Attacks of Opportunity and Movement


Rules Questions


Big question here since it's become a major discussion for my gaming group.

When a person takes their five-foot step away from a monster that they're fighting (who has a threatened range of only five feet) and THEN takes a regular move, does this provoke an attack of opportunity on him/her from the monster?

It's only vaguely stated what happens in the core rulebook under movement in an example and I'd really like clarification on this.

I just couldn't imagine that it would since if casters take a five foot step back and then start casting that doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity and this is pretty much the same situation.

Sovereign Court

From the PRD:

Quote:
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

So the question is moot; he shouldn't be moving in the same round he took a five-foot step.


Sothrim wrote:
So the question is moot; he shouldn't be moving in the same round he took a five-foot step.

Or, to say the same thing slightly differently: if he moves more than 5 feet in a round, then no part of it was a 5' step.


RisenShadow wrote:

Big question here since it's become a major discussion for my gaming group.

When a person takes their five-foot step away from a monster that they're fighting (who has a threatened range of only five feet) and THEN takes a regular move, does this provoke an attack of opportunity on him/her from the monster?

It's only vaguely stated what happens in the core rulebook under movement in an example and I'd really like clarification on this.

I just couldn't imagine that it would since if casters take a five foot step back and then start casting that doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity and this is pretty much the same situation.

From PRD

"Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action."
"Withdraw
Withdrawing from melee combat is a full-round action. When you withdraw, you can move up to double your speed. The square you start out in is not considered threatened by any opponent you can see"
"Take 5-Foot Step
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance."
So no, you can't take a 5' step if you make a move in the same turn. However you can use the Withdraw action to move 2x your movement, so the final effect is the same (no AoO).
Except if what you mean is that you want to take 5' step, move and then take an standard action. This is obviously not allowed.


.. i think what he was asking is... if he takes his first part of an action... to 5 foot to get out of reach then instead of a standard takes a move would it provoke.

now for my own question on the subject of movement and attacks of opportunity...

if i move in to the creature's reach of 10 ft or more. they have combat reflexes. and i keep moving in there reach do they get more then one AoO on me.

as an example.. a huge creature has 15 ft reach. i walk in to that reach i provoke, now if i continue to move in that reach do i keep provoking for each square i move through.


Risenshadow: You have received several answers but I will add my own just in case weight of answers matters. :)

5' step: This does not provoke an attack of opportunity. You may not take a 5' step when you are using a regular move action in that turn. Put another way: If you take a 5' step you are not allowed to take a regular move and if you take a regular move you are not allowed to take a 5' step. See the bolded section in the quote below.

CRB p189 wrote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can’t take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.
You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.
You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement
for which you do not have a listed speed.

In order to count the first 5' as not threatened I suggest the 'Withdraw' action.

- Gauss

Scarab Sages

ranko wrote:

.. i think what he was asking is... if he takes his first part of an action... to 5 foot to get out of reach then instead of a standard takes a move would it provoke.

now for my own question on the subject of movement and attacks of opportunity...

if i move in to the creature's reach of 10 ft or more. they have combat reflexes. and i keep moving in there reach do they get more then one AoO on me.

as an example.. a huge creature has 15 ft reach. i walk in to that reach i provoke, now if i continue to move in that reach do i keep provoking for each square i move through.

Unlike 4E, Pathfinder does not have rules for "downgrading" your actions. You cannot "exchange" your standard action for a move action, or your move action for a swift action. At least, not that I'm aware of.


ranko wrote:
.. i think what he was asking is... if he takes his first part of an action... to 5 foot to get out of reach then instead of a standard takes a move would it provoke.

That is what he was asking, and the answer is that you're not allowed to do that. It has nothing to do with standard vs. move actions. You can take a 5' step and then take both a standard and a move action - you just can't either of those actions to travel.

@Ssalarn: You can take a second move action instead of a standard, but that's the only substitution you're allowed.

Quote:

now for my own question on the subject of movement and attacks of opportunity...

if i move in to the creature's reach of 10 ft or more. they have combat reflexes. and i keep moving in there reach do they get more then one AoO on me.

as an example.. a huge creature has 15 ft reach. i walk in to that reach i provoke, now if i continue to move in that reach do i keep provoking for each square i move through.

Movement only provokes once, regardless.

Making an Attack of Opportunity wrote:
If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

Scarab Sages

Bobson wrote:
ranko wrote:
.. i think what he was asking is... if he takes his first part of an action... to 5 foot to get out of reach then instead of a standard takes a move would it provoke.

That is what he was asking, and the answer is that you're not allowed to do that. It has nothing to do with standard vs. move actions. You can take a 5' step and then take both a standard and a move action - you just can't either of those actions to travel.

@Ssalarn: You can take a second move action instead of a standard, but that's the only substitution you're allowed.

Quote:

now for my own question on the subject of movement and attacks of opportunity...

if i move in to the creature's reach of 10 ft or more. they have combat reflexes. and i keep moving in there reach do they get more then one AoO on me.

as an example.. a huge creature has 15 ft reach. i walk in to that reach i provoke, now if i continue to move in that reach do i keep provoking for each square i move through.

Movement only provokes once, regardless.

Making an Attack of Opportunity wrote:
If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

Ah yes, that had slipped my mind:

"Move Action: A move action allows you to move up to your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat for other move actions.

You can take a move action in place of a standard action. If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action."


Ssalarn wrote:


Unlike 4E, Pathfinder does not have rules for "downgrading" your actions. You cannot "exchange" your standard action for a move action, or your move action for a swift action. At least, not that I'm aware of.

This is incorrect. You can take a move action and another move (using standard) action in the same turn to move twice the distance in a single turn. If you take ANY movement actions though you cannot take a 5' step to avoid AoO.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacks of Opportunity and Movement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions