the round is up.

Correct? Thanks.

Shadow Lodge

TheLoneCleric wrote:

So the only window for someone to disrupt a spell (Force a Concentration check) is at the begining of casting via AoO, or if the spell is 1 round/full round action and getting to them before the round is up.

Correct? Thanks.

Almost.

The two instances you have identified both would force a concentration check. There are two other fairly common instances of being able disrupt a spell. The third instance would be if the caster were taking "ongoing damage" such as being on fire, or subject to a melf's acid arrow. The fourth is if somebody had readied an action to fire an arrow, shoot a spell, etc. at the caster once they started casting.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks. This jives with the wording in the Magic chapter. But the wording in the timing rules in the Combat chapter threw me for a loop, and I was making sure my 3.5-fu wasn't that wrong from Pathfinder logic.


TheLoneCleric wrote:

or if the spell is 1 round/full round action and getting to them before the round is up.

Remember that these are different.

Spells with a casting time of 1 full-round action happen during the caster's turn, so only AoOs and readied actions can disrupt them (plus ongoing effects).

Spells with a casting time of 1 round happen at the beginning of the caster's next turn, so all other characters get a turn before they go off.


Hmmm. Now, I was under the impression that even spells with a 1 round casting time could still only be disrupted during the caster's turn. Even tho the spell doesn't "go off" until the beginning of the caster's next turn, the casting part (and therefore the disrupt-able part) is completed on the caster's turn.


Mynameisjake wrote:
Hmmm. Now, I was under the impression that even spells with a 1 round casting time could still only be disrupted during the caster's turn. Even tho the spell doesn't "go off" until the beginning of the caster's next turn, the casting part (and therefore the disrupt-able part) is completed on the caster's turn.

No they are considered to be casting until the start of their next turn so they can be interupted at anytime during that period.


Kalyth wrote:
Mynameisjake wrote:
Hmmm. Now, I was under the impression that even spells with a 1 round casting time could still only be disrupted during the caster's turn. Even tho the spell doesn't "go off" until the beginning of the caster's next turn, the casting part (and therefore the disrupt-able part) is completed on the caster's turn.
No they are considered to be casting until the start of their next turn so they can be interupted at anytime during that period.

Yep yep!

Good idea to be invisible if you're surrounded by archers and planning so summon a demon to eat them. With Protection from Arrows or Stoneskin backing you up in case some of those archers guess right and shoot you anyway.


Huh. Good to know. Sure makes summoning difficult to pull off, tho. At least against intelligent opponents. Of course, given that a summoned creature affects the action economy, I guess it makes sense from a game balance perspective.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification of casting times. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions