Wild shape & Shields (from Treantmonk's guide)


Rules Questions

101 to 150 of 230 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

Majuba wrote:

Getting a shield's bonus to armor class while wildshaped (without the wild ability) is utter nonsense. Treantmonk, you should be ashamed for defending it this long (and sparking the craziness in the first place with your guide).

As for where the confusion comes from, this is because Shields *DID* grant "armor bonuses" to AC.

3.0 SRD wrote:

Stacking Modifiers

AC modifiers of the same type do not stack, except:
• Armor bonuses from armor and shields

Wild was originally a 3.0 splat-book (Masters of the Wild) armor ability, and was written under this rule.

There is no reason to think some mundane block of wood, that disappears into your flesh, will somehow protect you from anything.

However the new polymorph rules were not written under a system where shields give armor bonuses and so they do not really have the refuge of a copy-paste error.

Sure perhaps mundane shields working is not intended but if no one points out that things may not be working as intended then it may never be noticed and fixed if it is wrong.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Xpltvdeleted wrote:
Man it would be nice to have a dev weigh in on this.

It would also be nice to ship the files for the Advanced Player's Guide, Pathifnder #35, Pathfinder #36, Orcs of Golarion, and a few other products to the printer in time for said products to be on sale at Gen Con. The deadline for that ship date is less than a week away, and several of us here at Paizo have been working without a day off for weeks in a frenzied attempt to HIT that deadline.

AKA: We're pretty busy right now.

I have been trying to step in and offer advice and rulings for a lot of question threads nevertheless, but if you don't see me or another Paizo person dropping in to speak to one of these threads lately, now you know why.

As for this specific thread, it's a complex question. My gut tells me that adding the wild ability to a shield is silly, and that if it WASN'T a typo and it WAS intentional, a wild shield should remain visibly a shield when you change form so that you can still use it as a shield in your new shape.

But the complexities of this issue and the length of the thread prevents me from sitting down and offering anything that folks are likely to be comfortable taking as "official errata" for at least a week.

So... please just have a little bit more patience. One of the things I really REALLY want to get off the ground is a FAQ section of these messageboards where these types of clarifications can be presented and organized, but until we get to the other side of the busiest part of the year in a week or so, that process can't even begin.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:


So... please just have a little bit more patience. One of the things I really REALLY want to get off the ground is a FAQ section of these messageboards where these types of clarifications can be presented and organized, < ... >

Looking forward to that. :) To the Gamemastery Guide and APG, too. :p

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

I suggest using common sense. A shield is both a weapon and a protective device. It must be wielded to have an effect. A longsword merged with the base form is unusable. So too with the shield...if it cannot be used as a weapon, it stands to reason it cannot be used as a shield.

Likewise with the wild enchantment, which has no effect on weapons. As the shield would still be unusable as a weapon, it shouldn't be eligible for wild, and thus remain unusable.

I.e. have it merge witht he form and be done with it. If he wants to turn into an ape and equip it, that's the druid's call.

I'd also like to point out something sans HP and all. The druid+companion has superior dmg inflicting ability by round, true. However, the instant the druid dies, the animal companion is no longer an animal companion, its just an animal. It loses all benefits thereof...which means its going to die plenty fast.

==Aelryinth


James Jacobs wrote:
Xpltvdeleted wrote:
Man it would be nice to have a dev weigh in on this.

It would also be nice to ship the files for the Advanced Player's Guide, Pathifnder #35, Pathfinder #36, Orcs of Golarion, and a few other products to the printer in time for said products to be on sale at Gen Con. The deadline for that ship date is less than a week away, and several of us here at Paizo have been working without a day off for weeks in a frenzied attempt to HIT that deadline.

AKA: We're pretty busy right now.

I have been trying to step in and offer advice and rulings for a lot of question threads nevertheless, but if you don't see me or another Paizo person dropping in to speak to one of these threads lately, now you know why.

As for this specific thread, it's a complex question. My gut tells me that adding the wild ability to a shield is silly, and that if it WASN'T a typo and it WAS intentional, a wild shield should remain visibly a shield when you change form so that you can still use it as a shield in your new shape.

But the complexities of this issue and the length of the thread prevents me from sitting down and offering anything that folks are likely to be comfortable taking as "official errata" for at least a week.

So... please just have a little bit more patience. One of the things I really REALLY want to get off the ground is a FAQ section of these messageboards where these types of clarifications can be presented and organized, but until we get to the other side of the busiest part of the year in a week or so, that process can't even begin.

I have seen you and others state the reason why there is no errata yet. It's cool. I will just be happy when Gencon prep is over so I can get errata, and questions answered. That intern has a lot of questions to make note of. I hope they had a headstart.

Scarab Sages

Skylancer4 wrote:


Stuff

That's kind of the point. Pathfinder changed it, so it's not the same. Why are we going back to the non-pathfinder stuff for rulings on things that changed in pathfinder?

Shouldn't we instead be using pathfinder rules to attempt to clarify and define what happens? In this case the rules contradict an earlier rule, which has happened in numerous places in pathfinder.

However, some people think this sounds wrong, and try to find reasons within the rules as to why this doesn't work. That's good and all. But I haven't seen any arguments as to why, within the pathfinder rules, the shield ac doesn't work.

Again, I see a lot of attempts at portraying intent of the rules, and examples from non-pathfinder books such as the 3.5 players handbook *one of the books which I interpret as being a splat book for pathfinder, since it's not part of the core set of Pathfinder Rulebook and Bestiary*, but intent doesn't always follow rules. And intent can vary from person to person, depending on what makes sense to them.

As I mentioned in my last post, I'm concerned about what the rules say happen, not as much about what the rules should say, because of the particular forum this discussion is occurring in. I always try to state what the rules are for something when I *do* give my personal opinion on how it works.

As per the rules, I haven't seen any direct rule that makes me think the shield bonus is lost when you wildshape.

I've seen plenty of intent quotes about why that probably isn't what was intended, and that's fine for ruling the intent. But for ruling as worded, I haven't seen any words that say otherwise about the shield.

Does that help to explain my position? Point out how and where, so it can be addressed, if needed.

Also, I generally reply to multiple posters in each of my posts, so perhaps I wasn't referring to you particularly in regards to *splat books*. I'm just too lazy to go back and double-check atm.

I think that using pathfinder-only stuff to clear up waters muddied by pathfinder is quite appropriate. Now, if we were talking about a prestige class conversion down in the prestige class forums, then I'd be looking for intent of class instead of specific rules, and I'd be willing to look at various iterations of that particular class for intent of theme and so on.

@Grandfather I'm glad we're good :) I particularly enjoy posting on the forums in-between other tasks. I'd hate to develop any animosities here :(

@James Jacobs Crunch time is rough, and you guys've been getting a lot of crunch time lately. Definitely appreciate all the effort you put in to replying to posts and getting everything on track.


Aelryinth wrote:

I suggest using common sense. A shield is both a weapon and a protective device. It must be wielded to have an effect. A longsword merged with the base form is unusable. So too with the shield...if it cannot be used as a weapon, it stands to reason it cannot be used as a shield.

Likewise with the wild enchantment, which has no effect on weapons. As the shield would still be unusable as a weapon, it shouldn't be eligible for wild, and thus remain unusable.

I.e. have it merge witht he form and be done with it. If he wants to turn into an ape and equip it, that's the druid's call.

I'd also like to point out something sans HP and all. The druid+companion has superior dmg inflicting ability by round, true. However, the instant the druid dies, the animal companion is no longer an animal companion, its just an animal. It loses all benefits thereof...which means its going to die plenty fast.

==Aelryinth

So not allow the shield to transfer the shield bonus to AC when wildshaped OR allow it to get the wild enchantment.

Hmmm...I had always thought that there would either be errata requiring shields to get the "wild" enchantment, or there would be a FAQ stating shields transferred their bonus to AC when wildshaped.

The idea of going with neither - I hadn't considered that before. Intriguing. Certainly a viable houserule. I wonder if the errata will go this way.


@ JJ -

dunno if you'll read this far, but thanks for *not* giving an answer off the cuff. Easy to do, hard to retract.

Nice as developer input is on the boards, I'd rather wait for an errata I can put my faith in. That's not a criticism of company board input, which I think is admirable - but definitive answers are where it's at. Cheers :)


Treantmonk, here's some suggestions.

mention in your guide that there are some debate on the issue with shields and wild shape. Players should talk to their DM/GM

Edit: You do not benefit from iterative attacks in wild shape unless you wield a weapon. So you could wild shape into and ape and you're fine if you wield a scimitar. But using natural attacks (slam, rake etc.) doesn't give you iterative attacks.

