Necklace of Adaptation - Arcane Bond?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Just wanted to see what the consensus on this was.

The rules for a Wizard's Arcane Bond state that a bonded object may only be an amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon.

So, a Necklace of Adaptation, despite occupying the Neck slot, would not qualify as a bonded object?

The qualification is the actual keyword "amulet"?


If you're trying to declare a Necklace of Adaptation as a bonded object, it's not allowed: Arcane Bond cares about whether the neck-item is an amulet.

That said, nothing stops you from bonding an amulet, and then adding "of Adaptation" to it - or of getting an Amulet of Adaptation (same slot, no problem) and bonding with it.


"am·u·let
ˈamyələt/
noun
an ornament or small piece of jewelry thought to give protection against evil, danger, or disease."

"necklace
[nek-lis]
noun
1.
a piece of jewelry consisting of a string of stones, beads, jewels, or the like, or a chain of gold, silver, or other metal, for wearing around the neck."

The Exchange

50/50

Great way to start =P


Quote:
Neck: This slot consists of amulets, brooches, medallions, necklaces, periapts, scarabs, and other items that can be worn around the neck or fastened to a cloak.

Amulets and necklaces are subsets of the set "pieces of jewelry." In Pathfinder, they're explicitly different --- hence how I answered. :)

The Exchange

Ah. Thank you for that.


There is, really, no effective difference. Even if there were...changing the "type" within the same item slot costs nothing.

Having an Amulet of Adaptation changes nothing of its cost or function or any other mechanic. The type of item within its slot is truly the fluffiest of fluff.

If you want a Cape of Resistance or a Bowler Hat of the Fortunate Soldier...it changes nothing. It is literally just descriptive text.

The Exchange

But, custom items aside (including an "amulet" of adaptation), the answer still stands?

A "necklace" is not a valid choice for an Arcane Bond?


Since a amulet is not really a slot for a magic item. If we go by annoying RAW on this one. Just stick any old bone to the necklace and you Will be fine. Most folks seem to assume that the Amulet arcane Bond used up the Neck slot for magic item bit that is really just a house rule that most folks use with out knowing.
It is sensible to say that amulets and necklaces is the same and i do that for my games.

The Exchange

So, any "neck slot" item will do, then?

I'm truly looking to have this answered.

Barring custom items, and home games, let's color within the lines here.

Is the answer "items that are amulets", or is it "items that occupy the neck slot"?

If it is the former, what counts as an "amulet"? Items that are named "amulet"? Items with the word "amulet" in their description? Any type of "jewelry" item? Must these "amulets" take up the neck slot?

If it is the latter, are there any limitations on what neck slot items may be chosen?


By RAW there are no rules for how a amulet is supposed to be worn. So standing on a semi silly RAW argument is leading nowhere.

The Exchange

Please don't judge the way I am asking the question.

This is not a "silly RAW argument".

I've even agreed with you, that in a home game, an Amulet of Adaptation is entirely reasonable.

But some people don't play home games, or are allowed custom items, and need an otherwise consistent answer, that they can rely on.

I believe the quote provided by Sandslice above answers the question, but I'm absolutely open to other evidence to the contrary.


Sorry i did not meen to judge you.
But my point by RAW there are no rules for how you need to were a amulet. Amulets are not a under group of Neck items as some seem to belive. He Can hang a amulet from his necklace of adaption if he have the necklace and want it to be his bound item.
Edit: see brooch of shielding for a not Neck item that by teb quote should have been a Neck item.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cap. Darling wrote:

Sorry i did not meen to judge you.

But my point by RAW there are no rules for how you need to were a amulet. Amulets are not a under group of Neck items as some seem to belive.

It is, per the descriptions given for magic item slots. Amulets are called out specifically as neck items, and different from necklaces.

Quote:

He Can hang a amulet from his necklace of adaption if he have the necklace and want it to be his bound item.

Edit: see brooch of shielding for a not Neck item that by teb quote should have been a Neck item.

See brooch of shielding for a definite neck item.

Quote:

Brooch of Shielding

Aura faint abjuration; CL 1st
Slot neck; Price 1,500 gp; Weight —


Sandslice wrote:
Cap. Darling wrote:

Sorry i did not meen to judge you.

But my point by RAW there are no rules for how you need to were a amulet. Amulets are not a under group of Neck items as some seem to belive.

It is, per the descriptions given for magic item slots. Amulets are called out specifically as neck items, and different from necklaces.

Quote:

He Can hang a amulet from his necklace of adaption if he have the necklace and want it to be his bound item.

Edit: see brooch of shielding for a not Neck item that by teb quote should have been a Neck item.

See brooch of shielding for a definite neck item.

Quote:

Brooch of Shielding

Aura faint abjuration; CL 1st
Slot neck; Price 1,500 gp; Weight —

Woops

Edit: I still Think you Can just hang a amulet from your necklace but the other stuff i said seem to be total nonsense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Necklace of Adaptation - Arcane Bond? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions