
Segallion |

I placed this elsewhere in the forum under the Product itself but thought it might get more visibility here.
Ayway, the Adventurer's Sash (Seeker of Secrets) is priced at 20 gp, 10x more expensive than a plain back pack. Perhaps I'm missing something but why would one use this instead of any other cheaper form of container? Does it grant something I'm not getting?
Appreciate any thoughts input in advance

Segallion |

I'm kind of under the impression that you can access items in the pouches as a free action if they aren't strapped shut. That would be worth the cost.
Ok so one free action to retrieve a stored item. That would negate the attack of opportunity since it was now a free action.
Thanks for the help on that, makes more sense.

Scipion del Ferro RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4 |

I don't know if that's exactly how that works though. It just seems to be the case since they specify it taking a move action to undo the pockets opening.
If they are already open then surely it wouldn't take a move action to grab something out of them, but you run the risk of your stuff falling out then.
It also explains the price besides from a "cool factor."
...James is gonna hop in here and go, "No, it's just cool." I know it.

Waruko |

Manipulate an Item
Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action.This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat.
A dagger in your belt isn't concealed or obstructed by a flip but its a move action to draw it. To draw anything from a Handy Haversack which puts things on top magically is still a move. Its basically a Bandiloer from the Ultimate Equipment. Put items you don't want to spend a full round digging through your backpack in the sash. Like potions, caltrops, Alchemist Fire, etc.

![]() |

No the benefit of the sash if I recall is its ability to be ditched quickly in the event that you find yourself in a chase or a body of water. Retrieving an item is the same action no matter how you work it. Move action that provokes unless its a handy haversack then its a move action that doesn't provoke.

![]() |

I'm with Scipion. The Sash reminds me of some of the Wondrous Items from the Superstar contests, the ones where the judges said, "I wish the author had included more crunch/game mechanics."
The problem isn't the bandoleer, it is the lack of crunch/game mechanics for the backpack.
Retrieving something from a bandoleer, belt pouch and so on is a move action. Retrieving something from a non magical backpack should be a longer action (unless it an item that you have specifically placed in a way that allow it to be easily recovered, tush blocking all the otehr items). That is hinted by the text in the handy haversack description: "While such storage is useful enough, the pack has an even greater power. When the wearer reaches into it for a specific item, that item is always on top. Thus, no digging around and fumbling is ever necessary to find what a haversack contains. Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move action, but it does not provoke the attacks of opportunity that retrieving a stored item usually does." but AFAIk, there is no rule specifying what kind of action would be necessary to recover something from a normal backpack.

![]() |

Some comments on the sash:
Capacity - none of the containerss talk about capacity, so this one doesn't either. Personally, I wish they did, but I wasn't going to rock the boat.The "main" benefit of the sash is that you can ditch it in a hurry, although that suffered a bit in development. Originally, it could be dropped as a swift or a move action, in editing this was simplified to just a move action. The best way to address the quick-release is to let it be dropped as a part of normal movement, which is pretty much a GM's call. If I'd been asked to change that wording, that's how I would have done it, since a backpack can already be removed as a move action and dropped as a free action.
Getting an item from a secured pouch would count as retrieving a stored item, from an unsecured pouch would count as "in easy reach", letting you use the "draw or sheathe a weapon" action to get at it. Burning an entire item's worth of words describing that didn't seem like an efficient use of text. Being able to switch configurations is a small benefit that probably only matters if your GM enforces some amount of realism when your character falls, gets hung upside down, or dumped in the water.
Ultimately, at 20 gp, it is basically a masterwork backpack in price, and was never intended to provide a huge in-game benefit.
Thats the quote from the contributor that helped write that (I believe). Not sure why this Necro was necessary, but yea anything stored is a move action to retrieve.