Quicken Spell Like Ability is not available if you want to quicken Wild shape because wild shape is not a Spell Like Ability, it's a SU.


Aelryinth wrote:

I suggest using common sense. A shield is both a weapon and a protective device. It must be wielded to have an effect. A longsword merged with the base form is unusable. So too with the shield...if it cannot be used as a weapon, it stands to reason it cannot be used as a shield.

Likewise with the wild enchantment, which has no effect on weapons. As the shield would still be unusable as a weapon, it shouldn't be eligible for wild, and thus remain unusable.

+1


Zark wrote:

Treantmonk, here's some suggestions.

mention in your guide that there are some debate on the issue with shields and wild shape. Players should talk to their DM/GM

You do not benefit from iterative attacks in wild shape unless you wield a weapon. So you could wild shape into and ape and your a sword is fine. But using natural attacks doesn't give you iterative attacks.

Quicken Spell Like Ability is not available if you want to quicken Wild shape because wild shape is not a Spell Like Ability, it's a SU.

He knows. He was told that before. I don't think he ever updated the guide though.


Aelryinth wrote:

I suggest using common sense. A shield is both a weapon and a protective device. It must be wielded to have an effect. A longsword merged with the base form is unusable. So too with the shield...if it cannot be used as a weapon, it stands to reason it cannot be used as a shield.

Likewise with the wild enchantment, which has no effect on weapons. As the shield would still be unusable as a weapon, it shouldn't be eligible for wild, and thus remain unusable.

I would think that having a shield function as a weapon and deal damage would be an activated ability as one needs to take the action to shield bash.

I mean while one could not attack with a weapon while it is merged any properties on the weapon not dependent on attacking with the weapon should still function. For example the luck blade is the first thing that comes to mind.


WWWW wrote:

I would think that having a shield function as a weapon and deal damage would be an activated ability as one needs to take the action to shield bash.

I mean while one could not attack with a weapon while it is merged any properties on the weapon not dependent on attacking with the weapon should still function. For example the luck blade is the first thing that comes to mind.

Even that is arguable sinse you cannot make AoO with a merged weapon either.

Somthing that we all agree are innate properties of an item, can simply not be taken for granted while affected by polymorph.

I really think you should take a step back from the definition of actions in the rules. Some abilities and effects of equipment are certainly activated by actions (e.g. a shield bash or standard melee attack action with a sword) while others have a more abstract activation method (e.g. an AoO with sayd sword or the protection of a shield).

Action and activation are not synonimous.


The Grandfather wrote:
WWWW wrote:

I would think that having a shield function as a weapon and deal damage would be an activated ability as one needs to take the action to shield bash.

I mean while one could not attack with a weapon while it is merged any properties on the weapon not dependent on attacking with the weapon should still function. For example the luck blade is the first thing that comes to mind.

Even that is arguable sinse you cannot make AoO with a merged weapon either.

Somthing that we all agree are innate properties of an item, can simply not be taken for granted while affected by polymorph.

I really think you should take a step back from the definition of actions in the rules. Some abilities and effects of equipment are certainly activated by actions (e.g. a shield bash or standard melee attack action with a sword) while others have a more abstract activation method (e.g. an AoO with sayd sword or the protection of a shield).

Action and activation are not synonimous.

I suppose you are correct in that things could be activated by a condition that may or may not be an action such as a ring of feather falling. However a shield's bonus is not such a thing any more then the bonus from a ring of protection.


WWWW wrote:
...However a shield's bonus is not such a thing any more then the bonus from a ring of protection.

Or so you say ;)


The Grandfather wrote:
WWWW wrote:
...However a shield's bonus is not such a thing any more then the bonus from a ring of protection.
Or so you say ;)

Well since both are always on until some outside condition specifically keeps them from working I see no difference.

However I am curious by what would a shield be activated in your position.


wraithstrike wrote:
Zark wrote:

Treantmonk, here's some suggestions.

mention in your guide that there are some debate on the issue with shields and wild shape. Players should talk to their DM/GM

You do not benefit from iterative attacks in wild shape unless you wield a weapon. So you could wild shape into and ape and your a sword is fine. But using natural attacks doesn't give you iterative attacks.

Quicken Spell Like Ability is not available if you want to quicken Wild shape because wild shape is not a Spell Like Ability, it's a SU.

He knows. He was told that before. I don't think he ever updated the guide though.

Strangely I did update the Spirit of the Beast guide but not the Wild Mystic guide. QSA is now gone.

I'm unaware of anywhere in either guide where I suggest you get iterative attacks when wildshaped (though I guess Ape+weapon would work), if I did, let me know where and I'll fix it up.

I've also added an "expect possible errata/check with DM" portion to the shield entry.


WWWW wrote:
The Grandfather wrote:
WWWW wrote:
...However a shield's bonus is not such a thing any more then the bonus from a ring of protection.
Or so you say ;)

Well since both are always on until some outside condition specifically keeps them from working I see no difference.

However I am curious by what would a shield be activated in your position.

In the magic items chapter (p. 458), use activation of a shield is written as: "interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat".

Even though it isn't an action to do so, the shield bonus does stem from actively using it in combat, which differs from passively wearing a ring.

I am not able to imagine how you interpose the shield to deflect blows, while it is melded into your body.


HaraldKlak wrote:


In the magic items chapter (p. 458), use activation of a shield is written as: "interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat".

Even though it isn't an action to do so, the shield bonus does stem from actively using it in combat, which differs from passively wearing a ring.

I am not able to imagine how you interpose the shield to deflect blows, while it is melded into your body.

You sling it across your back and Wildshape. A critter on all fours would get the shield bonus because it is interposed between the critter and the blow.

EDIT: You still get the shield bonus when flat-footed and to me that's kind of not actively being used.


Spacelard wrote:


You sling it across your back and Wildshape. A critter on all fours would get the shield bonus because it is interposed between the critter and the blow.

That would be barding in my opinion, more than the effect of something melded into your body.

Otherwise you'd also see a lot of two-handed fighters slinging a shield on their back and demanding the bonus, since there are no facing in the rules.

Quote:


EDIT: You still get the shield bonus when flat-footed and to me that's kind of not actively being used.

Well, that argument is backwards.

The rules state a certain use activation of shields. While i agree that it makes little sense for the bonus to apply when flat-footed (and even worse paralyzed) that is something concerning those conditions, not the text on how the shield is used.

If I am to guess why the bonusses applies in case of flat-footed, it is because it mechanically easier to have shields and armor functioning identically (which they previously have, being the same type of bonus).

I would not be opposed to a change of rules, or just a house-rule, stating that shields does not apply when flat-footed or paralyzed.

Grand Lodge

Spacelard wrote:
HaraldKlak wrote:


In the magic items chapter (p. 458), use activation of a shield is written as: "interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat".

Even though it isn't an action to do so, the shield bonus does stem from actively using it in combat, which differs from passively wearing a ring.

I am not able to imagine how you interpose the shield to deflect blows, while it is melded into your body.

You sling it across your back and Wildshape. A critter on all fours would get the shield bonus because it is interposed between the critter and the blow.

And if you're an upright ape?? the problem then becomes adjudicating a melded shield's properties for every possible form a Druid might take.

For my part I'm going to have to call both Treantmonk and Paizo out on this for different reasons, T-Monk for cheesing by the written letter of the rules, and Paizo for dropping the ball on wildshape. As T-Monk himself said his guides aren't bibles and he admitted to one serious omission on his Wizard guides when it came to arcanists casting spells in Dragonform.


Spacelard wrote:


EDIT: You still get the shield bonus when flat-footed and to me that's kind of not actively being used.

Being flat-footed does not prevent a character from activating abilities or using items.

A character with combat rexlexes still gets to make AoO. Just like a character with a shield still benefits from it even if flat-footed.

However having a shield slung over the back does not provide any protection, neither in normal nor polymorphed form.


I was answering this question.

"I am not able to imagine how you interpose the shield to deflect blows, while it is melded into your body."

Not making any real statment about shields and wildshaping.


The Grandfather wrote:
Spacelard wrote:


EDIT: You still get the shield bonus when flat-footed and to me that's kind of not actively being used.

Being flat-footed does not prevent a character from activating abilities or using items.

A character with combat rexlexes still gets to make AoO. Just like a character with a shield still benefits from it even if flat-footed.

However having a shield slung over the back does not provide any protection, neither in normal nor polymorphed form.

+1.

The Grandfather I agree with you on most, if not all, the things you say, but might as well give it up and wait for the FAQ.
You won't be able to persuade anyone that hasn't been persuaded yet ;-)


The Grandfather wrote:
Spacelard wrote:


EDIT: You still get the shield bonus when flat-footed and to me that's kind of not actively being used.

Being flat-footed does not prevent a character from activating abilities or using items.

A character with combat rexlexes still gets to make AoO. Just like a character with a shield still benefits from it even if flat-footed.

However having a shield slung over the back does not provide any protection, neither in normal nor polymorphed form.

Yeah, it does. You can't activate any items while flat foot. Combat Reflexes is anm exception to the rule.


The Grandfather wrote:

Being flat-footed does not prevent a character from activating abilities or using items.

Ummm...what???

You can't even take an immediate action if flat footed.

The combat reflexes feat specifically allows AoO when flat footed - but beyond that, when you are flat-footed, you can't do anything.


Treantmonk wrote:
The Grandfather wrote:

Being flat-footed does not prevent a character from activating abilities or using items.

Ummm...what???

You can't even take an immediate action if flat footed.

The combat reflexes feat specifically allows AoO when flat footed - but beyond that, when you are flat-footed, you can't do anything.

True, You can't even take an immediate action.

There are som exceptiosn though. Moment of Prescience, etc.
What I meant was I agree on "However having a shield slung over the back does not provide any protection, neither in normal nor polymorphed form".


Treantmonk wrote:

Ummm...what???

You can't even take an immediate action if flat footed.

The combat reflexes feat specifically allows AoO when flat footed - but beyond that, when you are flat-footed, you can't do anything.

You are still thinking actions. AoO are not actual action, though they are a good example of item activation.


The Grandfather wrote:
You are still thinking actions. AoO are not actual action, though they are a good example of item activation.

Since this might have gotten lost in the shuffle I am still wondering what you specifically believe to be the conditions under which a nonmagical shield activates.


WWWW wrote:
Since this might have gotten lost in the shuffle I am still wondering what you specifically believe to be the conditions under which a nonmagical shield activates.

Exactly the same as a magical one (i.e. one without other properties than enhancement bonuses).

You use a shield to block; or interpose it as the rules state. Every time you interpose the shield (a physical act on the users part) you activate it. Which does not require an action; like a sword swing part of an AoO is not an action either, even though it does qualify as an activation of the item.


The Grandfather wrote:
WWWW wrote:
Since this might have gotten lost in the shuffle I am still wondering what you specifically believe to be the conditions under which a nonmagical shield activates.

Exactly the same as a magical one (i.e. one without other properties than enhancement bonuses).

You use a shield to block; or interpose it as the rules state. Every time you interpose the shield (a physical act on the users part) you activate it. Which does not require an action; like a sword swing part of an AoO is not an action either, even though it does qualify as an activation of the item.

Interesting, so would you also say that the shield's bonus should be removed from paralyzed characters or in other situations in which the person with the shield can not react to an attack with the shield.


Zark wrote:


What I meant was I agree on "However having a shield slung over the back does not provide any protection, neither in normal nor polymorphed form".

Of course not. Neither does a ring of protection in your pocket.


WWWW wrote:


Interesting, so would you also say that the shield's bonus should be removed from paralyzed characters or in other situations in which the person with the shield can not react to an attack with the shield.

You can reasonably argue for this change, seeing as there is a clear inconsistancy between the use of shields and certain conditions.

It might be an easy fix to adjust the text on shields, although it must avoid misunderstandings concerning shield bonusses that should still apply (specifically magical auto-shields).


WWWW wrote:
Interesting, so would you also say that the shield's bonus should be removed from paralyzed characters or in other situations in which the person with the shield can not react to an attack with the shield.

It would make a hell lot more sense.

However that question has no bearing on RAW.
Read p. 458.


HaraldKlak wrote:
It might be an easy fix to adjust the text on shields, although it must avoid misunderstandings concerning shield bonusses that should still apply (specifically magical auto-shields).

I think the best and easiest fix would be to include shield bonuses to the drop in flat-footed AC, and include it in the text for Uncanny Dodge and Combat Reflexes. Shields would then in all senses work exactly as swords in as far as activation method is concerned.


The Grandfather wrote:
WWWW wrote:
Interesting, so would you also say that the shield's bonus should be removed from paralyzed characters or in other situations in which the person with the shield can not react to an attack with the shield.

It would make a hell lot more sense.

However that question has no bearing on RAW.
Read p. 458.

You state that one must interpose a shield to deflect a blow if one wishes to gain the AC bonus. There are conditions where the character can not move and so could not interpose a shield. So from the first it follows that in cases where the character can not move they loose their shield bonus since they can not interpose the shield. Unless of course you are saying that interposing a shield does not involve moving the physical shield. But if it does not involve actually moving the physical shield then I see no reason why one can not do the same not actually moving the shield when it is merged.

In either case this is just me trying to pin down your position. However it seems that since you believe that the conditions listed in the use activated section must be met for the bonus to be applied rings also require the activation method of being worn. And so since one can not wear a ring of deflection when it is merged with one's form that bonus is also lost as much as a shield's.

This of course means that there are no constant bonuses that would apply when merged except perhaps in the case of items that the character must only possess.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

The shield must be interposed. That means it must be out and revealed. A shield applies against flat footed attacks when worn because it is guarding the character from attacks in whatever direction the shield is currently being held at. If the shield is merged with the body, it can't provide either of those conditions.

Nor can it be used as a weapon, nor can weapons be merged. Simply state that you can't wild a shield because of those things, and you are fine.

==Aelryinth


Aelryinth wrote:

The shield must be interposed. That means it must be out and revealed. A shield applies against flat footed attacks when worn because it is guarding the character from attacks in whatever direction the shield is currently being held at. If the shield is merged with the body, it can't provide either of those conditions.

Nor can it be used as a weapon, nor can weapons be merged. Simply state that you can't wild a shield because of those things, and you are fine.

==Aelryinth

Ah so interposed just means held to the side unmoving for you. Well ok then I suppose that the shield does not qualify the same as a ring would not since worn means held on the outside of the finger and not merged with the body.

Though I will still wait for an answer from the person I was talking to.


I agree with Aelyrinth.

(Though it should be possible to add the Wild enhancement to a shield, of course).

I think the simplest solution is a mild rejigging of the Polymorph section in the Magic chapter, with more detail on which items meld and how. A rewriting of how shields function is a more sweeping change than that (though not necessarily a worse one). That would be a major shift away from 3.5: an errata to Polymorph (which was already ripe for rewriting and has already been jiggled with) would not.


I too agree with Aelyrinth, although I do not understand what he mean by "nor can weapons be merged"
As for adding the Wild enhancement to a shield? You don't need it.
Just drop the shield on the ground and then pick it up when you have wild shaped or let a party member carry an additional shield for you.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

You can't hold a sword +5, wildshape, and have it still usable. You also can't place wild on a weapon.

A shield is a weapon, in addition to being a shield.

Ergo, a merged shield cannot provide a weapon benefit. Since those benefits are part and parcel of the shield as a whole, there's no way a shield can provide an AC benefit while merged, either.

==Aelryinth


Aelryinth wrote:

You can't hold a sword +5, wildshape, and have it still usable. You also can't place wild on a weapon.

A shield is a weapon, in addition to being a shield.

Ergo, a merged shield cannot provide a weapon benefit. Since those benefits are part and parcel of the shield as a whole, there's no way a shield can provide an AC benefit while merged, either.

==Aelryinth

It does not follow that because one can not gain the benefits of attacking with a shield all other benefits will also be excluded. They are separate benefits that are not necessarily interconnected.


Aelryinth wrote:

You can't hold a sword +5, wildshape, and have it still usable. You also can't place wild on a weapon.

A shield is a weapon, in addition to being a shield.

Ergo, a merged shield cannot provide a weapon benefit. Since those benefits are part and parcel of the shield as a whole, there's no way a shield can provide an AC benefit while merged, either.

==Aelryinth

So, your position is "If you can't use every property of an item when wildshaped, you lose the constant bonuses provided by that item"

So where does that take us?

You can have a hat of Wisdom +4.

Then you can pay to have a second enchantment put on the hat - maybe a helm of telepathy ability.

According to the rules, the wisdom bonus would stick, but the telepathy ability (which isn't constant) wouldn't.

However, if we are to use your logic you lose both.

The rules could be interpreted this way I suppose, when it says that "items that provide a constant bonus and don't need to be activated" I would suggest the "don't need to be activated" would be helping to define what a "constant bonus" is, but it could be interpreted your way as well I suppose...


Treantmonk wrote:
The rules (as currently written) allow for shield bonuses to apply to wildshape.

I disagree. A shield is not worn; it's wielded -- just like a weapon. You get a bonus from gear you wear, not gear you wield. The rules as currently written to not allow for shield bonuses to apply to wildshape, unless you can somehow get a shield bonus from gear you're wearing.

