Rules on cleave


Rules Questions

Sczarni

I have a red mantis assassin taken from the crimson series. Either way the question is if you do a coup de grace on a monster/NPC and are surrounded, do you get the free attack with cleave after a coup de grace? What about great cleave if your surrounded. Another question is a Red Mantis assassin has the prayer attack in which they fascinate creatures within 30 feet and after three rounds get a coup de grace against them. If I were surrounded by multiple fascinated creatures, is the cleave and great cleave also a coup de grace or just a regular hit?

Sovereign Court

no, cleave requires a standard action attack to perform, coup de grace is a seperate full round action. you cannot do both in the same round. and a cleave attack is not a coup de grace on fascinated creatures.


coup de grace being a full round action, can not really be combined with other things

Sczarni

lastknightleft wrote:
no, cleave requires a standard action attack to perform, coup de grace is a seperate full round action. you cannot do both in the same round. and a cleave attack is not a coup de grace on fascinated creatures.

So if cleave says if you hit, you can hit another that is adjacent in Pathfinder, a coup de grace is a hit? This is where the reading of the rules gets gray.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ed Zoller 52 wrote:
lastknightleft wrote:
no, cleave requires a standard action attack to perform, coup de grace is a seperate full round action. you cannot do both in the same round. and a cleave attack is not a coup de grace on fascinated creatures.
So if cleave says if you hit, you can hit another that is adjacent in Pathfinder, a coup de grace is a hit? This is where the reading of the rules gets gray.

No. it's not. A coup de Grace is a full round action, Cleave is a standard action. You cannot make a full-found action and a standard action in the same round so you can't do both. There isn't anything grey about it.


Ed Zoller 52 wrote:
lastknightleft wrote:
no, cleave requires a standard action attack to perform, coup de grace is a seperate full round action. you cannot do both in the same round. and a cleave attack is not a coup de grace on fascinated creatures.
So if cleave says if you hit, you can hit another that is adjacent in Pathfinder, a coup de grace is a hit? This is where the reading of the rules gets gray.

It's not really that grey, you have to look before the attack or action is made.

You have to perform a standard attack action to Cleave, a coup de grace is its own full round action.

Cleave needs a standard attack action to work
Coup de grace is a full round coup de grace action

edit - Ninja'd.

Sczarni

Cleave is You do a standard action and if hit you attack as a free action against to an adjacent creature. I know a coup de grace is a full round action but if you hit, wouldnt cleave go into effect as a full round action is more powerful than a standard. Just interpretation of the black and white. A hit is a hit yes?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ed Zoller 52 wrote:
Cleave is You do a standard action and if hit you attack as a free action against to an adjacent creature. I know a coup de grace is a full round action but if you hit, wouldnt cleave go into effect as a full round action is more powerful than a standard. Just interpretation of the black and white. A hit is a hit yes?

There is no ambiguity. Using cleave is a deliberate, standard action. You cannot use both a standard action and a full round action in the same round. Thus, the definition of 'hit' is irrelevant as they cannot be used together. This is a change from 3.5 where this line of argument would make sense, but not in Pathfinder as they changed how Cleave worked to being an action of it's own.


Ed Zoller 52 wrote:
Cleave is You do a standard action and if hit you attack as a free action against to an adjacent creature. I know a coup de grace is a full round action but if you hit, wouldnt cleave go into effect as a full round action is more powerful than a standard. Just interpretation of the black and white. A hit is a hit yes?

**A hit is a hit, however you can take a move action and a standard action and a swift action and a five foot step* on your turn, or you can take a five foot step* 2 move actions, and a swift action on your turn, or you can take a full round action and a swift action and a five foot step* on your turn, but you can't take a full round action and a swift action and a standard action and a five foot step* on your turn, because that is cheating :)

Hope that convolutes it more for you, just kidding.

*If you move you can't take a five foot step to move more than your normal movement, it can be combined with non-move equivalent move actions

**You can also take free and immediate actions, however depending on the free action, which cleave is not, your DM can limit how many free actions you can take.

Liberty's Edge

Cleave is a declared standard action, You say "I am using cleave on monster X". Otherwise it is a normal old attack that hits one guy

Liberty's Edge

Shar Tahl wrote:
Cleave is a declared standard action, You say "I am using cleave on monster X". Otherwise it is a normal old attack that hits one guy

The confusion may be from the fact that in 3.5 rules, cleave was an "always on" feature. In PFRPG it is a deliberate action where you are using your weapon in such a way that it hits two enemies potentially.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Ed Zoller 52 wrote:
This is where the reading of the rules gets gray.

There is no grey.

Cleave = Standard Action and can't be combined with anything.


Find the RAW fairly clear myself. Coup de grace takes your entire round. You cant move before or after it. You cant attack before or after it. So no Cleave, unless you have some broken house-ruled feat that lets you do it as a free action.

-Weylin

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules on cleave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions