
Dire Squirrel |
If a tiny creature is within your square, do you, with an adjacent ally, flank this creature?
A strict reading of the RAW would say "no" (since a line from the center of your square to your ally's square does not pass through two opposite sides of the creature's square), but I'd buy the argument that you are providing flanking by standing on one side (of your choice) of said creature.
How have others played this situation?

another_mage |

If a tiny creature is within your square, do you, with an adjacent ally, flank this creature?
A strict reading of the RAW would say "no" (since a line from the center of your square to your ally's square does not pass through two opposite sides of the creature's square), but I'd buy the argument that you are providing flanking by standing on one side (of your choice) of said creature.
How have others played this situation?
You can't end your turn in the same square as another creature.
Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
So that leaves only two possibilities:
1. You are helpless, and therefore cannot threaten, and therefore cannot flank.
Or:
2. You are attempting to get an Attack of Opportunity on the Tiny as it moves through your square.
Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
So, I would do this:
1. If the Tiny makes an Acrobatics check to move through an occupied square, it can avoid the AoO and thereby not be Flanked. (It moved through a gap that was not between you and your ally.)
2. If the Tiny fails the Acrobatics check or chooses not to make one, it takes the AoO with Flanking for the adjacent ally. (It moved directly between you and your ally.)
Exception: If you don't threaten your own square, perhaps because you a wielding a Reach weapon, then you don't threaten your own square, don't get the AoO, don't get the Flank, Do Not Pass Go, Do Not Collect 200gp.

Mauril |

Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures: Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can't reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent's square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can't flank an enemy.
Emphasis mine.
So creatures with natural reach of 0 feet have to enter other squares to attack. So they are an exception to the rule of "only enter an opponent's square if they are helpless".
Also, it notes that they can "be attacked normally". From this I would extrapolate that they can be flanked. How they can be flanked sort of requires some sort of quasi-facing rules. Namely indicating which portion of a square a smaller-than-small creature is currently in. This is probably best indicated by which side of the square the creature entered.

![]() |

Combat Section on Differently Sized Creatures wrote:Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures: Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can't reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent's square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can't flank an enemy.Emphasis mine.
So creatures with natural reach of 0 feet have to enter other squares to attack. So they are an exception to the rule of "only enter an opponent's square if they are helpless".
Also, it notes that they can "be attacked normally". From this I would extrapolate that they can be flanked. How they can be flanked sort of requires some sort of quasi-facing rules. Namely indicating which portion of a square a smaller-than-small creature is currently in. This is probably best indicated by which side of the square the creature entered.
THis is how I understand it as well and would adjudicate it as a DM.

Gray Eminence |
If a tiny creature is within your square, do you, with an adjacent ally, flank this creature?
A strict reading of the RAW would say "no" (since a line from the center of your square to your ally's square does not pass through two opposite sides of the creature's square), but I'd buy the argument that you are providing flanking by standing on one side (of your choice) of said creature.
How have others played this situation?
If you take RAW, than the answer is NO. If you take a real life example, the answer is also NO. Just think about a big hairy spider runnig between and around your legs, trying to bite your toe. Why would it be easier to hit this pesky spider just because you have an ally standing next to you?

Dire Squirrel |
If you take RAW, than the answer is NO. If you take a real life example, the answer is also NO. Just think about a big hairy spider runnig between and around your legs, trying to bite your toe. Why would it be easier to hit this pesky spider just because you have an ally standing next to you?
Hm. For some reason this makes a lot of sense. I'll stick with this unless my group complains.
another_mage: If Tiny creatures can't end their movement in another creature's square, then there's no possible way for them to attack unless they have Spring Attack and draw up to two AoOs, since they have a reach of 0ft. I, like Mauril, take this to mean that they must be able to end their movement in another creature's square.

calvinNhobbes |
If you take a real life example, the answer is also NO. Just think about a big hairy spider runnig between and around your legs, trying to bite your toe. Why would it be easier to hit this pesky spider just because you have an ally standing next to you?
By that logic, two huge giants should not be able to flank a medium sized PC, but that is obviously not the case.

Dire Squirrel |
By that logic, two huge giants should not be able to flank a medium sized PC, but that is obviously not the case.
I think you're misunderstanding the question. Of course two medium creatures can flank a tiny creature -- my question is what happens when that tiny creature is in the same square as one of the medium creatures. This is a situation which cannot happen with medium + huge (or medium + anything else for that matter). The argument that you cannot flank a creature which is underfoot makes sense here.

calvinNhobbes |
I think you're misunderstanding the question.
Nope, understand if perfectly.
Of course two medium creatures can flank a tiny creature -- my question is what happens when that tiny creature is in the same square as one of the medium creatures. This is a situation which cannot happen with medium + huge (or medium + anything else for that matter).
Actually, that is not true. Creatures three size categories difference can occupy the same space no matter what. Therefore, a medium PC can occupy the same space as a gargantuan creature. For creatures smaller than small, a difference of only two size categories is sufficient.
The argument that you cannot flank a creature which is underfoot makes sense here.
If you say so, you can just as easily come up with an explanation of why flanking would be allowed. Having to dodge around to avoid being squished should provide a bonus to an ally.
You can make that rule, but just be aware you will be allowing a small PC flanked by two huge creatures to simply tumble into the square of the huge creature to eliminate the flanking. Moreover, what if the huge creature is an ally, would the small creature be immune to flanking by other enemies? By your logic, it should be.

another_mage |

If you take RAW, than the answer is NO. If you take a real life example, the answer is also NO. Just think about a big hairy spider runnig between and around your legs, trying to bite your toe. Why would it be easier to hit this pesky spider just because you have an ally standing next to you?
So, if my buddy and I were standing ten feet apart, and the hairy spider was exactly five feet from both of us, it's an easy target for both of us to hit with sticks.
However, if the spider gets close enough that I can actually stomp on it, and my buddy is close enough to swing at it with his stick, then it is a much harder target for both of us to hit.
Is this the "real life" experience you are attempting to inject into the rules?

Rezdave |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Dire Squirrel wrote:The argument that you cannot flank a creature which is underfoot makes sense here.If you say so, you can just as easily come up with an explanation of why flanking would be allowed. Having to dodge around to avoid being squished should provide a bonus to an ally
I have to agree with Gray and Squirrel on this.
However, I suggest using an example that is more R/L accessible than a "big hairy spider", and that would be the archetypal Tiny creature ... a normal, domestic house cat.
If a friend and I are both holding swords and standing on opposite sides of a house cat and the cat is trying to keep an eye on both of us at the same time, then clearly we are flanking it and both gain a bonus.
However, once the cat attacks me with its Reach 0', it is effectively right-on-top-of-me. This means that to hit it my buddy is basically also swinging at me! So maybe he technically gets a bonus to hit the cat, but he sure better take his time and effectively take a penalty (i.e. "called shot") to avoid hitting me.
Basically, as I see it any potential flanking bonus is canceled out by the presence of the "ally" ... call it a circumstance penalty, called shot penalty or soft-cover.
I just know that my buddy better not be taking a full-on swing if that cat's running around between my legs or has jumped up on me to try and scratch my face.
FWIW,
Rez

another_mage |

Dire Squirrel wrote:I think you're misunderstanding the question.Nope, understand if perfectly.
Quote:Of course two medium creatures can flank a tiny creature -- my question is what happens when that tiny creature is in the same square as one of the medium creatures. This is a situation which cannot happen with medium + huge (or medium + anything else for that matter).Actually, that is not true. Creatures three size categories difference can occupy the same space no matter what. Therefore, a medium PC can occupy the same space as a gargantuan creature. For creatures smaller than small, a difference of only two size categories is sufficient.
Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.
However, this does not allow said creature to end its movement there.
Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
If a Tiny creature enters a square in order to attack, then it provokes an AoO from the target creature. If the Tiny survives the AoO, then it can attack. After the attack, it must return to the last legal square it occupied.
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.
As a GM, I would also rule that an ally adjacent to the target creature provides a flanking bonus to the target creature's AoO. I would also rule that the Tiny can avoid the AoO entirely with an Acrobatics check.

calvinNhobbes |
Moving Through A Square wrote:Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.However, this does not allow said creature to end its movement there.
Moving Through A Square wrote:Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
I guess they changed it in PF.
Creatures may occupy the same square if they are three or more size categories different
If a Tiny creature enters a square in order to attack, then it provokes an AoO from the target creature. If the Tiny survives the AoO, then it can attack. After the attack, it must return to the last legal square it occupied.
Guess they changed that too, not that way in d20.
Two tiny creatures can occupy the same space as a medium creature, and provide each other flanking.