Another piece of evidence for this: in the Armor section, it consistently refers to "wearing" armor and "using" a shield. It never refers to "wearing" a shield.

Liberty's Edge

I concede I am arrogant to say this, but this is a forum, so here is my opinion. I believe firmly it is RAI that shields not function in wild shape without the wild enchantment. I believe so for simple balance reasons.

Compared with a typical frontline combatant:

-A druid will have a ring of protection.

-Nothing except an eye for "mighty fists" stops him from having an amulet of natural armor-and he's got greater magic fang, he can still get through basic x/magic DR without mighty fists (And in a form with one big attack, GMF keeps him almost caught up).

-A druid will, starting around mid-levels, have wild armor for 16k. We'll assume they don't spring for the heavy armor prof feat, and have +1 wild ironwood breatplate for about 16k. At which point, they are lagging behind an AC tank by about 6 points (-3 full plate to breastplate, -3 Wild).

-A druid in wild shape will have a base natural armor bonus of, starting around mid-levels, typically +6 in heavy combats. The druid is now caught up with a heavy AC tank.

All that's left is the shield. Are you telling me that the wild shaped druid, without sparing any hands from his full attack, AND without spending an extra cent, gets to have dedicated-tank-level armor class?

What's the drawback? What's balancing this, AND the fact that this is just their basic combat options, they can also turn into birds and unicorns and whatever else? And...not to go all "durid R OP!!!1!' on this thread, but...after you balance all that...what's balancing the NINE LEVELS OF SPELLCASTING?


You could always wildshape into a dire ape and still wield the shield...


kroarty wrote:

I concede I am arrogant to say this, but this is a forum, so here is my opinion. I believe firmly it is RAI that shields not function in wild shape without the wild enchantment. I believe so for simple balance reasons.

Compared with a typical frontline combatant:

-A druid will have a ring of protection.

-Nothing except an eye for "mighty fists" stops him from having an amulet of natural armor-and he's got greater magic fang, he can still get through basic x/magic DR without mighty fists (And in a form with one big attack, GMF keeps him almost caught up).

-A druid will, starting around mid-levels, have wild armor for 16k. We'll assume they don't spring for the heavy armor prof feat, and have +1 wild ironwood breatplate for about 16k. At which point, they are lagging behind an AC tank by about 6 points (-3 full plate to breastplate, -3 Wild).

-A druid in wild shape will have a base natural armor bonus of, starting around mid-levels, typically +6 in heavy combats. The druid is now caught up with a heavy AC tank.

All that's left is the shield. Are you telling me that the wild shaped druid, without sparing any hands from his full attack, AND without spending an extra cent, gets to have dedicated-tank-level armor class?

What's the drawback? What's balancing this, AND the fact that this is just their basic combat options, they can also turn into birds and unicorns and whatever else? And...not to go all "durid R OP!!!1!' on this thread, but...after you balance all that...what's balancing the NINE LEVELS OF SPELLCASTING?

You're forgetting the tank has a shield that could have a +3 enhancement bonus on it so that's 3 ac more :)

Scarab Sages

pg 459 Magic items on the body

"It's possible for a creature with a humanoid-shaped body to wear as many as 15 magic items at the same time."

"A humanoid-shaped body can be decked out in magic gear consisting of one item from each of the following groups, keyed to which slot on the body the item is worn.

The list that follows includes the Shield as a worn item.

So, for pathfinder, shields are effectively worn items. Note that weapons don't appear on the list.

Liberty's Edge

@Sarrion: Yes, precisely, IF shield don't automatically count in wildshape. That's the point in contention. I'm saying that SHOULD be the case. Others in this thread are saying that you shouldn't need the Wild ability on the shield, at which point the tank and the druid have the same shield (except the druid's is wood-the main drawback of which being flammability, a drawback which is removed when wild shaped).

I was mainly posting in response to TM's statement of being...I forget what he said, something to the effect of "dubious"...when people make claims to know what the RAI is. It was my intent to very simply make such a claim, and do my best to back it up.


Dork Lord wrote:
You could always wildshape into a dire ape and still wield the shield...

Is there an actual rule or ruling somewhere that says apes can use weapons, or have people just assumed that they can because their paws seem closer to human hands than other animals'?

101 to 150 of 230 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wild shape & Shields (from Treantmonk's guide) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.