Rules on Spell Stacking


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The rules on stacking spells has thrown me through a loop. Can anybody clarify whether or not it is possible to have resist energy cast on you more than once, but for differing energy types? Why or why not?

For ease of reference...

PFSRD wrote:

Combining Magic Effects

Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates. Whenever a spell has a specific effect on other spells, the spell description explains that effect. Several other general rules apply when spells or magical effects operate in the same place:

Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don't stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).

Different Bonus Types: The bonuses or penalties from two different spells stack if the modifiers are of different types. A bonus that doesn't have a type stacks with any bonus.

Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the one with the highest strength applies.

Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

One Effect Makes Another Irrelevant: Sometimes, one spell can render a later spell irrelevant. Both spells are still active, but one has rendered the other useless in some fashion.

Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as spells that remove the subject's ability to act. Mental controls that don't remove the recipient's ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.

Spells with Opposite Effects: Spells with opposite effects apply normally, with all bonuses, penalties, or changes accruing in the order that they apply. Some spells negate or counter each other. This is a special effect that is noted in a spell's description.

Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous durations work cumulatively when they affect the same target.


There are no differences between the rules for spell stacking and stacking anything else:

  • You can have any number of bonuses of any type to any statistic. However, you can only apply one bonus of each type to that statistic, with the exception of Dodge bonuses, Circumstance bonuses from different circumstances, and untyped bonuses.
  • You can have a single source provide bonuses to multiple different statistics at the same time. Example: Rage (+X Strength and +X Constitution and +Y Will saves).
  • The same source cannot provide two bonuses to the same statistic at the same time (or, more accurately, the two bonuses overlap and you take the highest).

    You can have any number of a single spell cast on you at any time. There is no limit.

    In the case of resist energy, the second rule above applies. No matter how many you have cast on you, the spell "resist energy" is all the same source. However, that doesn't matter, because you're applying it to multiple different statistics at the same time (each energy resistance is its own stat).

    So, to answer your question, yes, you can.


  • Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
    Zurai wrote:

    So, to answer your question, yes, you can.

    "Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

    Wouldn't the latter casting trump all others before it though?

    The Exchange

    Ravingdork wrote:
    Zurai wrote:

    So, to answer your question, yes, you can.

    "Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

    Wouldn't the latter casting trump all others before it though?

    No because all of the spells affect you.

    Shadow Lodge

    Ravingdork wrote:
    Zurai wrote:

    So, to answer your question, yes, you can.

    "Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

    Wouldn't the latter casting trump all others before it though?

    What this is refering to are a few spells out there, (can't think of any off hand) that grant you a few options to choose from. Lets say I cast a spell that gives me a +5 perception, Bluff, or Sense Motive. I can't cast that 3 times for all 3 skills. The second time the spell is cast, you choose a skill, and the previous skill bonus is lost. Same for the third time.

    However, if the third spell is Dispelled, the Second Skill bonus comes back, (if the second spell is still under duration). If that one gets dispelled, or whatever, you still have that first spell cast, (Again, Duration).


    Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
    Beckett wrote:
    Ravingdork wrote:
    Zurai wrote:

    So, to answer your question, yes, you can.

    "Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

    Wouldn't the latter casting trump all others before it though?

    What this is refering to are a few spells out there, (can't think of any off hand) that grant you a few options to choose from. Lets say I cast a spell that gives me a +5 perception, Bluff, or Sense Motive. I can't cast that 3 times for all 3 skills. The second time the spell is cast, you choose a skill, and the previous skill bonus is lost. Same for the third time.

    However, if the third spell is Dispelled, the Second Skill bonus comes back, (if the second spell is still under duration). If that one gets dispelled, or whatever, you still have that first spell cast, (Again, Duration).

    How is that any different from energy resistance? You cast it once to get a defense against fire, cast it against against electricity and then you lose the benefit against fire...

    Shadow Lodge

    It is more like the spells, or effects or whatever, say either this or that. Basically you can't cast the spell twice for both.


    Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
    Beckett wrote:
    It is more like the spells, or effects or whatever, say either this or that. Basically you can't cast the spell twice for both.

    And that is what is throwing me through the loop. Why can't I protect myself from different energy types without having to resort to different spells?


    I agree with Ravingdork, what gives? I'm willing to use the slots, charges etc on the spell, they are protecting against different types, why would this not work? I could have 2 rings of energy protection for example, one for cold and one for fire and that works... so why not with the spell?

    Scarab Sages

    The rule being discussed also only says "Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

    Usually meaning that there are exceptions to this rule. I would imagine that most people would agree that Protection from Energy is logically one of these exceptions, and is covered by the "•You can have a single source provide bonuses to multiple different statistics at the same time. Example: Rage (+X Strength and +X Constitution and +Y Will saves)." clause.

    As examples of spells that would fall under the Same Effect Differing Results rule, think of Disguise Self used 3 different times to create three different disguises, or Charm Person used by three different casters to give three different sets of instructions. These would be resolved in the manner Beckett described above.


    What about spells like Hide from Undead that require a save from those encountering it - would multiple copies of the spell cast on a single person require multiple saves?


    I don't think so, no. But that's just off the top of my head

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules on Spell Stacking All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in Rules Questions