calvinNhobbes |
I have to agree with Gray and Squirrel on this.
However, I suggest using an example that is more R/L accessible than a "big hairy spider", and that would be the archetypal Tiny creature ... a normal, domestic house cat.
If a friend and I are both holding swords and standing on opposite sides of a house cat and the cat is trying to keep an eye on both of us at the same time, then clearly we are flanking it and both gain a bonus.
However, once the cat attacks me with its Reach 0', it is effectively right-on-top-of-me. This means that to hit it my buddy is basically also swinging at me! So maybe he technically gets a bonus to hit the cat, but he sure better take his time and effectively take a penalty (i.e. "called shot") to avoid hitting me.
Basically, as I see it any potential flanking bonus is canceled out by the presence of the "ally" ... call it a circumstance penalty, called shot penalty or soft-cover.
I just know that my buddy better not be taking a full-on swing if that cat's running around between my legs or has jumped up on me to try and scratch my face.
FWIW,
Rez
Just realize that your example is no different if you change it to be two huge giants and a human. The size relation is no different. Would you deny the giants flanking if the human is 5 feet away? Because in real life, it is the exact same physical situation.

DM_Blake |

If a Tiny creature enters a square in order to attack, then it provokes an AoO from the target creature. If the Tiny survives the AoO, then it can attack. After the attack, it must return to the last legal square it occupied.
I am fairly certain this is untrue. It would require every tiny creature to use Spring Attack or Flyby Attack. If they don't have one of those feats, they would be incapable of a Move-Attack-Move sequence. So based on what you've said here, we have a paradox.
You are quite right, they shouldn't end their turn in an occupied space (per the RAW) but they also cannot Move-Attack-Move all in one round (also per the RAW). But, clearly, tiny creatures attack all the time. I've seen my cats eat mice, a process that involved many attacks until they decided to end the combat and begin the meal.
So, in order to resolve this paradox, we must ask ourselves, ala Occam's Razor, which is the simplest answer for that one is most likely the correct one:
A. The rules for tiny creatures break the cardinal rules for actions in combat, and this was by design, but nobody bothered to mention this anywhere in the book despite the fact that they very deliberately chose to break a fundamental rule of the game without so much as a hint that this was their intent.
or
B. The rules for tiny creatures break the cardinal rules for sharing occupied spaces, and this was by design (which we know because they added a whole subsection of the combat rules to address this very subject) but they omitted, via oversight or the plain assumption that we would figure it out, that they can in fact end their turn there.
To me, B seems far far more likely to be true.

another_mage |

If a Tiny creature enters a square in order to attack, then it provokes an AoO from the target creature. If the Tiny survives the AoO, then it can attack. After the attack, it must return to the last legal square it occupied.
I am fairly certain this is untrue. It would require every tiny creature to use Spring Attack or Flyby Attack. If they don't have one of those feats, they would be incapable of a Move-Attack-Move sequence. So based on what you've said here, we have a paradox.
You are quite right, they shouldn't end their turn in an occupied space (per the RAW) but they also cannot Move-Attack-Move all in one round (also per the RAW). But, clearly, tiny creatures attack all the time. I've seen my cats eat mice, a process that involved many attacks until they decided to end the combat and begin the meal.
So, in order to resolve this paradox, we must ask ourselves, ala Occam's Razor, which is the simplest answer for that one is most likely the correct one:
A. The rules for tiny creatures break the cardinal rules for actions in combat, and this was by design, but nobody bothered to mention this anywhere in the book despite the fact that they very deliberately chose to break a fundamental rule of the game without so much as a hint that this was their intent.
or
B. The rules for tiny creatures break the cardinal rules for sharing occupied spaces, and this was by design (which we know because they added a whole subsection of the combat rules to address this very subject) but they omitted, via oversight or the plain assumption that we would figure it out, that they can in fact end their turn there.
To me, B seems far far more likely to be true.
I think you are misinterpreting the final positional correction as a second move action.
It's this:
- Move into target square
- Attack target
- <Oops, can't end my turn here; by the rules, I am repositioned to my last legal square>
The third point is not a move, because it is compulsory. The Tiny's controller has no say in the matter, it can't choose to move or not move, nor can it choose where to move; by the rules it must return to one very specific designated square.
Spring Attack or Flyby Attack would give the Tiny a choice of moving to a square other than the one they would otherwise be rules-bound to occupy.
However, if you really want a mind-bender, think about a Stirge grappling a medium creature. What square does the Stirge occupy while drinking blood? :-)

DM_Blake |

However, if you really want a mind-bender, think about a Stirge grappling a medium creature. What square does the Stirge occupy while drinking blood? :-)
The same square that a cat occupies while it is scratching you. Or that a chuihuahua occupies while it is piddling on your shoe...
Answer: They all occupy their opponent's square, just like the rules say they do.

calvinNhobbes |
However, if you really want a mind-bender, think about a Stirge grappling a medium creature. What square does the Stirge occupy while drinking blood? :-)
Not much of a mindbender. Tiny creatures occupy the squares of their target (at least in d20, serious, was this changed in PF? because I don't see it if they did). It made even more sense in d20 since grappling creatures occupied the same space, but in PF grappling foes are merely adjacent, except in the case of tiny or smaller creature as explained above (assuming they didn't specifically change this).

![]() |

I think I'd have to go with another_mage's proposal as it's the simplest and it has enough RAW behind it to make sense.
Tiny creature has 0 reach so must enter square to attack. It cannot end it's turn in an illegal space so must return to last legal space it occupied. It's not really movement, nor an action. Like the 5 foot step it's "Not an Action." So a tiny creature most certainly can be flanked, quite easily in fact.
--Vrocky Mountains

![]() |

From the core rulebook
Page 193:
Very Small Creature:
A fine, diminutive, or tiny creature can move into, or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
Ending your Movement:
You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
Page 194:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.
Thus, Spider moves to attack. Provokes an attack of opportunity, does his single attack, ends his turn, is moved back to either the last square he moved through and could stop in legally, or the nearest available legal square if it's closer.
Also note that in order for this to happen, the creature will most likely be leaving a threatened square, thus provoking an additional attack of opportunity.

![]() |

Page 194:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.
Some would adjudicate that this doesn't apply as in a tiny creature's case the movement is fully intentional not 'accidentally' at all.

Rezdave |
Rezdave wrote:However, I suggest using an example that is more R/L accessible than a "big hairy spider", and that would be the archetypal Tiny creature ... a normal, domestic house cat.Just realize that your example is no different if you change it to be two huge giants and a human. The size relation is no different. Would you deny the giants flanking if the human is 5 feet away? Because in real life, it is the exact same physical situation.
If the human is outside the 3x3 squares occupied by the giants then they get flanking. If the human is inside the 3x3 squares of either giant and the two giants are side-by-side (or even separated but within Reach) then they do not.
Which is exactly what I said above, but using different sizes. The question for the flankers isn't Reach, it's overlap.
R.

DM_Blake |

From the core rulebook
Page 193:
Very Small Creature:
A fine, diminutive, or tiny creature can move into, or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.Ending your Movement:
You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.Page 194:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.Thus, Spider moves to attack. Provokes an attack of opportunity, does his single attack, ends his turn, is moved back to either the last square he moved through and could stop in legally, or the nearest available legal square if it's closer.
Also note that in order for this to happen, the creature will most likely be leaving a threatened square, thus provoking an additional attack of opportunity.
You'll note that the "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space:" rule applies to the movement, right? So if you're moving, and "accidentally" end in an occupied space, you literally alter the move to put yourself in the last space you passed through that you can legally stop in.
You do this BEFORE you can attack anything.
Which means applying this rule to a tiny creature that has deliberately moved into a space it is legally allowed to move into, finished its move, made an attack, and is now magically teleporting back to some other space at the end of its turn is a bit of a stretch and is clearly not within the puview of this "accidental movement" rule.
Even worse if you stretch even farther to throw an AoO on the poor little guy in the process, since the "accedental movement" rule that you qouted would have literally stopped the creature's movement before it provoked any AoO:
K
.
.
x
F
(K = kobold, F = fighter, x = empty space, . = empty space)
For example, suppose a Small kobold tries to move south 4 spaces, directly into this fighter's space and end its movment there and attack the fighter. Well, it can't do that because it isn't Tiny, so the "accidental movment" rule is invoked and it ends its movement in the space marked x. This means it never provokes an AoO entering the fighter's space and it never provokes an AoO leaving that space (becase it was never in the fighter's space to begin with, so it never leaves his space, right?). It also means that all of this happens before the kobold attacks the fighter.
The end result is that the kobold moves 15' south to the space marked x and then makes its normal attack. No AoOs are provoked.
Now replace that kobold (K) with a kittycat (K). It wants to move south 4 spaces and attack the fighter. Because it is Tiny, it is allowed to do this. It provokes an AoO entering the fighter's space. If it survives the AoO, it ends its movement in the fighter's space and makes an attack.
It Must end its movement in the fighter's space because the kittycat has a reach of 0 and cannot attack the fighter from any other space - the RAW says so. Furthmore, it doesn't have Spring Attack so it must end its movement before it can use a standard action to attack the fighter.
After the kittycat finishes scratching the fighter, its turn is done. We do not invoke the "accidental movement" rule because everything it did was deliberate, was legal, and was required by the RAW. Furthermore, we couldn't invoke that "accidental movement" rule because the kittycat already ended his movement action and already took his standard action after it finished its move.
So the kittcat remains in the fighter's speace and its turn is over.

![]() |

Meh, I read that as a more formal ending of movement. As in, mob has movement of 10. Moves 5 and attacks. The mob still has 5 movement left. When the mob chooses to end it's turn, and thus its remaining opportunities to move, the movement is ended.
I can see where you could read it as each individual square of movement, but I don't know that I agree with that.
Bleh, I blame my years of MTG
Untap
Upkeep
Draw
First phase
Combat Phase
Second Phase
Cleanup
End Turn
:p
Also, while "accidental" is in the title, it's not mentioned in the mechanics of what happens. Naming it a Big Star doesn't mean the burger comes with a rock between two buns :p

calvinNhobbes |
calvinNhobbes wrote:Rezdave wrote:However, I suggest using an example that is more R/L accessible than a "big hairy spider", and that would be the archetypal Tiny creature ... a normal, domestic house cat.Just realize that your example is no different if you change it to be two huge giants and a human. The size relation is no different. Would you deny the giants flanking if the human is 5 feet away? Because in real life, it is the exact same physical situation.If the human is outside the 3x3 squares occupied by the giants then they get flanking. If the human is inside the 3x3 squares of either giant and the two giants are side-by-side (or even separated but within Reach) then they do not.
Which is exactly what I said above, but using different sizes. The question for the flankers isn't Reach, it's overlap.
R.
Except that it is not. If you are going to use "real-life" logic to defend your interpretation of RAW, then you need to be consistent. And that consistent logic is that huge giants would not be able to flank a medium creature that is 5 feet away.
Think of it this way, it is simply a matter of a discrete scale and rounding errors that are part of a game and not real life. If you reduce the scale so that fine creatures take up one square with a reach of one square, and scale everything up from there, your "real-life" logic falls apart.
Moreover, note that:
Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square.
So rules already exist that more than one creature can occupy a square. In fact, two tiny creatures MUST occupy the same square if they are to be engaged in melee combat. They do not magically move to two different squares once they attack.

digitalpacman |
There has been changes to the rules. I just want to state that the crb says tiny creatures can move into or through occupied squares. Also it says they cannot flank. They do not threatenas well, and do not get an aoo against something moving out of its square.
However! The spell says it can flank. So I feel this could be ruled a couple. Only the knife itself gets flanking and occupies the same square as the opponent. Or you can rule that it is more like the universal wizard ability to attack with a melee weapon at range. The knife stays in a flanking square, and flies to attack constantly and gives flanking.
However the knife only attacks on your turn as well. So it may be interpreted that it lays dormant outside your turn, therefore it doesn't threaten, and doesn't flank. This is how I believe it works

![]() |

Tiny creatures being flanked?
Two ways I see this...
Tiny fairy flying around my head, and my friend swings his bastard sword towards it... Yeah, flanking advantage? For who?
Same situation, but with a pesky human near my boot. Bob swings big fat club down on nasty little human... Flanking advantage for who again?
For me, part of flanking advantage is it's hard to see whats going on behind you and in front of you. Being 3 sizes smaller gives you an advantage that eliminates flanking. You only have to look one direction: up.

Kazaan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
Into... or through. Through, obviously, means passing through the square and continuing. If 'Into' is different enough to warrant a distinction of terms, it can only mean to end movement in the square of another creature. You can easily have a little pixie buzzing around your head. So, by RAW, a Tiny or smaller creature can move "into" (read end movement in) an occupied square; specific exception to general rule. As far as flanking goes, you can't reliably flank a creature that has complete reign over your whole square. Keep in mind that this creature isn't just going to sit there close to your partner, it's going to be moving around as it can. There are times it will be between you and your partner, but there will be times it uses you to body-block. The only way to reliable flank anything, even a tiny or smaller creature in the same space as you is for you and your flanking partner to be on opposite sides of the target creature's square.